Recent Reviews in Alden, Michigan

Harvey was great as always at Inn at Torch Lake (Alden, Michigan)

5 reviewed on April 24, 2016

This is the 4th time staying here. This stay was as great as all the others. The inn keeper Harvey always goes above and beyond to accommodate his guests.

View more reviews for this inn


5 Plus Stars! at Inn at Torch Lake (Alden, Michigan)

5 reviewed on February 21, 2016

5 Plus Stars! Harvey is a most gracious host and excellent breakfast chef. Rooms are clean, modern and very comfortable. We had a superb weekend stay. Will use again. Highly recommend.

View more reviews for this inn


Fantastic anniversary location at Torch Lake Bed and Breakfast (Central Lake, Michigan)

5 reviewed on January 19, 2016

My wife and I stayed at Torch Lake Bed and Breakfast for our 5-year anniversary in October. Deb and Mike have a wonderful home and they make you feel like you are part of the family. Breakfast was fantastic and the view from their "Sunset" suite was second to none. There is a reason that Torch Lake is called one of the most beautiful lakes in the world by National Geographic. Fall was a wonderful time to visit as the colors were amazing. We couldn't have been happier with the accomodations, service, breakfast, and value. Highly recommended and would love to stay there again!

View more reviews for this inn


torch lake b&b at Torch Lake Bed and Breakfast (Central Lake, Michigan)

4.6 reviewed on October 28, 2015

The couple that owns the b&b were wonderful. The breakfast they made in the morning was fove star. We met two other couples from grand rapids and had a nice chat.

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful View at Torch Lake Bed and Breakfast (Central Lake, Michigan)

4.4 reviewed on October 20, 2015

The stay was very nice. The view was awesome. The bed was comfortable. THe sheats were so soft. The hosts were friendly and accomidating. The food was great!!! Our only compaint was that the towels that we had in our room smelled moldy.

View more reviews for this inn


Torch Lake B&B is one of the finest B&Bs we have ever stayed in. at Torch Lake Bed and Breakfast (Central Lake, Michigan)

4.8 reviewed on September 24, 2015

Arriving at the Torch Lake was much the same as arriving at many other B&Bs we have stayed at. But wow, once you pass through those doors it becomes a first class experience from start to finish. Mike met us at our car and helped bring in our luggage; a very nice touch of personalized service. Everything from there on was just wonderful by any measure. The home itself is beautifully decorated and immaculate. Our room had anything and everything you could possibly need during your stay; we have never encountered a room so fully equipped. The king sized bed and two-sink bathroom are just two examples of the luxurious accommodations. The lower deck on water's edge was a great place to view the beautiful sunset over Torch lake. The breakfasts were superb and the overall hospitality and attention to detail were just great. If we return to the area, this is absolutely where we will stay! Fabulous!

View more reviews for this inn


Girls Getaway at Inn at Torch Lake (Alden, Michigan)

5 reviewed on September 19, 2015

Inn at Torch Lake was perfect for our girls getaway trip! The rooms were tastefully done, the beds and linens were luxurious and so comfortable. Harvey thought of everything! We were a group of three ladies with a lot of luggage and Harvey was so helpful getting all of our luggage to our room.The breakfast in the morning was simply amazing! Our experience at Torch Lake Inn couldn't have been better. Can't wait to return!

View more reviews for this inn


Nice country escape at Torch Lake Bed and Breakfast (Central Lake, Michigan)

3.4 reviewed on September 01, 2015

A lovely location with gracious hosts. They were very accommodating to atypical requests.

View more reviews for this inn


You cannot find a finer place to stay! at Inn at Torch Lake (Alden, Michigan)

5 reviewed on August 23, 2015

We stayed in two different rooms in the Inn. They were both just beautiful - lovely furnishings and balcony with flowers. It must have been restored recently as the bathrooms and kitchenettes are like new. The breakfast is different every day, all delicious/gourmet and hearty, There are two bicycles you can use to explore the village. The Inn is one block from the Torch Lake boat launch/lake access and there are several access points within walking distance where you can go for a swim. Alden has several cute shops, restaurants and a historic train depot all near the Inn. The Coy Preserve has walking trails. It is also very quiet at night. We loved staying there. Harvey is a wonderful host.

View more reviews for this inn


Great B&B, beautiful location. at Torch Lake Bed and Breakfast (Central Lake, Michigan)

4.4 reviewed on August 05, 2015

We enjoyed a wonderful evening at the Torch Lake Bed and Breakfast. Our room had an outdoor sitting area and view to the lake. Our hosts were welcoming and helpful and breakfast was amazing.

View more reviews for this inn


Stunning view at Torch Lake Bed and Breakfast (Central Lake, Michigan)

5 reviewed on June 20, 2015

This is a beautiful location on stunning Torch Lake. The food was delicious and we enjoyed the sunset cruise. Comfortable and inviting. Will definitely return. Thank you Mike & Deb for a wonderful weekend.

View more reviews for this inn


Nice stay at Torch Lake Bed and Breakfast (Central Lake, Michigan)

4.8 reviewed on June 19, 2015

Excellent view of the lake and the breakfast was tasty and well presented.

View more reviews for this inn


Recharge at Inn at Torch Lake (Alden, Michigan)

5 reviewed on May 17, 2015

My husband took me here for my birthday-it was beyond amazing. We stayed in the Torch Lake room and felt like we moved in for the weekend. Harvey and Merlin were the best hosts. Our batteries are recharged. We will definitely be back!

View more reviews for this inn


Big Good Surprise - Exceeding Expectations at Inn at Torch Lake (Alden, Michigan)

5 reviewed on March 27, 2015

I booked here on a business trip and was amazed at the thought that went into making my stay warm and comfortable. The room - wow - every detail from the lighting to the decor and the TV were considered for the comfort and ease of the guest. The location is nice - you can do an easy stroll down to the beautiful blue lake or a quick drive to Bellaire or Traverse City for food. Convenient but quiet. The Inn is clean, clean, clean and as I said, so well considered. The innkeeper, Harvey, is friendly but not nosey, He even bought me heavy cream for my coffee in the morning. A very good place to stay and a very good value. I'll go there again.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful experience at Torch Lake Bed and Breakfast at Torch Lake Bed and Breakfast (Central Lake, Michigan)

5 reviewed on November 13, 2014

We recently had a great time enjoying the hospitality of the Torch Lake Bed and Breakfast. The hosts were very pleasant, the room was beautiful and the food was the best. We could have had a better experience. Although the winter weather was approaching the accommodations made up for the weather. We enjoyed ourselves and look forward to another visit in the future.

View more reviews for this inn


Honeymoon Get Away at Inn at Torch Lake (Alden, Michigan)

5 reviewed on June 03, 2014

The Torch Lake Inn is a great place to stay. We were told by a friend to spend our honeymoon at the Torch lake Inn. I was glad that we did. We stayed in the Torch Lake room, which was very large and relaxing. The entire Inn was very clean and peaceful. Harvey made an amazing breakfast everyday. His Ginger bread and stuffed french toast were to die for. We had cookies left in our room on our first night. I would recommend the Inn to anyone. The location is great!

View more reviews for this inn


Winter Getaway at Inn at Torch Lake (Alden, Michigan)

5 reviewed on March 07, 2014

What an absolutely delightful Inn to chase away the COLD winter blues. The Inn at Torch Lake has the most beautiful, warm rooms, great host and delicious breakfast. We have stayed here in the summer, and now the winter. Both have been beyond terrific. Thank you from Huffington

View more reviews for this inn


Torch Lake Review at Torch Lake Bed and Breakfast (Central Lake, Michigan)

3.8 reviewed on February 25, 2014

Lovely B&B, great hosts & lovely location on Torch Lake. The views were spectacular. Our hosts, Deb & Mike, were very welcoming.

View more reviews for this inn


The Torch Lake Bed and Breakfast at Torch Lake Bed and Breakfast (Central Lake, Michigan)

5 reviewed on December 10, 2013

Absolutely peaceful, beautiful, amazing breakfast.

View more reviews for this inn


Best B & B at Inn at Torch Lake (Alden, Michigan)

5 reviewed on September 29, 2013

For the past four years we along with three other couples have stayed at The Inn at Torch Lake during our annual golf outing. Each year our stay gets better and better. Harvey keeps adding new decorations and updating the rooms so they are consistently fresh and new. The breakfasts are different with each new stay and seem more fabulous than the time before (if that were possible). What I like most is it can be a very private quiet experience in your room, or it can be a fun interactive experience with other guests in the common area where coffee, tea and snacks are always available to assist in great conversations. Harvey is there to recommend great restaurants and places to visit, along with the great golf courses. I guarantee you will not find a nicer bread and breakfast. Each and every experience has been fantastic!! Thank you Harvey!!!

View more reviews for this inn


A little slice of heaven and the BEST views on Torch Lake at Torch Lake Bed and Breakfast (Central Lake, Michigan)

5 reviewed on September 22, 2013

My husband and I planned an impromptu getaway to celebrate our first wedding anniversary and were looking for a luxurious, private retreat to soothe our overworked souls and re-energize our spirits. Deb, Mike and lil Molly created an experience we will never forget. The Vista Suite was pure comfort with all the amenities you would ever want for. Lxurious linnens and mountains of pillows dressed a king bed that made it very hard to rise. I received some of the best nights sleep and took endulgent naps as the clean, cool breeze from the Torch lulled me to sleep. The bed was so impressive and the linens are for sale, so be sure to inquire with Deb during breakfast. The morning meals were another exquisite endulgence. Deb serves up a culinary morning miracle which is only enhanced by the view of the lake and soothing morning music as the days adventure is planned. Our goal was to totally relax and detach from life in the city, and after three days rest, soaks in the hot tub and long silent gazes out over the water: mission accomplished. We have stayed at many BBs throughout the state and US, and this spot is now at tue top of my list for the ultimate getaway destination. The setting and lake views are unmatched and the interior is welcoming, cozy and beautifully decorated. It was a nice change from the traditional Victorian style some century BBs attend to. Deb and Mike are wonderful hosts and people you feel you've know for years; so gracious, kind and hospitable. They made our celebration so special and helped cater to whatever our agenda was. Whether you're seeking a power trip packed with activities or a place to hide away and revive your spirit, you've certianly found your destination. A stay at The Torch Lake Bed and Breakfast is an experience you'll want to make an annual tradition. We are already planning next year!

View more reviews for this inn


Peaceful retreat at Inn at Torch Lake (Alden, Michigan)

5 reviewed on September 06, 2013

My husband and I just returned home from a wonderfully relaxing trip in Northern Michigan. We have been up north many times, yet have never stayed in the Torch Lake area. In researching Bed and Breakfasts I came across the Inn at Torch Lake and was immediately attracted to the more modern look and feel I got just from viewing the photos online. The atmosphere is just that in person as well! This bed and breakfast has the privacy of a hotel and yet the hospitality of a bed and breakfast. It was amazing! All rooms are equipped with everything you need for a private stay (mini fridge/wet bar, to small deck off room for outdoor relaxation, to private bathroom in all rooms) or a social stay (tables around breakfast area to eat/socialize, to some outside seating around the Inn as well.) It is a short walk to beautiful Torch Lake and right in the middle of the downtown area of Alden. The Inn is located just about 25 minutes out of Traverse City and about an hour from Petoskey - great location for those looking to do day trip travels around northern Michigan! We will most definitely be back to see Harvey and to stay at his beautiful Inn at Torch Lake!

View more reviews for this inn


First stay at torch at Torch Lake Bed and Breakfast (Central Lake, Michigan)

5 reviewed on August 20, 2013

Still raving a week later, it was all we hoped for and more. The room was perfect the food was amazing, can't wait to book another weekend. Thank you Mike and deb for making our getaway perfect. The lawrences will be back soon.

View more reviews for this inn


Anniversary Getaway at Torch Lake Bed and Breakfast (Central Lake, Michigan)

5 reviewed on August 18, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Torch Lake Bed and Breakfast during the summer of 2013. We were delighted by this first experience staying at a B&B. The owners did a fine job in welcoming us into their establishment. The room was beautiful and extremely comfortable. Many nice extras were included. We had everything we needed and more. Breakfast was outstanding! Again, we were very satisfied. I would highly recommend this establishment. We will definitely go back.

View more reviews for this inn


A very relaxing place for a very relaxing weekend. at Inn at Torch Lake (Alden, Michigan)

5 reviewed on July 13, 2013

We planned our stay at the Inn at Torch lake with the recommendation of a friend, and we just can't believe how amazing this B&B is. The rooms are spacious and beautifully decorated. Our room was one of the lower-priced rooms (read less expensive, not cheap) at the Inn, but it was still perfect. The Inn is quiet, and the surrounding town is very peaceful yet there is a lot to do. It is only half an hour from Traverse City and only an hour from Sleeping Bear Dunes. The Inn served as a great "home base" for adventures last week. The Inn Keeper, Harvey, was great. He provided anything we needed, and made the most excellent breakfasts.He is even accommodating of special dietary needs, such as Gluten Free or an allergies. All you have to do is ask. There is also a nice little gift shop that he runs on the ground floor of the Inn, and any guests get 20% off purchases, which is really nice. Overall, it was an amazing place to stay, and my wife is begging me to come back every year for the rest of, well, forever... Definitely a great place to stay.

View more reviews for this inn


Our favorite stay in the north! at Inn at Torch Lake (Alden, Michigan)

5 reviewed on June 28, 2013

We have stayed at the Inn three years in a row and will make reservations for our fourth! Our host Harvey Bartel has always made sure that our stay is memorable and each year he outdoes himself with the gourmet breakfast. If I could afford it, I would live there!!!! Excellent location as well. Just a short walk to the most beautiful lake in North America! Wonderful shops and botiques in Alden as well as the Alden Bar that serves great food in a relaxing atmosphere.

View more reviews for this inn


Simply Amazing at Inn at Torch Lake (Alden, Michigan)

5 reviewed on June 27, 2013

After visiting Harvey on our honeymoon last year, we decided to make the trip up for our anniversary. Harvey was more than hospitable. He was great. The room was spotless, the breakfast was amazing as usual. Harvey treated us like family on our stay, and that is why we returned and will continue to return. Alden is a charming little town. But the real reason we come to the inn is because of Harvey. Thank you so much for everything and can't wait to come and stay again! -David and Radmila

View more reviews for this inn


Awesome B&B at Inn at Torch Lake (Alden, Michigan)

5 reviewed on June 08, 2013

This bed and breakfast is amazing. I really can't think of anything negative to say about it or our experience there. I did a ton of research before booking a b&b and couldn't have felt more fortunate to have found the Inn at Torch Lake. We were traveling with two children, ages 1 & 4. Harvey always make us feel welcome and never once did I feel out of place with the kids there. The town of Alden is charming and even had a playground for the children. The breakfasts were fantastic. The room was top notch: super comfortable beds, beautifully decorated, very clean and the towels were super soft (yes, I do pay attention to everything) Thanks Harvey & Merlin for a fabulous stay!!

View more reviews for this inn


Royal Treatment at Torch Lake Bed and Breakfast (Central Lake, Michigan)

5 reviewed on November 13, 2012

I read the guidelines for the reviews and they said to list the bad things along with the good, but honestly I could not think of anything bad about our stay at Torch Lake BB except that it wasn't long enough. The owners, Mike and Deb have the gift of "hospitality". They treat you like royalty and make you feel like family at the same time. The house was very well decorated and comfortable. The breakfast that was served to us was very scrumptious and looked like it belonged on a page of the "Taste of Home" magazine.

View more reviews for this inn


Great weekend at the Inn at Torch Lake at Inn at Torch Lake (Alden, Michigan)

5 reviewed on November 05, 2012

We recently returned from our first trip to Torch Lake. We can not say enough about our experience staying at the Inn at Torch Lake. Harvey was so accommodating. We had our 20 month old son with us and he never made us worry about him being there. He was very helpful in pointing us in a great direction for our day - where to visit and/or where to eat. We look forward to visiting again soon!

View more reviews for this inn


Top-ranked B&Bs

  1. Inn at Torch Lake (4.94)
  2. Torch Lake Bed and Breakfast (4.74)
Top
}