Mountain Laurel Inn Reviews

Overall
4.7

View details

  • Guest room4.3
  • Service4.8
  • Value4.6
  • Cleanliness4.7
  • Dining4.8

Score Breakdown based on
65 Reviews

Write A Review

Quiet Retreat in a Beautiful Setting

4.8 on May 19, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed our first visit to Mountain Laurel Inn and it won't be our last. The setting is secluded, peaceful and quiet, nestled in the woods near Mentone, AL. Sarah was a wonderful host, giving us some great ideas of things to see and do in the area. We also enjoyed meeting Sammie, the beautiful Golden Retriever, who thinks she runs the place. The breakfasts were outstanding! My wife, who generally does not like french toast, ate two helpings of Sarah's "Decadent French Toast." We stayed in the upstairs apartment at the guest house. It was just right for us - very clean and comfortable without being fancy. The hikes to the nearby waterfall while enjoyable and the views were spectacular. Next time, we hope to stay longer and see even more of the surrounding area, from the Little River Canyon to DeSoto State Park.


This is why we keep coming back!

4.8 on May 04, 2013

We love this quiet get away from the rest of the world! Sarah's bright hospitality keeps us coming back year after year!


Picky Eater

5 on September 15, 2012

We gathered for a cousin reunion and stayed in the Deer Lodge, the room was very clean and we really enjoyed ourselves. This was the first time we had stayed at a Bed and Breakfast and the hospitality was great, enjoyed the breakfast, especially the Decadent French Toast. Really enjoyed our stay, sitting on the porch in the evenings and then in the mornings. Hope to get back there to visit real soon. Sarah is a joy. Bucky and Connie


The Best Get A Way!

5 on August 13, 2012

My husband and I and his brother and wife were there in the summer of 2012. We stayed in the Deer Room and Bridal Room, what a beautiful place. The rooms are better than any place we have stayed in a long time. Sarah is very good at small details. The porch at night was my favorite part, the sounds of the night! I can't wait to come back. I will come back in the fall and the winter months.


Mentone Weekend

5 on April 03, 2012

We have been meeting friends from Atlanta at Mountain Laurel Inn for several years. We live in Birmingham, so it is a great meeting place. We always have a great time at the Mountain Laurel Inn.


Quiet weekend in Mentone

4.8 on March 21, 2012

Our stay at the Mountain Laurel Inn was very relaxing and wonderful. The weather was amazing, but most of all, the rooms were comfortable with all the necessities, and the breakfast was incredible. The staff is wonderful, and just being in such a quiet part of Alabama makes you slow down and really enjoy everything that nature has to offer.


Great place to Visit!!

3.8 on February 14, 2012

The area was very nice and very peaceful. The town is very small and the dining was a bit of a challenge because the hours of operation were tailored to the small town. If you plan to visit the area, make sure to review hours of operation of the local resturaunts as they change with the seasons. Sarah, the owner of the Inn was very personable and helped with anything we needed. Her home cooked breakfast's were outstanding and her hospitality exceeded the common hotel hospitality. I would highly recommend this B&B to others who are looking for a great weekend getaway.


Happy New Year

4.6 on January 16, 2012

I wanted to "disappear" for a nice quiet New Year weekend and this was just the ticket. I really enjoyed the stay - Rooms were exceptionally clean, staff were great, and you have to try the french toast breakfast before you die.


Our Stay at Mountain Laurel Inn

4.4 on November 29, 2011

First time staying at a bed and breakfast and it was wonderful. So peaceful. The service was great and the food was terrific! We will definitely go back.


Could not have been better!

5 on November 14, 2011

The Mountain Laurel Inn was the perfect getaway location for us! I took my mother on a mountain getaway as a birthday gift (she's 81 years young!) and we had a marvelous time! The room (ski) was lovingly decorated, the breakfasts were out of this world and the hospitality of both Sarah and Sammie (official greeter) was both heartwarming and unexpected. We will most certainly be recommending this quaint little getaway to our friends and family. Who knows, it may become our annual girls birthday getaway! Melody & Anne - Columbus, GA


Oct. Alabama trip

4.8 on October 22, 2011

Mountain Laurel Inn was a great place to stay. The room was very clean and thbe bathroom well stocked with goodies. The room was a little bit small, as was the TV, with no place to sit. The gathering area was a nice surprise, and well stocked with juices, ice, videos, DVDs and games. Being able to hike to De Soto Falls right from our guesthouse was a big plus. And the breakfasts were great--especially the decadent French Toast. We would certainly stay there again is we end up in NE Alabama again. Sarah was very friendly and helpful--even brought u umbrellas when it looked like rain. Eating around town is a little dicey on Mondays and Tuesdays--not much open. We loved the trees and the fall color was spectacular.


Great stay at Mountain Laurel Inn!

4.6 on October 20, 2011

We had a great stay at Mountain Laurel Inn, and would definitely recommend it to friends, and we will definitely also go back there for future stays in the Mentone area. Innkeeper is very sweet and attentive to her guests and not to mention, she serves a fabulous breakfast each morning. It's very quiet and peaceful and just a short hike to some of the most beautiful waterfalls in the area!


Mountain Laurel Inn Incredible!

5 on October 19, 2011

We booked this stay for our anniversary, and was pleasently surprised with ALL the services.


Idyllic setting, wonderful innkeeper, perfect getaway!

5 on September 20, 2011

We spent Friday and Saturday night at Mountain Laurel, and it was truly a great experience. Sara is an absolutely WONDERFUL hostess! We enjoyed chatting with her at breakfast each morning. The breakfasts were fantastic, the rooms were super clean and comfy, and the setting was perfect. We also thoroughly enjoyed the morning doorstep coffee deliveries! The inn is tucked away in the woods, and a short trail leads to a view of Desoto Falls. Very convenient to downtown Mentone and Desoto State Park. Looking forward to our next visit!


Northeast Alabama Roadtrip

4.4 on August 14, 2011

The area is delightfully woody and our host gave excellent directions for our first time in this location. We had time to see many things despite our short stet. One point I would make is that our room would be roomier with a simple queen size bed. The king bed is just too massive for the size of the room.


Beautiful, natural retreat!

4.8 on August 11, 2011

We loved our stay! Clean, clean rooms, well provisioned, great breakfast! But our favorite activity by far was hiking the short hike to DeSoto Falls and swimming across the river and by the falls! What a beautiful, natural retreat, and a very charming, helpful hostess, Sarah!


Wonderful and Relaxing

4.6 on August 06, 2011

It was a wonderful and relaxing experience. Beautiful scenery!


July stay 2011

4.0 on August 03, 2011

The stay was very restful...it was a lovely place. Breakfast was delicious and the innkeeper was knowledgeable about the area and able to answer all of our questions.


Beautiful surroundings. Highly recommended.

4.8 on July 30, 2011

Sarah is a great host! Brings coffee to your cabin at the time you request and even made us an early breakfast as we had to leave early. Very hospitable and customer service oriented. We stay there twice every year when we take our daughter to camp and she loves it too.


Looking forward to a return visit!

4.6 on July 20, 2011

Mountain Laurel Inn provides all the comforts of home in a beautiful setting. Sarah is a wonderful hostess who attends to every detail, and her breakfasts are too delicious to describe.


OUTSTANDING stay at Mountain Laurel Inn

5 on July 12, 2011

We stayed at the Mountain Laurel Inn before taking my daughter to camp. We enjoyed a special time with friends, new and old. Thank you Sarah for your hospitality and your prayers! We will be back again and again!!


Great for a quick day trip

3.0 on July 11, 2011

We stayed at the inn for just a night for our anniversary. It was super quaint. We arrived later in the evening after dinner, and I think we upset Sarah by doing so. So, if you plan to arrive late, make sure to call. And call early, because cell phone coverage is bad on the mountain. The facilities were great. I loved the gathering place, which had snacks and videos. And Sarah went above and beyond to make sure that we had everything we needed and knew all the options for activities. Her recommendations were great. It was our first B&B experience. Will recommend this one to our friends and family.


A great weekend getaway!

4.0 on June 27, 2011

We wanted a little weekend getaway and to visit our counselor son at Alpine Camp for Boys, and this was the perfect spot! Sara (and Sammie) were the ultimate hostesses at this lovely lodge in the woods. Room, food and fellowship were all outstanding- we highly recommend!


Wonderful getaway!

4.6 on June 20, 2011

With 2 small children and 3 dogs at home, life is anything but calm and relaxing. My husband and I booked a room at Mountain Laurel Inn for 2 nights and it was the most peaceful and tranquil 2 nights we have had in a very long time. I would recommend this location to anyone who needs to take a break from their everyday hustle and bustle. 2 thumbs up!!


Just What We Needed!

5 on June 18, 2011

We loved everything about the Mountain Laurel Inn setting. Pictures don't do it justice. It is tucked in the woods with privacy and many cozy places to have great visits with friends or family. Just wish that we could have stayed longer. Definitely plan to get back there. Sarah's breakfast and good company was great as well!


My spring girlfriend getaway

4.8 on May 30, 2011

Beautiful cabin and very tastefully decorated. Absolutely divine breakfast made by Sarah. Loved shopping in the quaint stores in Mentone and Fort Payne. The market had wonderful pizza and very reasonable


Love it!

5 on May 26, 2011

Mountain Laurel Inn provides such a peaceful getaway! It was so nice to be tucked away in the beautiful woods, sit in rocking chairs and just listen to the sounds around you. Each breakfast was delicious and the rooms were nice and cozy. Will return again and again!


Excellent!

5 on May 26, 2011

First let me tell you how beautiful the area is. The views are breathtaking! Hiking, waterfalls, and fun at your leisure and they are all free!There is so much you can do in this area. It is like Pigeon Forge without all the hustle and bustle! The town of Mentone is unique and cute! Mountain Laurel is in a great location to everything, yet out of the way for privacy. The Breakfast is mouthwatering, and the owner is great! The room was much bigger then I expected, very clean. I literally could rave about this place all day. We can't wait to return. I believe we have found our yearly celebration!


quiet ,relaxing

4.8 on April 28, 2011

Sara ,the owner was very gracious and welcoming. Breakfast was very nice. I enjoyed conversation.


Great time!

4.8 on April 26, 2011

My husband and I spent the night there to celebrate the spring season and our fondness for hiking. We were quickly welcomed by Sami, the adorable Golden Retriever. We signed in and was given maps of where to enjoy the scenery and get dinner. Our apartment accomodation was spacious. The morning was heavenly with the Decadent French Toast. It's no wonder why it was included in the list of 100 things to eat in Alabama before you die. We will definately be back!


a relaxing mountain retreat!!!

5 on April 22, 2011

Sarah Wilcox was a wonderful hostess and the grounds and facility are so relaxing and tranquil. The " decadent waffles" for breakfast are wonderful. We will recommend the Mountain Laurel Inn to all our fellow B&B enthusiasts!


stay at mountain laurel inn

5 on April 15, 2011

wonderful accomodations. Breakfast was absolutely fantastic. Was a perfect retreat for me and my daughter


Mountain Laurel Stay

3.6 on April 06, 2011

The room was small with no place to comfortably sit unless you sat on the bed - which usually isn't comfortable. While billed as a "king sized" bed, it was quite short. The bed was probably two regular twin bed boxsprings and a mattress to fit instead of the extra long boxsprings and longer mattress normal to a "king sized" bed. This made the bed short. We are tall. The heating/ cooling unit was hard to control, going from one extreme to the other with little adjustment. The walk through the woods to the falls was great! Nice porch and rockers though it was too cold to sit out there the firsdt day unless you wore a coat AND were sitting in the sun. Since there was cable TV in the room, I wondered why there wasn't at least a data port connection, if not WiFi, for computers. Our family is really spread out. Right now we have to keep tabs on several elderly members plus some other hot spots that could require our attention at any time. We had to drive around to find cell phone coverage to connect with our family. Internet access would have been very helpful. The innkeeper was very gracious and knowledgeable about the area. Our dining experiences away from the B&B in town ran from excellent to dreadful. But, we did enjoy the quiet even if I did miss my computer!


Mountain Laurel Inn Stay

5 on April 04, 2011

We thoughly enjoyed hiking to the waterfalls which was a pleasant surprise! Sarah was such a gracious hostness and made us feel right at home.


Great relaxing getaway

4.8 on April 02, 2011

The people we met there were so sweet and we relaxed a lot of care away that weekend. We have stayed there before and will definitely be staying again. Great way to de-stress


I"m a fan of Mountain Laurel Inn

5 on March 30, 2011

My husband and I were in town for a family reunion and when family apologized that there wasn't room in the family home, we booked reservations here. We had a real vacation! It is the way to do a reunion! I took both hikes and loved the view of the falls, and the meadow. The food was delicious and no one can beat the fresh hot coffee delivered to every guests door first thing in the morning.


Anniversary Weekend

4.6 on October 19, 2010

We had a great weekend. The setting is very quiet. We enjoyed the short hike to the waterfall. The inn-keeper was very pleasant and knowledgeable of the area. The food at the inn and local restaurants was delicious. I would highly recommend staying in Mentone for southern hospitality and relaxation.


Out stay at Mountain Laurel

4.4 on October 17, 2010

VERY quiet and secluded. The perfect place to really get away!!!


Anniversary dream come true

4.2 on September 24, 2010

Wonderful experience! Great weekend! Very laid back atmosphere which fit our needs perfectly. Very friendly, helpful service. Beautiful setting. We are already planning on going back and taking friends with us.


Outstanding B and B.

4.6 on September 10, 2010

A very wooded property sitting on a bluff in the Lookout Mountain range; a beautiful setting. Extremely quiet. We stayed in the apartment. Lots of room and the convenience of a small kitchenette. My wife took me there for my 58th birthday. I can't think of a better place to celebrate that time in my life. Sarah is great and her helper Glenda is wonderful. Thank you both for a memorable weekend. Samme, the dog, loved my wife's massages! She made us miss our dog.


What a Wonderful Place!

4.8 on March 22, 2010

Sarah, Thank you so much for such a great get-away for my daughter and I! Caitlyn and I both loved being there. Your hospitality was wonderful. Sammie is a sweet girl and we enjoyed her, as well the beautiful surroundings and the awesome breakfasts!! Hope to make it back there before too long!! Cathy & Caitlyn


Great spur of the moment getaway

5 on January 31, 2010

My boyfriend and I had planned a trip up to chattanooga for this weekend, but with the threat (that turned into a reality) of ice and snow, we changed our plans at the last minute and found this lovely inn. It is just a beautiful setting, deep in the woods where you can find only peace and quiet. The ten minute walk to desoto falls was a perfect afternoon activity. The ice on the trees made the whole place look like it was covered in diamonds. I would definitely recommend a winter trip, even though Sarah mentioned it was her slowest season. There are a lot of great restaurants nearby that Sarah can recommend and usually she personally knows the owner. We took a day drive into Georgia, and found some lovely mountain drives and views. The rooms lack frills, but the beds are incredibly comfortable and the decor is very homey. The tvs are equipped with dvd and vhs, though, due to location, no cable tv. Sarah has a wonderful selection of classic and new movies, as well as great board games. We stayed in for most of our trip and found the setting so relaxing. It is so quiet and beautiful. The breakfast was delicious all three mornings. Sarah's newest addition, a young golden retriever named Sammy, was full of energy and just loved having the extra company. If you want a quiet, peaceful getaway in the woods, Mountain Laurel Inn is a great choice. I would love to see this location in spring or fall, as well. We will definitely be planning a trip back as soon as we can.


The Mountain Laurel Inn Rocks!

5 on January 27, 2010

We met some relatives at the Mountain Laurel Inn for some R&R without kids. Other friends recommended the Inn, to whom we are thankful, because everything was wonderful! The rooms were very clean, comfortable and well-decorated. The Inn's sitting rooms were also warm and welcoming. And make no mistake, Sarah's breakfast was to die for! Sarah was an awesome host who made sure we were well taken care of the whole time! Small world -we figured out after arrival that she grew up a few blocks from where we now live and she graduated a year behind my wife from the same high school! Last but not least, the serene location is just minutes away from dramatic views of Little River and Desoto Falls, all very accesible through walking trails lined with lots of -- you guessed it -- mountain laurel! S and E C from Vinings, GA.


Great location!

4.2 on July 22, 2009

This was the 1st time I stayed at a Bed & Breakfast. My husband, Greg, and I both loved the location, nestled in the woods. The breakfast was truly incredible. Sarah and Lickety Split are great hosts. It's a great place to get away and experience nature and it's beauty!


Perfect retreat in the woods

5 on June 15, 2009

We came to Mentone to drop off our child for summer camp but found that we were the lucky ones for finding the Mountain Laurel Inn. Sarah provides the perfect mix of hospitality and privacy for her guests. The setting is delightful and breakfast was more than we expected. It was sheer heaven to wake up each morning and find that the "coffee fairy" had left my coffee by my door. We can highly recommend the Mountain Laurel Inn.


Awesome stay!

4.4 on June 01, 2009

We loved our weekend getaway for my husbands birthday. Perfect! The rooms are pretty small, but the location and the breakfast more than made up for it! LOVED THIS PLACE!


the best nights sleep

4.6 on May 04, 2009

quiet, relaxing get a way- wanted to stay longer!!


A time to relax

3.6 on April 10, 2009

A beautiful, wooded piece of property with Desota Falls within walking distance! Relaxing atmosphere and one of the top breakfasts I've ever had!


Mountain Laurel Inn

5 on February 20, 2009

Excellent place to stay to get away with spouse for some relaxation.


Mountain Laurel Inn, A great Getaway!

4.6 on February 05, 2009

The setting of the Mountain Laurel Inn is quiet. The breakfast is wonderful and the hospitality is great. We recommend this Inn. We would definitely go back.


Great time at Mtn. Laurel!

5 on January 30, 2009

The room was cozy and it was a treat to wake up each morning having coffee waiting for me right outside my door. The breakfasts are amazing...everything Sarah served was delicious...especially the Decadent French Toast! It was nice to be able to walk to DeSoto Falls so easily...the area is really beautiful and relaxing. Sarah really helped us have a great getaway weekend!


Our Retreat in the Mountains

4.4 on January 29, 2009

After a busy holiday season we needed a retreat to regroup ourselves and relax. We wanted to stay with a few hours of travel and found the Mountain Laurel Inn in Mentone, Alabama. We knew the town was quaint and wanted to be out of the city where we could enjoy the outdoors. Mountain Laurel Inn was perfect for our weekend away! Tucked back into the wooded area of Metone, this bed and breakfast was just what we needed: a cosy room, delightful breakfasts and an innkeeper who knew the area well. Sarah and her Dog, Lickity, shared hiking trails, maps, history of the area and suggestions of where to visit. The inn, located, just on the edge of DeSoto Falls, was a great location to enjoy the mountains and share a relaxing weekend. We will be going back to Mountain Laurel Inn in the spring and in the fall to enjoy all the changes of scenery and visit with our new friends.


Outstanding

4.8 on December 01, 2008

If you need a quiet getaway with a spectacular breakfast, this is the place to go! Sarah is a blessing to all who rest at this inn.


excellent

5 on November 03, 2008

this is the BEST B&B I have stayed. the food and hospitality-superb. it is peaceful, relaxing, and most enjoyable.


Beautiful Getaway at Mountain Laurel Inn

5 on October 13, 2008

Mountain Laurel Inn is a beautiful place to spend a vacation or weekend getaway. It is a romantic peaceful B&B in the mountains in AL. We stayed in the loft apartment, and we had a living area, trundle bed, kitchenette, and a king bed in the bedroom. Beautiful views and good hiking trails. Don't miss the falls! If you need any help finding a good trail, shopping, or anything to do in the area, Sarah will find it for you. She will even make dinner reservations for the nearby restaurants if you want. Great service. The breakfast was absolutely amazing! One of my favorite features was Lickety Split, Sarah's golden retriever, greeting us when we arrived and every morning before breakfast. I definitely recommend Mountain Laurel Inn to anyone and everyone.


Peaceful Retreat

5 on October 02, 2008

We got married in Mentone & visit frequently but this is our favorite place to stay. "Sarah's decadent French Toast is featured in "100 dishes to eat in Alabama before you die" & we totally agree. It's absolutely delicious! You can hike 10 minutes on the nature trail & be at Desota Falls.


Mountain Laurel Inn

4.6 on September 02, 2008

A lovely setting, great hospitality, delicious food,and friendly host. A place to revisit!


Home away from home

5 on August 21, 2008

We just returned from our August 16 and 17, 2008 "home away from home" visit to the Mountain Laurel Inn in Mentone Alabama. My husband and and I first stayed at the inn for one week in May 1998. We've returned almost every year to enjoy serenity, nature, quaint towns, non-chain restaurants, and unique shopping. Sarah Wilcox, the innkeeper, serves a delicious breakfast, gives excellent advice on restaurants and things to do, and enjoys serving her guests. Like most guests, we wrote our comments about our stay in memory books located in each guest room. Everyone wrote wonderful reviews about their stays. Now, we wanted to let the B&B Association know our feelings about this inn and the innkeeper. Kathleen and Gary from Alva, Florida


Exquisite Isolation

4.4 on August 19, 2008

We really enjoyed the isolated, quiet, luxury at the Mtn. Laurel. The food was wonderful and we enjoyed the company of our fellow B&B'ers. This place is close to attractions but feels "out there."


Mountain Laurel Inn

5 on August 19, 2008

Thanks for the outstanding stay.


Heaven on Earth

4.6 on July 31, 2008

I really enjoyed staying at Mr. Laurel Inn, Miss Sarah, (the owner) was always smiling and her breakfast, was so enjoyable. We met new people from all around. So peaceful and quite like heaven, just when you need it. Beautiful scenery.


Friendly

3.8 on July 30, 2008

Innkeeper was very friendly and helpful.


Wonderful

4.0 on July 23, 2008

This was our first time at a B&B. We enjoyed the scenery & the atmosphere. Sarah was very sweet to us & made us feel welcome. It was great!


Great!

5 on April 24, 2007

My wife and I really enjoyed staying at the inn. Desoto Falls are within a 10-minute walk and the setting is gorgeous. My wife and I were the only guests the day we stayed and really enjoyed the quiet, peaceful setting. The room was simple but very comfortable and inviting. The breakfast was very delicious. I think we found a jewel in the Mentone/Fort Payne area.


Quiet and relaxing

4.8 on March 12, 2007

Enjoyed being able to relax and unwind in the beauty of the mountains. The hostess and her dog were enjoyable. The breakfast was outstanding as well as the walk to the Falls. We will return.


Mountain Laurel Inn

Details

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone (256) 634-4673

Visit Website »

View details

Top