Mistletoe Bough Bed & Breakfast Reviews

Overall
4.8

View details

  • Guest room4.6
  • Services4.9
  • Value4.8
  • Cleanliness4.8
  • Dining4.6

Score Breakdown based on
102 Reviews

Write A Review

Wonderful find while traveling

5 on May 19, 2014

The most impressive part of this Bed and Breakfast is very large rooms each with their own bathroom.


Beautiful Home Away from Home

5 on December 23, 2013

Driving up to Mistletoe B&B at night, our eyes were dazzled by all the Christmas lights. And then in the home we were greeted by an array of Christmas in every room. JoAnn met us with a big hug, wonderful smile, and lively wit. Oh, and we were also greeted by 2 beautiful cats and Max the dog. Our blue room was perfect, very clean with many extras. JoAnn was the hostess with the moistest. She accommodated our gluten-free needs and was excited to learn she discovered GF Bisquick for our blueberry pancakes. We would recommend this charming place to anyone. Thank you, JoAnn. The Ranes


Mistletoe Bough is a charming Christmas B&B

4.8 on November 24, 2013

Joann and Jesse were warm and friendly hosts; the Christmas decorations and soft music at breakfast were delightful; the room was large and relaxing. The meal was yummy and presented nicely. The fire in the room and the bed were warm and toasty! The only hiccup was we did not bring bath soap, and there were no bars of soap in the bathroom shower although there was shampoo and makeup remover packets. We will stay again in the Spring! .


Theatre trip

4.8 on November 04, 2013

We were in Alexander City for a performance and chose the Mistletoe Bough. We were extremely pleased with the visit. The hosts provided us with excellent service - including a thumbnail sketch of the home's history. Great!


Great stop!

4.4 on October 07, 2013

I would suggest cleaning up the outside patio bbq area so it would be pleasant to spend time outside comfortably. The breakfast was very good and prepared nicely. I was just expecting a bigger breakfast I think, not necessarily buffet style but at least a few options... most hungry people like big breakfasts with bacon, eggs, grits, toast, hash browns, etc... so it just seemed small is all, that's just my personal opinion. It's a nice place to go, thinking about going back in December. Loved the garden!


comfortable and elegant

5 on September 09, 2013

What a peaceful and pleasant night's stay. The hospitality and ambiance of this inn will take you back to a time when life was more peaceful and gentle. The innkeeper was the quintessential southern hostess who anticipated every need .


Great Stop on the Trail to Auburn!

4.4 on August 13, 2013

Joann was a wonderful and highly informative hostess. The 120 year old home is majestic and true to the period -- an awesome piece of American architecture. Joann's love of the property and the joy of her second career as an innkeeper were reflected in the quality and comfort of our stay. We'll stay wit Joann again!


Hidden Treasure In Alex City, AL

3.6 on July 23, 2013

Needed somewhere to rest on our journey from lower Alabama. It was a rainy night and we were running late. JoAnn welcomed us at the door and offered us an even larger room that had become available. She is a wonderful hostess, and this is a lovely old home hidden away in Alexander City.


Best B&B

4.8 on July 05, 2013

I have stayed at this inn twice, and I have been pleased both times. It is a beautiful home, and the service is excellent! I look forward to my next visit.


Third trip for us.

4.4 on June 09, 2013

We always enjoy our stays here. Friendly, comfortable and good food.


Wonderful Ladies Retreat

5 on May 07, 2013

We had a wonderful weekend with a group of ladies from church. Plenty of space, delicious food, private areas, gorgeous outdoors area. Thanks for the lovely stay, JoAnn!


An Enjoyable Experience

5 on April 14, 2013

Our hostess went above and beyond to make sure we were well taken care of. She most interested in what was good for us and our needs during our stay. The food was wonderful and everything was clean and comfortable. We thoroughly enjoyed it all.


Outstanding Hospitality!!

4.6 on March 30, 2013

JoAnn was a delightful hostess and made us feel so at home! We had a great breakfast both mornings and so enjoyed our conversations. We enjoyed a short trip to a national historical site and found several good restaurants in the area, Would definitely go back again!


Wonderful stay!

4.8 on March 18, 2013

Our stay at the Mistletoe B&B was a wonderful experience. The house was beautiful and very clean. We were greeted by the innkeeper, JoAnn when we arrived. She had fresh-baked cookies ready for us on arrival. She was a lovely hostess and an excellent cook. We were served delicious french toast for breakfast. If you are interested in a quiet, ambient stay in a beautiful and historic house, then the Mistletoe Bough B&B is right for you. I sincerely hope to stay there again in the future.


I wanted to stay in every room!

5 on March 17, 2013

What a wonderful old home! Joann makes it feel like your home, too! We laughed because I came around to the front door ("the fancy way"), when I arrived. She invited me back to the litchen, to meet another guest, travel writer, Linda Bentley, of The Packed Bag. She was doing her 50 States in 50 weeks tour, and fortunately, had just arrived in Alabama! SHe and JoAnn were like a comedy tag team, and I was surprised when I found that they only just met that day. I think that happens a lot with JoAnn, though! The bed was absolutely lovely and I had the best night's sleep.The Keurig was right outside my room, so that was perfect! I want to stay there again - all I have to figure out is which room next time....


21st Wedding Anniversary

5 on February 05, 2013

We completed our second stay at the Mistletoe Bough Bed and Breakfast and it was even better than the first time. It was a surprise getaway for my wife to celebrate our 21st Wedding Anniversary and our first after recently retiring from the US Navy. I planned the weekend complete with chocolate covered strawberries and beautiful roses both of which JoAnn graciuosly set up for me. The flowers were beautiful and her hand dipped strawberries amazing (she even included some homemade cookies!). We had a wonderful dinner at the Springhouse restaraunt located near lake Martin and only a short distance from the B&B. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for a special evening. The prices are a little steep but worth every penny! Want to end by saying what a pleasure it was to get to know JoAnn again, she is such a wonderful host and the food is amazing! I would recommend this B&B to anyone weather it is a romantic get-away or just a break from everyday life. God Bless you JoAnn and thanks for an amazing weekend! Rob & Rita Sickmiller


Our first experience of staying at a Bed & Breakfast

4.8 on January 28, 2013

What an Awesome first time experience of a Bed and Breakfast ! This is a beautiful and unique home very fitting for a Bed and Breakfast. If you enjoy a person that is very professional and yet very personable you will enjoy meeting JoAnn, she's a great cook also. If you ever get the chance to stay at the Mistletoe Bough Bed & Breakfast please do so. You won't regreat it and while your there ask about the Stake House that is in town good food and music! JoAnn suggested and she was right. Very friendly town!


A wonderful experience

5 on November 26, 2012

I spent the Thanksgiving holiday at the Misletoe and had an absolutely wonderful time. JoAnn is the best innkeeper/host ever . What might have been a somewhat quiet holiday for me was a truly wonderful experience thanks to JoAnn and her hospitality. She does everything possible to make you feel comfortable and at home - even allowing me to share a Thanksgiving meal with her and husband, Jesse. Her upside-down Apple Pie was scrumptious. It was a sunny Fall day and I enjoyed sitting on the front porch swing talking with JoAnn and gathering some of the beautiful blooms from the many camellia bushes in the gardens surrounding the house to create a centerpiece for the table and then walked in the side yard to see the fish swimming the in pond. On this visit, I stayed in Andrea's room and could watch the squirrels scampering through the pecan tree outside the windows of my room as they gathered their winter food. This was not my first visit to the Mistletoe and it won't be my last. It doesn't get any better than the Mistletoe, thanks to JoAnn and the genine hospitality she shows her guests.


Coming Home

5 on October 22, 2012

The first stop on our bike trip was the Misletoe Bough and our final stop before retuning home. Each time we felt as if we were visiting family. JoAnn and Max gave us a feeling of being more than just a guest. Truly one of the best B&B that I have stayed at. The house and rooms are wonderful, Can't say enough about JoAnn and how she made us feel so very welcomed. Max stole my heart and wanted to take him home with me. We are already planning our next trip.


Quiet and Relaxing...

5 on September 20, 2012

The atmosphere is serene, the food delicious, the room beautiful and clean, and the InnKeeper, JoAnn is simply a joy. We will definitely stay at the inn again.


Charming and comfortable...didn't want to leave!

4.8 on September 10, 2012

It was so hard to leave this place after one night. The entire Inn is decorated in such a lovely, Victorian style. I stayed in the Master Suite, which is a beautfiul blue-walled, blue-themed room with the most comfortable bed (aside from my own, lol) I've slept on in a long while. JoAnn was such a pleasant host and made me feel as if I were a friend dropping by her place for a night. On the day I checked in, she had just brought home an adorable, weeks-old puppy--you won't want to stop petting him! If my travels ever bring me through the Alexander City area, I would, without hesitation, stay in this charming, affordable B&B. Thanks again, JoAnn!


Delightful and Charming

4.8 on August 31, 2012

Charming Victorian Bed & Breakfast. My husband and I enjoyed our stay. It was a very relaxing time. The breakfast was delicious; and our hostess was very accommodating, helpful, and cheerful. We would recommend this to our friends and family. There are things to do locally and in near by towns.


Brit's wedding

5 on August 14, 2012

I was attending my niece's wedding with one of my high school friends. We decided that we would try a bed & breakfast rather than staying at a hotel. We were both pleased with our experience and plan on returning during the Christmas season to see the house decorations. The innkeeper was very nice and made sure that our stay was memorable.


Awesome Anniversary!

5 on August 08, 2012

We stayed at Mistletoe Bough Bed and Breakfast to celebrate our 35th anniversary. It was beautiful, the service was great, the food was really good, and Jesse and JoAnn couldn't have been friendlier. We felt like we made new friends, with Jesse and JoAnn as well as the other guests. It made our anniversary seem very special! Ben and Cindy, Montgomery, Al.


What a get away!

5 on August 03, 2012

Came for a relaxing bday celebration and was pleasantly surprised by what an outstanding host and beautiful house this was. Thre rooms are fantastic and Jo Ann makes you feel right at home. Nice coming home from a day of shopping to home baked cookies. Breakfast was fantastic! I loved those multi grain pancakes! Thanks for everything! I would definitely come back again!


About as good a B & B as you will ever stay in.

5 on July 19, 2012

We had a wonderful stay in July, 2012. The house is charming with an ineresting history. Our room was spacious and nicely appointed. JoAnn was extremely accomodating. Our fellow guests were really interesting people. One morning JoAnn had a blueberry bread pudding and when Faris complimented it. JoAnn sent a recipe home with us. We can't think of a single negative thing to say.


Anniversary

5 on July 18, 2012

This was our first time staying at a bed and breakfast and it was a very good experience. We will defently stay at this one again .


The Innkeeper is perfect

4.2 on July 03, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this wonderful B&B for a getaway. It was a surprise for her. I spoke to Joann Frazier the Innkeeper. They offered a discount for weekday travelers, which we took advantage of. She made the reservations process so easy and she was willing to work with me. We had a sick child and could not get away when we first wanted to and she was so friendly and accommodating to adjust the date. Joann is the jewel of this B&B… the Innkeeper is what makes the B&B and this is one of the best B&Bs because of Joann. Friendly, warm, welcoming, accommodating, polite, a true “service heart” are only a few ways I can start to describe Joann. From the phone call before we arrived while we were driving down… to the hand written note and the hand dipped chocolate strawberries, to cooking our breakfast in the morning. She was a perfect host! The B&B is amazing. The rooms are spacious, Victorian designed, large windows and high ceilings thru out… and the upkeep was amazing. If you have ever stayed in an old house you know how much noise they make, this one was quite and very few cricks. The B&B was very clean and the bathroom was spotless and the bed was like sleeping on a cloud. The entire place was furnished with beautiful antiques and artwork. This Victorian House was originally built in 1890 to 1895. It stayed in the original family for 3 generations before it fell in total disrepair and was condemned by the city. It was converted into a B&B and completely renovated in 1993. Be sure to ask Joann to see the pictures of the renovation. WOW! I love the history. I highly recommend the Mistletoe B&B for anyone needing a little time away from their busy lives. From the 2 cats who are the self-appointed (outside) welcoming committee, to the perfect places to curl up with a good book both inside and out. This is a perfect get away. I can’t wait until Christmas season so I can see this Victorian Mansion in all its glory.


Charming!

5 on July 02, 2012

Our stay at the Mistletoe Bough B&B was delightful. The house itself is beautiful. Our room was lovely. The temperature was a little warm, thanks to the Alabama heat, and unlike a hotel room, there is no in-room thermostat. However, we were very comfortable at night with the ceiling fan running. If small bathrooms are a concern, talk with the innkeeper, Joann. Some bathrooms are very small, no doubt because of the age and architecture of the house. In our room the toilet and shower were tucked into a small closet, but there was a sink/vanity with its own lighting in one corner of the room--a great solution to the lack of space in the bathroom. The breakfast each morning was delicious and filling. Joann has obviously found her niche! We hope to visit again.


Friendly and Beautiful!!

5 on June 26, 2012

This was an awesome place to stay. The rooms were all lovely and the JoAnn is a peach...so friendly and hospitable. Breakfast was wonderful!!!!


Wonderful !

5 on June 19, 2012

I traveled with 4 friends on a summer road trip. We had a wonderful time at Mistletoe Bough and hope to visit another time.


Birthday stay

5 on June 18, 2012

We want to thank you so very much for making our stay so magnificent. Your home and hospitality (and breakfast, of course) was wonderful. I personally want to thank you for making my young daughter feel as though she had given her mom the best bday present!! (she was right). Also, it was Rachael's first time to stay in a Bed and Breakfast and she absolutely fell in love with the experience. Again, thank you and your husband for allowing us the opportunity to relax and enjoy your home and city. Take care. Frank and Tracy Fagg, and Rachael!!!!


Stepping back in time...

4.6 on June 16, 2012

We drove up to the beautiful Mistletoe Bough and felt like we had stepped back into another century! The welcoming smile of JoAnn met us at the door and we felt at home instantly! We were greeted with delightful smells coming from the kitchen. Decorated in the Victorian manner, but with modern conveniences, my husband and I thoroughly enjoyed sharing a cup of Keurig coffee on the balcony just outside our room. The bed was very comfortable and we enjoyed breakfast with other travelers the next morning. We hope to come again when we are in the area! Thank you JoAnn and Jesse for a lovely stay.


Mistletoe Bough is Fabulous!

5 on June 05, 2012

We stayed two nights and had a great time. The house itself is beautiful. The breakfast was excellent. We are looking forward to staying again.


Janet and Gordon

5 on June 01, 2012

great


Stepping into the Past

5 on May 20, 2012

Large , lovely decorated room. JoAnn was an excellent host with detailedl information about the history of the home and area. JoAnn serve a lovely breakfast. The other rooms were filled but very quite and private. You will love staying in Mistletoe Bough Bed and Breakfast.


We really enjoyed our stay!

4.2 on May 03, 2012

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay at Mistlete Bough. The innkeepers were incredibly warm and friendly and the service was wonderful. The house was too overly decorated for our liking and would have prefered a more simple and calm atmosphere, but the historic quality of the house was impressive. We would return and enjoy our stay again in the future. There are several fun things to do within walking distance and the lake is a fairly short drive away and well worth your time!


Incredible!

5 on May 02, 2012

JoAnn was an amazing hostess. She went out of her way to make our stay a wonderful experience. The house is beautiful with gorgeous furnishings. Thank you JoAnn for an awesome B&B stay! Linda and Byron Langdon


Great stay all around!!!

5 on April 29, 2012

This was our 1st stay at a bed and breakfast, but certainly not our last stay at this one!! Everything was exceptional, from the room, the view, the beautiful home, and the especially the hosts! We had a wonderful breakfast, and great company!! I would definately recommend this B&B to everyone!! Joan Sprouse Athens, AL


Porches are important!

4.6 on April 19, 2012

Everything was lovely at the Mistletoe Bough Bed and Breakfast. However, Innkeepers should be aware that guests enjoy staying in old B & B s for their fabulous sitting porches. Porches are an extension of the Inn and should have comfortable and clean sitting areas.


Most restful stay...

4.0 on February 23, 2012

What a beautiful Victorian home with the most charming hosts..the accommodations were great..the food was delicious and it was enjoyed immensely...


Great time at the Mistletoe Bough B&B!

4.0 on February 13, 2012

My husband and I stayed here after backpacking a couple of days on a nearby trail. It was a great reward to our wilderness trip. Joann was great, gave us cake and ice cream and made us feel completely at home. We reserved the sunshine suite and it was so lovely. The lighting was completely relaxing and the king-sized bed was comfy. We really had a lovely time and I hope to come back.


I want to go again...

3.8 on January 20, 2012

I was in Alex City for a funeral, and this was a silver lining place to stay. Very welcoming, enjoyable, pleasant stay.


Wonderful get-away with my sweet wife!

5 on January 14, 2012

This place was very highly reviewed on every source I saw. Now we know why. This was my Christmas gift to my wife, and she was very pleased. She loves old houses and she loves Christmas, so this was a perfect combination. JoAnn is a very gracious hostess and very kind and accommodating. She did tell us that she is selling the business to someone else in a few months, but will stay on for a while to help the transition. I hope the new owner keeps up the great reputation for this nice facility.


Friendly and relaxing atmosphere

5 on January 03, 2012

My daughter and I had a great time here. I would recommend it to anyone, who enjoys a relaxing and friendly atmosphere. We plan to go back again and I'm planning a trip with a group of friends also.


Superior Hospitality

5 on November 29, 2011

Mistletoe Bough is a beautiful, charming, and yet, cozy, bed and breakfast. The innkeeper, JoAnn Frazier, is attentive to all one's needs and has a delightful wit as well. Food was scrumptious. I highly recommend Mistletoe Bough.


A+ for Mistletoe Bough

5 on November 23, 2011

Like last time, we loved the stay at the Mistletoe Bough and hope to come back soon again.


Great B&B in Alexander City

5 on November 23, 2011

We enjoy staying here as part of trips to Auburn. Very nicely decorated for the holidays. Great accommodations and hosts...


Comfortable place to stay

4.4 on November 06, 2011

The Master Suite is a very spacious comfortable room. The fireplace heater warmed the room nicely. The breakfast was certainly adequate. We were served cream cheese stuffed French toast made with store bought French bread, sausage (very good flavor), and juice.


The Mistletoe Bough is the most delightful B&B we have ever stayed in

5 on October 29, 2011

Highly recommend the Mistletoe and we look forward to going back near Christmas to enjoy the home for the holidays and to meet Mrs. Claus!


Wonderful Weekend Away

5 on October 19, 2011

We truly enjoyed staying at Mistletoe Bough. JoAnn was amazingly warm and friendly. We loved the room and breakfast was delicious both mornings. Would highly recommend staying here to anyone and hope to stay again (and come visit during Christmas)! Thank you :)


Wonderful stay at Mistletoe Bough

5 on October 03, 2011

As always, it was a great stay with Joann and Jesse at Mistletoe. It was a good beginning to a longer trip. Food was excellent. Looking forward to returning soon.


Above and beyond

5 on October 02, 2011

The facilities were excellent and very charming. The best part was the service. We felt like old friends and were treated like family (the good kind).


Wonderful Stay.

5 on September 29, 2011

My stay here was outstanding. Beautiful rooms. The entire house was gorgeous. One of my favorite parts of our time here was out on the front porch. There were two very comfortable hammock chairs where me and my girlfriend sat and talked. The breakfast the next morning was fantastic: banana and almond fruit salad, cranberry pineapple cake, hash browns and omelette. JoAnn was an awesome hostess and went above and beyond what we could have expected.


Fantastic!!!!!

5 on September 09, 2011

We had a wonderful time. It was everything and more than we expected. It was delightful to stay in such a historic house. However the host Joann really made it complete. We are anxious to return. You do really enter as guests and leave as friends. War Eagle! Karen & Jerry


Enjoyed Our Stay

4.4 on August 31, 2011

We enjoyed hearing about the history of the house and the family along with viewing the photos. We will return.


Wish we could have stayed longer!

5 on August 31, 2011

Loved the Mistletoe Bough! My coworker and I were there for only one night and sad to leave the next morning. Joann was incredibly hospitable and welcoming. The place is beautifully decorated. I would have loved to stay longer just to sip some sweet tea while swinging on the patio.


38th Wedding Anniversary

5 on August 21, 2011

We just returned from a wonderful 2 night stay at Mistletoe Bough. Recommend it highly. We have stayed at several b&b - this was the best all the way around! Mark & Jacque Montgomery, Alabama


Graduation Trip

5 on August 21, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Mistletoe while attending our nephew's graduation at Auburn University. JoAnn was a lovely hostess. The home was tastefully decorated. The rooms were large and decorated in a Victorian style. We loved her blueberry pancakes! JoAnn makes you feel at home. We enjoyed our stay.


Great Getaway

4.6 on August 14, 2011

This is a delightful bed and breakfast with breezy cheerful rooms in an outstandingly beautiful historic home. The breakfasts were served with hot coffee and quiet music. A very fun place to escape everyday life and relax.


So relaxing!

5 on August 04, 2011

My husband and I had a need for peace and quiet and we certainly found it. Such a beautiful place to stay. The porch was amazing. Breakfast was delicious and served at our convenience which was a nice surprise. We had our ice cream sundaes on the porch and watched the fireflies. This was just what we needed and we will be back.


mistletei

4.4 on July 28, 2011

We had a great stay. The room was beautiful. Breakfast was delicious just a little on the light side and not the usually hearty bed and breakfast meals we're use too. Our hosts were fantastic and very helpful. My husband was disappointed that the afternoon ice cream sundaes promised on the website never materialized. Only problem was bathrooms are way too small.

Innkeeper Response
I am so sorry didn't receive their ice cream sundaes. I have changed the policy to sundaes on request instead of served at a certain time to allow guests more flexibility in their dinner plans. I will mention it at check in so there is no misunderstanding.


First time a great time.

5 on July 27, 2011

It was my wife's and my first time to try a B and B. This place is great. We stayed in Nanny's Room and it was perfect. Joann and Jesse are as friendly as all the other reviews had stated. Wish we had more time to spend on this visit and will definitely return with friends.


Relaxing!

5 on July 14, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at the Mistletoe Bough B&B. The room was wonderful and the owners were very nice. We look forward to our next visit.


Wonderful Getaway Weekend

4.0 on June 19, 2011

We had a wonderful time visiting at the Mistletoe Bough Bed & Breakfast. JoAnn and Jesse were very hospitable and courteous from the moment we arrived. We originally chose the Mistletoe Bough because of a coupon through Groupon but this was worth more than the regular price. We felt right at home.


Beautiful Mansion-Quaint Town

5 on May 24, 2011

My husband and I had a wonderful time at the Mistletoe Bough B&B. JoAnn is a wonderful hostess! There are a couple of good restaurants within walking distance. After walking back from supper that evening, we enjoyed relaxing on the porch. The breakfast was delicious. Again, we enjoyed reading and relaxing on the upstairs porch after breakfast. We didn't make it in town early enough, but there were several antique/flea market shops I would have enjoyed visiting. Lake Martin and several seafood restaurants/nice shops are within driving distance. Great place to go!


A perfect weekend getaway

4.4 on May 22, 2011

JoAnn was a fabulous hostess with interesting conversation and delicious food. The weekend my husband and I were there, she was also hosting a ladies' tea and a Mother's Day luncheon. All her dishes were wonderful and everyone was thoroughly enjoying themselves. This California gal knows how to show true southern hospitality. We highly recommend Mistletoe Bough!


Mistletoe Bought B&B perfect stay

5 on May 12, 2011

A very positive stay from the time we rang the doorbell till our departure. We had to leave real early; so the owner went out of her way to fix us coffee and delicious breakfast pinwheels to take on the road. We hope to stay there again and will recommend to our friends for a stay when they visit Alexander City/ Auburn area.


mistletoe bough

4.0 on May 06, 2011

This is the best B & B that you will ever stay in,we travel from the uk for the race at talladega and we would not stay anywhere else.It is run by wonderful people who cannot do enough for you,the house is amazing and we are always very sad to leave and cannot wait for our next visit


Outstanding Stay

5 on May 05, 2011

Ms. JoAnn was a wonderful hostess. My wife and I were very pleased with all aspects of our stay. The room was very comfortable, Ms. JoAnn ensured my special requests were fulfilled, and breakfast was spectacular! We only live 1 hr away but will definately visit again. Thanks Ms JoAnn for a wonderdul stay, you are a blessing to your guests.


Wonderful stay

4.8 on April 06, 2011

Very comfortable, spotless B&B in a majestic old house near the downtown. Hostess JoAnn was gracious and very welcoming, even allowing us to change our room selection at the last minute. Excellent bed, beautiful yard, more than filling breakfast. We'd stay here again in a minute.


Awesome Experience!

5 on March 02, 2011

One word "Outstanding" sums it up! Hospitality was amazing. Home away from home! Will visit again!


Supper Club get-away

5 on February 16, 2011

This was the perfect place for a wonderful, relaxing weekend! The house was beautiful (exterior and interior), the innkeepers were outstanding, the food was scrumptious.... the best B&B ever (and we have been doing this annual get away for nine years).


Mistletoe Bough Bed & Breakfast

3.6 on December 14, 2010

The Mistletoe Bough is a beautiful home. JoAnn is the perfect hostess and is so nice. She had everything decorated beautifully for Christmas. The only problem we experienced was that reserved one room but were bumped to another due to someone else coming in a night earlier than expected (they made their reservations earlier than we did). It just kind of put a damper on our stay as I really wanted to stay in that particular room. Everything else was wonderful!

Innkeeper Response
I am very sorry that I had to change their room at the last minute. These are very lovely people and I hope they come back to experience all of our rooms.


Great time at Mistletoe Bough

4.0 on November 30, 2010

We booked for two nights and enjoyed our stay so much we stayed another! JoAnn is a wonderful hostess and cook. She was extremely helpful in suggesting points of interest and good restaurants in the area. The house is lovely, our room comfy. It was great!


Unexpected Getaway

5 on November 27, 2010

Simply put, the B&B was relaxing and the Innkeepers were friendly and inviting. I've already recommended friends and family to make a reservation when they need to get away to a comfortable, clean, unobtrusive location.


Superb stay at Bed and Breakfast

5 on November 21, 2010

We stayed for one night with our daughter after an Auburn game in the Bed and Breakfast and were overwhelmed with everything. We sure will be back, hopefully longer than just one night. Superb service, clean rooms, great breakfast, beautiful house and friendliness of the keeper made the stay feel special. I would give this Bed and Breakfast a 5 star rating.


Great place and Inn keepers

5 on November 10, 2010

We loved it. The house was beautiful. The Inn Keeper very friendly and helpful. Food was great. Would definetly stay here again and probably will!


A Surprise Awaits you in Alexander City

5 on October 20, 2010

As we drove into Alexander City for the first time, we wondered why we had decided to stay the evening. On the road on which we traveled, nothing seemed special. That all changed when we were greeted at the Mistletoe Bough B&B. The home was originally built by a banker in the early 1900's who spared no expense in making certain that everyone in the community knew that he had money. That opulence is now any traveler's fortune as you get the chance to enjoy an evening or two in luxurious surroundings. The innkeepers were extremely friendly and helpful and did all they could to make our stay a wonderful one!!!


A wonderful weekend getaway

5 on October 13, 2010

My husband and I had a wonderful anniversary celebration at the Mistletoe Bough Bed and Breakfast! JoAnn greeted us with such kindness when we first arrived even moving us to a newly available room that was bigger than the room we had originally booked. Instantly we felt like we were made family and the house was ours to enjoy. The breakfasts were delightful and the conversation with JoAnn was very nice and not obtrusive whatsoever. She made several excellent entertainment and food suggestions which we thoroughly enjoyed on our stay. We will definitely be back to visit and again and will recommend to others.


A serene and restful getaway

4.6 on October 06, 2010

From the moment I walked inside this beautiful "grand old lady" home, I felt welcome. JoAnn is a wonderful host and by the time I'd been there five minutes, she made me feel like an old friend. I stayed in the Master Suite which was lovely, quiet and restful. I usually don't sleep well away from home, but slept like a baby during my stay. I enjoyed the balcony down the hall from my room and spent time there readying and just listening to the sounds of nature outside on a beautiful Saturday afternoon. JoAnn had recommended Jake's just a few blocks away for dinner and the food was excellent. One of the best steaks I've had in a long time. The stuffed french toast and creamed bananas Joann served at breakfast were delicious and the conversation around the breakfast table with the other guests very much enjoyed. Also, don't miss lunch at the old fashioned soda fountain in Carlisle's Drug Store. I will plan another visit soon to the Mistletoe!!


Lovely

4.6 on August 27, 2010

JoAnn made us ice-cream sundaes when we arrived and also prepared a special vegetarian breakfast for me - delicious. The accommodations were delightful. We had a wonderful time.


Great getaway

5 on August 23, 2010

Mistletoe Bough is a great B&B for a getaway. Joann (the proprietor) is extremely hospitable and personable. Rooms were spacious, very comfortable, and the entire house is remarkably clean well kept. We'll definitely plan to stay there again!


First Vacation

5 on July 29, 2010

My boyfriend and I took our first vacation together this year! We had alot of trouble deciding where to go, and found Mistletoe Bough on bed&breakfast.com. It took us 3 weeks to decide that this would be the place to visit. We were not disappointed and wish that we could have a first vacation all over again. This was without a doubt the best stay at any place between the two of us we have ever had. Thanks so much Ms Joann and Mr Jesse for your love and kindness in making our first vacation unforgettable!! Forever in your debt for the memories we won't forget! Alan & Christie Crestview, Fl July 27-29, 2010


Wonderful

5 on June 30, 2010

Think Classy--------Think a B&B Think Welcoming--Think a B&B Think Timeless-----Think a B&B Think Enjoyment---Think a B&B Think the best of the best-----Think Joann’s and Jesses Mistletoe-Bough Bed & Breakfast at Alexander City, Alabama. From the first time you ring the door bell, till the last time you close the door behind you. You will find a Classy, Welcoming, and Timeless home, full of Enjoyment Thank you for a wonderful stay.


only one night

4.0 on November 04, 2009

the only regret we had was the fact we could only spend one night . I would highly recommend this to everyone for a pleasant night's stay.


Outstanding

5 on August 30, 2009

JoAnn was quite the hostess. I stayed there 6 nights over a two week period and had a different, wonderful, memorable breakfast each morning. Also, I was able to choose my own times for breakfast. The rooms are large compared to most with a TV in every room and a coffee/tea nook in the hallway so you can make a cup anytime. There was also a frig in the hallway for everyone to store cold snacks during the stay. Most assured, I will be back when I'm in the area.


Very Nice time

5 on August 30, 2009

Every once in a while, life hands you an unexpected moment. That can be a good thing. That is what we enjoyed this last evening. Although I must say my companion may have influenced my opinion of the stay, the facilities leave you feeling like you have stayed in a five star hotel. The rooms and decor are absolutely stunning and each has their individual character. I had the opportunity to peruse all of them as we were the last guest to leave. The breakfast was nice and so was the conversation with our hostess, a very dynamic individual. I would recommend this to anyone and look forward to my next stay, especially during the holidays.


A Step Back In Time

5 on August 25, 2009

A beautiful, beautiful, place rich in history, but with all the perks of a Five Star Hotel. The rooms are spacious, and very clean, and comfortable. The service was wonderful, and the breakfast was delicious. One of the most greatest places I've ever been. I highly recommend!!!


Great choice!

4.4 on August 05, 2009

My wife and I totally enjoyed our three night stay at Mistletoe Bough. All our expectations were satisfied, but the greatest surprise was the welcome we received from JoAnn, the owner. She makes you feel like you're visiting kinfolk. Thank you JoAnn!


Great hospitality

4.2 on July 07, 2009

On holiday from the UK, this stay was a highlight in our three week tour of the southern states. JoAnn was so very welcoming and accommodating and the house is lovely. We sat on the verandah before going to dinner at 'Cecil's', recommended by JoAnn and worth every penny. On our return JoAnn made us all a lovely pudding! Our room was large and comfortable and coffee was to hand on the landing. The apple pancakes for breakfast were delicious. One tip - the house is not easy to find so we recommend phoning ahead for directions. Highly recommended bed and breakfast.


Classy Reunion

4.0 on June 29, 2009

My classmates and I took four of the five rooms while in town for a class reunion, and it was a wonderful place to visit and share memories. We loved the inn, enjoyed the host, and appreciated the hospitality. Our stay at Mistletoe Bough made our reunion truly "classy."


Experienced Travelers

5 on April 07, 2009

My friend and I have traveled throughout the south visiting bed and breakfast Inns. This one far exceedes any experiences we have had at other inns. We just can't stay away from Mistletoe Bough. We recommend it to all age groups.


Great Bed and Breakfast Experience

4.6 on February 17, 2009

I would highly recommend this bed and breakfast. Inn keepers and staff were extremely helpful and accomodating. Rooms were well kept and very clean. The inn is a little hard to find but well worth the effort.


Peaceful

5 on January 07, 2009

This is our getaway for relaxation. It's quaint and charming. The innkeepers are very pleasant. The food is wonderful. Great Coffee Maker! Interesting conversation. JoAnn and Jesse are wonderful hosts.


Awesome!

5 on October 14, 2008

The rooms and the house are beautiful! Good food and owners who really care! I recommend this highly!


Awesome

5 on October 14, 2008

WE have been staying here since 2002 twice a year for the races and we just love the hospitality. By far this is our favorite B&B!


Very Interesting Home/B&B

4.6 on September 24, 2008

The Innkeeper (JoAnn) was most hospitablel and interesting. Her breakfasts were special. We would certainly recommend Mistletoe Bough travelers to central Alabama.


Great stay

4.6 on July 23, 2008

The Mistletoe was one of the best B&Bs we've stayed in. Unique and homey, above average food, very personable host.


Saddle Tramp

5 on May 27, 2008

On my 15 day odyssey solo motorcycle tour of 50 borders, I was honored to stay at this stunning inn. The best part is the innkeeper and her excellent food and attention to details. as a quality manager-- I know!


Great time

4.2 on April 02, 2008

Charming B&B, loaded with antiques and beautifully decorated. Wonderful host.


Pretty Nice

4.4 on December 12, 2007

The room was great, the Innkeepers were very friendly. The breakfast was okay I just get tired of baked eggs at B&B's. Nice small town.


Mistletoe Bough Bed & Breakfast

Details

  • Nightly Rate $95 - $129
  • Reviews (102) 4.8
  • Rooms 5
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-2563293717
Top