Up to a free $75 gift card!

Recent Reviews in Alden, Michigan

Wonderful experience at Torch Lake Bed and Breakfast at The Torch Lake Bed and Breakfast (Central Lake, Michigan)

5 reviewed on November 13, 2014

We recently had a great time enjoying the hospitality of the Torch Lake Bed and Breakfast. The hosts were very pleasant, the room was beautiful and the food was the best. We could have had a better experience. Although the winter weather was approaching the accommodations made up for the weather. We enjoyed ourselves and look forward to another visit in the future.

View more reviews for this inn


Honeymoon Get Away at Inn at Torch Lake (Alden, Michigan)

5 reviewed on June 03, 2014

The Torch Lake Inn is a great place to stay. We were told by a friend to spend our honeymoon at the Torch lake Inn. I was glad that we did. We stayed in the Torch Lake room, which was very large and relaxing. The entire Inn was very clean and peaceful. Harvey made an amazing breakfast everyday. His Ginger bread and stuffed french toast were to die for. We had cookies left in our room on our first night. I would recommend the Inn to anyone. The location is great!

View more reviews for this inn


Winter Getaway at Inn at Torch Lake (Alden, Michigan)

5 reviewed on March 07, 2014

What an absolutely delightful Inn to chase away the COLD winter blues. The Inn at Torch Lake has the most beautiful, warm rooms, great host and delicious breakfast. We have stayed here in the summer, and now the winter. Both have been beyond terrific. Thank you from Huffington

View more reviews for this inn


Torch Lake Review at The Torch Lake Bed and Breakfast (Central Lake, Michigan)

3.8 reviewed on February 25, 2014

Lovely B&B, great hosts & lovely location on Torch Lake. The views were spectacular. Our hosts, Deb & Mike, were very welcoming.

View more reviews for this inn


The Torch Lake Bed and Breakfast at The Torch Lake Bed and Breakfast (Central Lake, Michigan)

5 reviewed on December 10, 2013

Absolutely peaceful, beautiful, amazing breakfast.

View more reviews for this inn


Best B & B at Inn at Torch Lake (Alden, Michigan)

5 reviewed on September 29, 2013

For the past four years we along with three other couples have stayed at The Inn at Torch Lake during our annual golf outing. Each year our stay gets better and better. Harvey keeps adding new decorations and updating the rooms so they are consistently fresh and new. The breakfasts are different with each new stay and seem more fabulous than the time before (if that were possible). What I like most is it can be a very private quiet experience in your room, or it can be a fun interactive experience with other guests in the common area where coffee, tea and snacks are always available to assist in great conversations. Harvey is there to recommend great restaurants and places to visit, along with the great golf courses. I guarantee you will not find a nicer bread and breakfast. Each and every experience has been fantastic!! Thank you Harvey!!!

View more reviews for this inn


A little slice of heaven and the BEST views on Torch Lake at The Torch Lake Bed and Breakfast (Central Lake, Michigan)

5 reviewed on September 22, 2013

My husband and I planned an impromptu getaway to celebrate our first wedding anniversary and were looking for a luxurious, private retreat to soothe our overworked souls and re-energize our spirits. Deb, Mike and lil Molly created an experience we will never forget. The Vista Suite was pure comfort with all the amenities you would ever want for. Lxurious linnens and mountains of pillows dressed a king bed that made it very hard to rise. I received some of the best nights sleep and took endulgent naps as the clean, cool breeze from the Torch lulled me to sleep. The bed was so impressive and the linens are for sale, so be sure to inquire with Deb during breakfast. The morning meals were another exquisite endulgence. Deb serves up a culinary morning miracle which is only enhanced by the view of the lake and soothing morning music as the days adventure is planned. Our goal was to totally relax and detach from life in the city, and after three days rest, soaks in the hot tub and long silent gazes out over the water: mission accomplished. We have stayed at many BBs throughout the state and US, and this spot is now at tue top of my list for the ultimate getaway destination. The setting and lake views are unmatched and the interior is welcoming, cozy and beautifully decorated. It was a nice change from the traditional Victorian style some century BBs attend to. Deb and Mike are wonderful hosts and people you feel you've know for years; so gracious, kind and hospitable. They made our celebration so special and helped cater to whatever our agenda was. Whether you're seeking a power trip packed with activities or a place to hide away and revive your spirit, you've certianly found your destination. A stay at The Torch Lake Bed and Breakfast is an experience you'll want to make an annual tradition. We are already planning next year!

View more reviews for this inn


Peaceful retreat at Inn at Torch Lake (Alden, Michigan)

5 reviewed on September 06, 2013

My husband and I just returned home from a wonderfully relaxing trip in Northern Michigan. We have been up north many times, yet have never stayed in the Torch Lake area. In researching Bed and Breakfasts I came across the Inn at Torch Lake and was immediately attracted to the more modern look and feel I got just from viewing the photos online. The atmosphere is just that in person as well! This bed and breakfast has the privacy of a hotel and yet the hospitality of a bed and breakfast. It was amazing! All rooms are equipped with everything you need for a private stay (mini fridge/wet bar, to small deck off room for outdoor relaxation, to private bathroom in all rooms) or a social stay (tables around breakfast area to eat/socialize, to some outside seating around the Inn as well.) It is a short walk to beautiful Torch Lake and right in the middle of the downtown area of Alden. The Inn is located just about 25 minutes out of Traverse City and about an hour from Petoskey - great location for those looking to do day trip travels around northern Michigan! We will most definitely be back to see Harvey and to stay at his beautiful Inn at Torch Lake!

View more reviews for this inn


First stay at torch at The Torch Lake Bed and Breakfast (Central Lake, Michigan)

5 reviewed on August 20, 2013

Still raving a week later, it was all we hoped for and more. The room was perfect the food was amazing, can't wait to book another weekend. Thank you Mike and deb for making our getaway perfect. The lawrences will be back soon.

View more reviews for this inn


Anniversary Getaway at The Torch Lake Bed and Breakfast (Central Lake, Michigan)

5 reviewed on August 18, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Torch Lake Bed and Breakfast during the summer of 2013. We were delighted by this first experience staying at a B&B. The owners did a fine job in welcoming us into their establishment. The room was beautiful and extremely comfortable. Many nice extras were included. We had everything we needed and more. Breakfast was outstanding! Again, we were very satisfied. I would highly recommend this establishment. We will definitely go back.

View more reviews for this inn


A very relaxing place for a very relaxing weekend. at Inn at Torch Lake (Alden, Michigan)

5 reviewed on July 13, 2013

We planned our stay at the Inn at Torch lake with the recommendation of a friend, and we just can't believe how amazing this B&B is. The rooms are spacious and beautifully decorated. Our room was one of the lower-priced rooms (read less expensive, not cheap) at the Inn, but it was still perfect. The Inn is quiet, and the surrounding town is very peaceful yet there is a lot to do. It is only half an hour from Traverse City and only an hour from Sleeping Bear Dunes. The Inn served as a great "home base" for adventures last week. The Inn Keeper, Harvey, was great. He provided anything we needed, and made the most excellent breakfasts.He is even accommodating of special dietary needs, such as Gluten Free or an allergies. All you have to do is ask. There is also a nice little gift shop that he runs on the ground floor of the Inn, and any guests get 20% off purchases, which is really nice. Overall, it was an amazing place to stay, and my wife is begging me to come back every year for the rest of, well, forever... Definitely a great place to stay.

View more reviews for this inn


Our favorite stay in the north! at Inn at Torch Lake (Alden, Michigan)

5 reviewed on June 28, 2013

We have stayed at the Inn three years in a row and will make reservations for our fourth! Our host Harvey Bartel has always made sure that our stay is memorable and each year he outdoes himself with the gourmet breakfast. If I could afford it, I would live there!!!! Excellent location as well. Just a short walk to the most beautiful lake in North America! Wonderful shops and botiques in Alden as well as the Alden Bar that serves great food in a relaxing atmosphere.

View more reviews for this inn


Simply Amazing at Inn at Torch Lake (Alden, Michigan)

5 reviewed on June 27, 2013

After visiting Harvey on our honeymoon last year, we decided to make the trip up for our anniversary. Harvey was more than hospitable. He was great. The room was spotless, the breakfast was amazing as usual. Harvey treated us like family on our stay, and that is why we returned and will continue to return. Alden is a charming little town. But the real reason we come to the inn is because of Harvey. Thank you so much for everything and can't wait to come and stay again! -David and Radmila

View more reviews for this inn


Awesome B&B at Inn at Torch Lake (Alden, Michigan)

5 reviewed on June 08, 2013

This bed and breakfast is amazing. I really can't think of anything negative to say about it or our experience there. I did a ton of research before booking a b&b and couldn't have felt more fortunate to have found the Inn at Torch Lake. We were traveling with two children, ages 1 & 4. Harvey always make us feel welcome and never once did I feel out of place with the kids there. The town of Alden is charming and even had a playground for the children. The breakfasts were fantastic. The room was top notch: super comfortable beds, beautifully decorated, very clean and the towels were super soft (yes, I do pay attention to everything) Thanks Harvey & Merlin for a fabulous stay!!

View more reviews for this inn


Royal Treatment at The Torch Lake Bed and Breakfast (Central Lake, Michigan)

5 reviewed on November 13, 2012

I read the guidelines for the reviews and they said to list the bad things along with the good, but honestly I could not think of anything bad about our stay at Torch Lake BB except that it wasn't long enough. The owners, Mike and Deb have the gift of "hospitality". They treat you like royalty and make you feel like family at the same time. The house was very well decorated and comfortable. The breakfast that was served to us was very scrumptious and looked like it belonged on a page of the "Taste of Home" magazine.

View more reviews for this inn


Great weekend at the Inn at Torch Lake at Inn at Torch Lake (Alden, Michigan)

5 reviewed on November 05, 2012

We recently returned from our first trip to Torch Lake. We can not say enough about our experience staying at the Inn at Torch Lake. Harvey was so accommodating. We had our 20 month old son with us and he never made us worry about him being there. He was very helpful in pointing us in a great direction for our day - where to visit and/or where to eat. We look forward to visiting again soon!

View more reviews for this inn


Never wanted to go home at The Torch Lake Bed and Breakfast (Central Lake, Michigan)

5 reviewed on October 26, 2012

Deb, Mike and Molly make you feel at home but pamered all at the same time. The fireplace in our bedroom as well as the expnsive master suite bath made it hard to leave the room. Breakfasts are amazing and the view of the Torch Lake is like no other. Surely becoming our home away from home.

View more reviews for this inn


Color change is spectacular here at The Torch Lake Bed and Breakfast (Central Lake, Michigan)

5 reviewed on October 26, 2012

Our stay was wonderful and relaxing. The fall colors around the lake made it a picturesque view from the deck connected to our room. We couldn't wait to share the pictures with our family out of state. The breakfast was so delicious I suggested the innkeeper publish a "Torch Lake B&B" cookbook. Our room was large and cozy with wonderful amenities, not to mention the extremely comfortable bed. We definately plan on returning.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Place, Hosts, Views everthing at The Torch Lake Bed and Breakfast (Central Lake, Michigan)

5 reviewed on October 25, 2012

This was a girl friends 2 night get away. It felt like we were at home having a pj party. Very clean, very comfortable rooms with beds that were like home. Only thing is I don't have those views, nor the hospitality at home. My house back home is not this clean either! Deb and Mike do a wonderful job! The breakfast is just wonderful, she even made our requested oatmeal which was better then any oatmeal I ever made. The dock and crystal clear water is just a beautiful sight. Weather did not cooperate for us but we still had a GREAT time. Very relaxing. Thank you Deb and Mike!

View more reviews for this inn


Torch Lake B&B is the BEST! at Inn at Torch Lake (Alden, Michigan)

5 reviewed on August 06, 2012

We just returned from another AMAZING weekend on Torch Lake thanks to Harvey and the staff at the Inn at Torch Lake. This is the absolute best spot to stay if you are visiting the lake. Our group of 14 rented the entire B&B and were treated wonderfully! We will return year after year for the amazing breakfasts, gorgeous rooms, and hospitality that Harvey provides! #1 in our book!! Thanks Harvey :) Ranelle & The Torch Lake 2012 group

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful Experience at Inn at Torch Lake (Alden, Michigan)

4.2 reviewed on July 25, 2012

We were blown away by our experience here. Truly the nicest B&B we have ever stayed at. We will be back!

View more reviews for this inn


Torch Lake Respite at The Torch Lake Bed and Breakfast (Central Lake, Michigan)

4.0 reviewed on July 07, 2012

Deb was nice enough to call us early while we were on our way to let us know the room was available for early check-in if our schedule allowed. My wife and I arrived mid afternoon on the 4th of July a brief stop off at Short's brewerey in Belair where we snagged a mixed- sixer of terrific Kolsch, Pontious Rd Pilsner and Nicey Spicey. We were greeted by Deb and Mike and their little dog Miss Molly Magee. Deb shown us to our room and we found it to be nice and tidey and the view from our Sunset Room and private balcony was gorgeous. Torch Lake at its finest. We stayed two beautiful nights and enjoyed the Lake thoroughly...we swam off the dock and relaxed lakeside reading our books, listening to some country music and getting some much-needed R&R. We joined Deb and Mike and one other couple on a beautiful sunset cruise around the lake...manage a nice refreshing swim and enjoyed tastey nibblies and a nice glass of white wine while we watched the inviting sunset. Since this is a B&B review, I would be remiss to not comment on the beaufiful breakfast served each morning...I jokingly said to Mike that they put the "B" in B&B....with their delicious servings of eggs and stuffed french toast, fresh-squeezed OJ and hot coffee. All in all it was a fantastically enjoyable two days at the Torch Lake B&B. It has our highest recommendation.

View more reviews for this inn


Comfortable and Delicious at Inn at Torch Lake (Alden, Michigan)

5 reviewed on June 12, 2012

We just got back from a long weekend at the Inn at Torch Lake. It was delightful in every way. Harvey catered to our every need. And the food was nothing short of delicious. The peanut butter cookies as a bedtime treat were over the top.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful stay at Torch Lake at Inn at Torch Lake (Alden, Michigan)

5 reviewed on June 09, 2012

We had an absolutely great experience at The Inn. Our room had all of the warmth and charm and cleanliness of a five star inn and more. Harvey went the extra mile by offering to clean Kathy's soiled white sweater that accidentally fell out of our car before we arrived in Alden. Harvey also went the extra mile preparing a special omelet for Kathy. The breakfast was fabulous! We look forward to our next get away visit at The Inn! Frank and Kathy

View more reviews for this inn


Outstanding is an understatement! at Inn at Torch Lake (Alden, Michigan)

5 reviewed on June 08, 2012

My wife and I came up for our honeymoon and we were blown away. Harvey was a delightful person to talk with on the phone and was very attentive to our wants and needs. Once we arrived, Harvey greeted us with freshly baked cookies, and a glass of wine. Talk about world class service. Gourmet breakfast each morning, and the whole Inn was pristine. The room was spotless, the furniture was comfortable. This was our first time at Torch Lake, and it most certainly won't be the last. We cannot wait to bring friends and family our next time up. Harvey, THANK YOU for making our trip so memorable, we appreciate your professionalism and care for your guests. -David and Radmila Oxford MI

View more reviews for this inn


May visit at Inn at Torch Lake (Alden, Michigan)

5 reviewed on May 20, 2012

My husband and I, along with our 2 and 1/2 year old son, just spent a wonderful 2 nights at this inn and already, we can't wait to return. Harvey has done a perfect job with this place -- rooms are lovely, beds are comfortable, linens are luxurious, walls are soundproof (we checked with our neighbors to make sure our early-rising son hadn't disturbed anyone and they hadn't even been aware that he was with us), decor is simple and refreshingly free of the lace and teddy bears so often found in B&Bs, and the food is fantastic. Harvey is a wonderful, gracious host who somehow made us feel both pampered and at home. We can't recommend this spot enough.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful experience. at The Torch Lake Bed and Breakfast (Central Lake, Michigan)

5 reviewed on April 22, 2012

This was our first time at a bed and breakfast, and we didn't know quite what to expect. Deb and Mike made us feel welcome and comfortable right from the start. The house and rooms are beautiful and there is not a more beautiful view of Torch Lake than from the breakfast table, which is full of the most delicious food. Thank you so much for the wonderful experience.

View more reviews for this inn


see ya soon Harvey at Inn at Torch Lake (Alden, Michigan)

5 reviewed on February 18, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Torch Lake Inn for our honey moon in May 2011,it was the best place we could have picked,the room we stayed in was very much so wonderful it was such a quite peaceful romantic stay.the breakfast that Harvey cooked himself for us was such a wonderful and enjoyable way to start each morning. he made the stay there even more so enjoyable.he gave great advice on things to do well we were there and the store he has was a joy to shop at also.thank you Harvey for making our stay and our honey moon one to remember.we will forsure be coming back!!!

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful and Relaxing atmosphere at The Torch Lake Bed and Breakfast (Central Lake, Michigan)

5 reviewed on August 17, 2011

This section of Torch Lake is just breathtaking. Quiet and peaceful sitting on the deck overlooking the stunning blueish/green water. Such delightful hosts who made our stay truly comfortable in every aspect. The boat ride at sunset was remarkable. I will definitely return to this wonderful oasis.

View more reviews for this inn


Nothing better on Torch at Inn at Torch Lake (Alden, Michigan)

5 reviewed on August 02, 2011

Hands down the best B&B we've ever stayed in. Harvey and his accommodations are top notch in more ways than can be explained. From the amazing, downtown Alden location to the ease of the lake just steps away this really is the best Torch Lake experience one could hope for! We'll be back in the winter to visit again and do some wonderful Michigan activities just to return here! Thanks again Harvey!

View more reviews for this inn


Top-ranked B&Bs

  1. Inn at Torch Lake (4.93)
  2. The Torch Lake Bed and Breakfast (4.84)
Top
}