Longing For Home Bed and Breakfast Reviews

Overall
4.8

View details

  • Guest room4.8
  • Service4.8
  • Value4.6
  • Cleanliness4.8
  • Dining4.8

Score Breakdown based on
85 Reviews

Write A Review

Beautiful & Peaceful B&B

5 on November 19, 2014

Wonderful getaway weekend! It was a relaxing and peaceful experience from the jacuzzi to the comfy king size bed! The breakfast was divine! Lovely experience.


Perfect refuge in Florence

5 on September 27, 2014

Impeccably maintained historic limestone manor in quaint college area of Florence. Walking distance to many fine restaurants and shopping in old downtown. Gourmet three course breakfast. Betty and Bill are great hosts. Will definitely return. Thanks from Pat and Bill


Limestone House review (not Longing For Home)

3.0 on June 19, 2014

Bill & Betty are GREAT as is the charming old home. Nice balance of updates and original decor. The super-luxe updated bathrooms and high-end showers are SUPERB.


Peaceful Retreat

5 on June 11, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our short getaway at Longing for Home. The B&B exceeded our expectations in every way. Stephanie was a wonderful hostess, and her breakfasts were so delicious and bountiful that no lunch was needed. Longing for Home is a beautiful, peaceful place, and we will be repeat customers.


Too Hot!

2.4 on May 14, 2014

I feel that I need to explain why I didn't give a higher rating. The physical location and our room were beautiful. But the air conditioning was broken, and it was 80 degrees in our room, making it very difficult to rest. I contacted the inn keeper and was told to adjust the thermostat. Duh! Already did that! I might have felt better about the situation if we had been offered a partial refund.

Innkeeper Response
We apologize for the discomfort you experienced during your recent stay due to the loss of our a/c system and for the inadequate response given when the situation was reported. We made every effort to have the system repaired during your stay and regret that this was not accomplished. We also intended to give you a partial refund, however, my father was in ICU at the same time and we focused all our attention on him at the time. Thank you for bringing this oversight to our attention. We are issuing a refund for one night, additionally you will receive a gift certificate for a one night stay at either of our locations (Longing For Home or Limestone House). In order to insure the comfort of our future guests, we are setting our heating and a/c systems on a seasonal maintenance schedule. Thank you for your patronage and we hope you will consider our bed and breakfasts in your future travel plans.


excellent stay

3.2 on April 16, 2014

I stayed at the bed and breakfast in Rogersville and it was amazing... loved the hot tub!


Wonderful Experience

5 on December 12, 2013

Very comfortable and accommodating. Bill and Betty were pleasant company and the room was beautiful!!


Longing for this B&B

4.8 on November 25, 2013

Such a pleasant way to spend our anniversary. Leaves me longing for that solitude again.


A little slice of heaven.

5 on October 27, 2013

My wife and I absolutely loved the place. It was quiet, out of the way, close enough to town for shopping, but only expect antique shopping. It is a small town, very small. The host couple are the sweetest people you will ever meet, they have fantastic stories, great food and fantastic coffee. The grounds are lovely and well kept, and the rooms are quaint and spacious. The bathtub is amazing!


bliss

4.2 on October 07, 2013

My wife and i stayed at longi.g for home and were thoroughly pleased, they treated us very well. I had a surprise dinner planned and they helped me exceed my expections and they catered to our every need . We loved our stay there.


dream getaway

4.4 on September 26, 2013

Tbis was a great bed and breakfast. That exceeded our expectations. My wife and i had a great time at longing for home, the owners were awsome and welcoming and gave us a lot of love and attention. And the surprise dinner they set up for was wonderful and my wife was very pleased, sitting poolside withe stars and a lighted pool was breathtaking. We were happy, thanks


Delightful Stay at Longing For Home

4.6 on August 15, 2013

Hospitality at its finest. Our bed was amazing. It was the first time I have ever slept in a bed I liked more than my own! Hadn't slept on a Sleep Number bed before but now I think we just might be in the market for one. I always have pain in the mornings, but not at Longing For Home. I think the thread count on the sheets was about a million! Slept better than I have in years! Betty and Bill made us feel so at home and we thoroughly enjoyed hearing the history, spiced with Bill's wit and humor, of the area. Betty spoiled us each morning with a delicious three-course breakfast. (I need all her recipes.) The little town is full of delightful surprises and we are planning to go back for a visit as soon as possible! Next time, we hope to use the pool, porch swing and hot tub! We may even opt to stay on the "sleeping porch!" May God bless Betty and Bill. These two definitely found their niche as hosts of this wonderful B & B.


Mini Anniversary Trip

5 on August 14, 2013

Bill and Betty were warm and friendly and allowed is the privacy we desired. We will be visiting again every chance we get.


Longing For Home is awesome!

5 on July 11, 2013

We have stayed here several times, and each one has been delightful.. The breakfasts are delicious and bountiful, the conversations and tall tales very entertaining, and Bill and Betty go the extra mile to make sure every wish is granted.


Shoals Getaway

4.8 on June 10, 2013

Very pleasant stay and great location to explore the Shoals area.


Wrapped in a Hug

5 on June 09, 2013

From the moment my sister and I pulled into the drive way we felt relaxed and welcomed. Walking through the doors were like being wrapped in a hug. Bill and Betty were very down to earth and made us feel at home. We stayed on the screened porch and it was wonderful. We never felt unsafe or like we were not on our parents porch at our childhood home. The grounds are very peaceful with little sitting areas all around. The hot tub and swimming pool were a pleasant surprise. Everything was very clean and neat. Breakfast was amazing and very filling. There was great creativity in preparation. We would suggest this to everyone!


Very Relaxing

4.8 on May 12, 2013

We had a great stay at Longing for Home. I can't say enough about how peaceful and relaxing the place is. We had a nice walk around the sizable grounds. The room (Sunshine Daydreams) was really nice - clean, big and comfortable. Bill and Betty were great -- I definitely recommend picking their brains about the area. I would recommend L4H to anyone who visits the area.


Wonderful stay!

5 on February 26, 2013

We spent three nights there and thoroughly enjoyed it. The food was fantastic!


Relaxing B&B

5 on February 25, 2013

NO PROBLEMS OR COMPLAINTS! More then a home away from home


Valentines Stay

4.6 on February 18, 2013

Bill and Betty a.k.a. Humor and Wit provided a most wonderful stay Valentines Eve. The room was exceptional, the food was great and the hospitality (stories and humor included) was without peer. The things we learned about living in the South will be treasured.


High Quality in all regards

4.8 on February 03, 2013

Do take your time to enjoy your stay with Bill and Betty. Such great people with awesome stories. Truly a blessing to have met them. Their B&B is unique in that you have a whole home to use as if it were your own while you are their. The breakfast was unique as well and very delicious. It is a beautiful, clean, and pleasant please to stay.


No place like home

5 on December 10, 2012

What an experience.....me and my wife just stayed at longing for home this past weekend and our experience was excellant.....Beautiful rooms....excellant dining and hospitality was hands down extrordinary.....will be returning agian soon. Bobby and Jill.....montevallo al


Longing for Home B & B

5 on October 04, 2012

Wonderful home, great service. Loved the Porch Room and the Steam Shower. Great, relaxing weekend!


Our wonderful stay at Longing for Home

5 on August 30, 2012

We found Longing for Home two years ago and fell in love. We have visited alot of bed and breakfast thru out the United States and at Longing For Home it is the only one that has been able to blend Old style with modern comfort. The owners Bill and Betty are welcoming and great company. It is comfortable, welcoming, stylish oh and I have to say they do have by far have the best food you will ever encounter at a bed and breakfast. Betty is a wonderful cook and there is always a surprize waiting for you when you come down to eat in the morning. The grounds are kept up and there is walking trails, swimming pool, jacuzzi, and great places to just sit in nature. I would recommend this bed and breakfast to everyone. You cannot go wrong.


B&B now stands for Bill & Betty!

5 on July 24, 2012

dh and I just spent a wonderful, relaxing weekend here in Simple Pleasures. The pictures do not do it justice! The home, rooms and setting are inviting and lovely. We spent time antiquing, sightseeing - Wheeler Lake, Wilson Dam, other nearby sites - but spent the majority of our time relaxing around the house. We enjoyed a night under the stars in the hot tub, hiked around the 15 acre spread and into Rogersville and indulged in the library of books and movies at our disposal. Between the quiet setting, luxurious sheets and the sleep number bed my slumber was the best I can remember! Now about the hosts-Bill & Betty (B&B of course! It was meant to be!) They are thoughtful, helpful and full of stories. (You can believe every single one that Bill tells you but only Betty knows the correct endings.) Not only do they put hard work into running the B&B but it's obvious they put their heart into it also. Their genuine warmth and positive energy had everyone feeling at home. As others have said, you leave there feeling that you have made new friends and want to return for a visit another day. Thanks so much for everything, Laurie & Mike


5 Star Retreat

5 on July 16, 2012

My husband and I just returned from our relaxing weekend getaway at Longing For Home. We found this gem through Living Social deals. We are veteran B&Bers and this place definitely tops the list! We stayed in the Simple Pleasures room and were greatly impressed with the Sleep Comfort bed and luxurious linens. The soaking tub in the bathroom was wonderfully relaxing. We also tried the steam shower which was heavenly! The 3 course breakfasts were delicious. I have never had "dessert" at breakfast before but Betty's were outstanding! We tried the recommended Chicken Salad at the Savanna Cafe bistro in downtown Rogersville. We understand how it could be ranked #1! Bill and Betty were perfect hosts. We enjoyed the breakfast conversations and felt like we had known them forever when we left. We highly recommend this beautiful B&B and thank the Maloneys for sharing their lovely home. The Peters


I'll Be Back!

5 on July 11, 2012

"Outstanding" falls far short of describing my experience at Longing for Home B&B. For a dream vacation or a short getaway, this is the place to go. Betty and Bill make you feel welcome and a part of their family the minute they meet you.


Ahh-Mazing B&B

5 on July 02, 2012

We had the most relaxing and wonderful stay. Bill and Betty were very informative - they had the answer to every question. We particularly enjoyed the breakfast FOOD and conversation. We are looking forward to our next visit because we will definitely be back!


40th Anniversary Trip

4.8 on July 02, 2012

Had a wonderful time at Longing for Home Bed and Breakfast. The surprise fishing trip they arranged for husband was great. The entire weekend was very relaxing and a much needed trip for both of us!


Aahh-Mazing B&B

5 on June 29, 2012

We had a wonderful visit!!! Bill & Betty provided a relaxing atmosphere, had interesting historical information, and knowledge of the area. When we asked where to... they had the answers. During our stay we enjoyed a very quiet and relaxing time. Indeed we felt BETTER than if we were at home with family. There are just no words for the attention to detail y'all provide. Thank you so much for the opportunity to share your property. We will be back soon!


Tour of Alabama

5 on June 04, 2012

My wife and I just completed a tour of Alabama. We stayed at B&B’s in Montgomery, Mobile and Rogersville (near Muscle Scholes). Longing for Home B&B is in a country setting and the grounds are quiet and peaceful. The Sunshine dreams room was a real treat for us and we enjoyed everything about this place including their great pool and deck. Bill and Betty are wonderful hosts and the breakfast was outstanding. I would totally recommend anyone wanting to do something different give this place a try. You absolutely cannot go wrong.


Great Get-Away

4.8 on May 29, 2012

We stayed on the sleeping porch, which was a lovely experience---kind of like camping, but in luxury (and electricity). It reminded me of sleeping on Granny's porch years ago. The only thing lacking would be a reading lamp, as the overhead light cast too many shadows for easy reading. The pool was crystal clear and inviting, the host genial, but not overbearing. We felt at home and look forward to a return vist. Oh, yes the steam shower.... wonderful!


what a place to get away!!

4.6 on May 26, 2012

My wife and I had an amazing time at Longing for Home B&B celebrating our 14th wedding anniversary!! It was such a peaceful and serene setting to spend quality time together..taking walks on the 15 acre property, reclining in the hammocks, and enjoying the amazing and beautiful comfort of our luxurious room!! Bill and Betty were amazing hosts, providing everything that we needed...from snacks to movies to coffee to toileteries...you name it, they thought of everything!! We especially enjoyed their storytelling (of life in Rogersville and their family as well) while we were enjoying our wonderful breakfasts!! If you are looking for a place to literally get away from it all and enjoy a peaceful and relaxing time..to reconnect with a special someone or getting closer to God by enjoying His creation...this place is for you!!


Great Get-away

5 on May 17, 2012

We went to visit for a weekend to get out of town and just enjoy each others company. From the minute we stepped into this B&B we felt very welcomed. This was our first experience at a B&B and at first we didn't know what to expect but Bill & Betty did all they could to make our stay pleasant. The room was very nice and there were delicious cupcakes waiting on a tray in our room. We enjoyed the hot tub at night and felt very welcomed into their place. The breakfast was phenomenal, three courses of delightful foods all creatively prepared by Betty. The stories by Bill were very entertaining and they were both very helpful in planning activities in the area during our stay. We very much enjoyed our stay here and if you are trying to get away from the everyday schedule and just enjoy some time together as a family, I definitely recommend their B&B.


Top B & B in Alabama!

5 on May 10, 2012

Our visit at Longing for Home could not have been better! This is definitly a Bed and Breakfast in Alabama that you do not want to miss. Not only is the hospitatlity and food second to none, the town of Rogersville and the surrounding towns were wonderful places to visit!


Southern Hospitatlity

5 on May 03, 2012

We were truly blessed to finally visit LFH after having to cancel it as a stop on our honeymoon two years ago. Everything is about people here, from the meals to the hosts' stories, to the walks, to the beauty and thoughtful arrangement of the rooms. Wonderful.


Very Relaxing and Peaceful Getaway

5 on March 22, 2012

My husband and I were looking to get away for just one peaceful and relaxing night, and we got what we were looking for at Longing For Home. The innkeepers were very friendly and hospitable. We stayed in the Sunshine Daydreams room, and the bathroom was very spacious. I loved that there was not a TV in the room, because it gave my husband and I a chance to just talk without any distractions. I think the inn would be a beautiful place for a wedding.


Our second stay was better than the first!

5 on December 23, 2011

It is difficult to believe, but my husband and I enjoyed ourselves even more this visit than the last. Bill and Betty are the best host and hostess one could ask/wish for! The intimate setting, the friendly welcome (which lasts throughout the stay) is amazing. One never wants to leave! We will be returning for our third visit in early summer. Can't wait!


amazing

5 on December 17, 2011

i loved the intamicy of the rooms.the coziness of the decor and the history of the diffrent peices of furniture.the owners bill and betty were very nice and personable and welcoming.we would recommend longing for home to anyone looking for a getaway!


A fabulous getaway!!

4.8 on October 12, 2011

My husband and I stayed in the Sunshine Daydreams room and it was terrific. Beautifully decorated, comfortable and cozy. The breakfasts were outstanding. They serve so much food that lunch wasn't really necessary. The innkeepers were very helpful and friendly and made our stay very pleasant. We will definitely return for future getaways!!


Wonderful Getaway...

5 on October 11, 2011

My husband and I decided to celebrate our time together during his leave from his tour over seas with a quiet getaway for just the two of us. Longing For Home was wonderful. It provided a peaceful and relaxful enviroment where we could enjoy each others company and reconnect after several months apart. The food was great and something to defiently try. Out host and hostess were very friendly and made us feel right at home. It is defiently a place where we would like to stay again in the future.


Wonderful hideaway to relax and enjoy ur self!

5 on October 10, 2011

My husband and I needed a quiet place to get away from all the stress and change in our lives since the April 27th tornado. Bill and Betty were wonderful hosts. They made u smile, listened and the food was out of this world!!! They also gave us plenty of space when we wanted to be alone. U will feel right at home, while staying in their.... Without all the daily hussell and bussell of everyday life!! Great experience! Highly recommend! ¿. Great area for shopping!


Wonderful last minute get away

5 on September 27, 2011

We had a wonderful last minute get away! The sleeping porch was amazing! Being able to relax without any concerns was amazing! Betty did a wonderful job with breakfast. I was quite impressed and Bill made us feel right at home!


Relaxing Weekend Getaway

5 on August 07, 2011

My husband and I just recently returned from a trip down to Rogersville, AL. We stayed in the Simple Peasures room, and it was by far the best experience we've ever had at a bed and breakfast. It was such a comfortable atmosphere, and Bill and Betty were truly hospitable. I would recommend this bed and breakfast to anyone! It truly was a wonderful experience, and we are looking forward to our next visit with them.


4th of July at Longing for Home

5 on July 10, 2011

My husband's family has a reunion each 4th of July. For 2 years now, he and I have stayed at Longing for Home while in the Rogersville area. We enjoyed it tremendously.


July 1 & 2, 2011

5 on July 08, 2011

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay. The home was beautiful and the hosts were very welcoming. The breakfasts prepared each day were delicious. We would highly recommend Longing for Home to anyone traveling through Alabama. Lee Anne Buchanan


AWESOME

5 on June 16, 2011

This is a wonderful place to stay. Quiet, peaceful and relaxing. Breakfast was delicious and their hospitality was more than I had expected.. Bill and Betty have the best Bed and Breakfast I have ever been to! Ken Liepins


Perfect start into our vacation

4.4 on June 10, 2011

My parents and I travelled the South starting with Huntsville. I found this little B&B a little outsinde of Huntsville and decided we give it a try on our way to Memphis. I couldn't have picked something better. Betty and Bill took amazing care of us and made the perfect start to the first visit of my parents in the US. Whoever looks for something unique, relaxing and just plain beautiful won't be disappointed by choosing Longing for Home. The breakfast Betty and Bill served as was fresh and delicious. It's definitely a place we would go again and again!


Perfect anniversary trip - first time at a B&B

4.8 on April 27, 2011

I wanted to surprise my wife for our anniversary and I thought we should check out a Bed and Breakfast. Longing for home was close to us and had outstanding reviews so we took a chance and I'm glad we did! Bill and Betty are wonderful hosts, owners, and friends. Everything was perfect and I recommend taking advantage of their event packages (romance, massage, etc) They pulled out all of the stops. Their house is well taken care of and it shows how much love and attention to detail has gone into it. I definitely recommend staying at Longing for home and I will use it as my example of what a B&B should be.


An excellant getaway!

4.6 on April 25, 2011

We recently stayed at Longing For Home BnB, and I could not have been more pleased. Every detail was attended to! The room was beautiful, immaculately clean, well decorated. We loved the hot tub under the stars, the in-room snacks were wonderful, as was the lavish breakfast. It was a great experience, and I can't wait to go back.


Nana and Stevie's trip

4.0 on April 22, 2011

My grandaughter and I stayed in the Country Grace Room with a old style claw tub it was great. I know that most Inn's are for couples, but this was a wonderful experience for both of us thanks to Betty and Bill.


Weekend away

4.6 on April 07, 2011

We spent Sat. night in the Sunshine Daydreams room. The room is large and the sleep number bed is very comfortable. We enjoyed the large private bathroom and the Jacuzzi. This is outside a small town on a road with little traffic, so it is very quiet. Breakfast was excellent, and the hosts are friendly and knowledgeable about the area.


Outstanding Bed and Breakfast

5 on April 04, 2011

We enjoyed our stay at your B and B and talking with the host and hostess and other guests. We were made to feel very welcome by your gracious hospitality. Excellent conversation about the area and the Civil War history. Thank you!


This is a great B&B!

4.8 on February 27, 2011

Our stay at Longing for Home was fantastic. We splurged and got the massage which was well worth the money. Our stay was over Valentine's weekend and we were greeted with a red rose, box of chocolates and sparkling grape juice in our room for no extra charge. We also went to Stanfield Steakhouse and the food was delicious and reasonable. The innkeepers are wonderful people that make you feel welcome and the breakfast was great!!!!


Thanks for making it feel like home.

5 on February 22, 2011

Thank you Bill and Betty for making us feel welcome.Everything was wonderful.I hope to come back in the near future.


Awsome

5 on January 20, 2011

Had a great time. This was our first time staying at a Bed and Breakfast and will be back to this one and looking for others to try in the future.


Absolutely wonderful

5 on January 05, 2011

My wife and I spent a day of our honey moon here... we absolutely loved it. The innkeepers were excellent. I would highly recommend this place.


Very nice Bed and Breakfast

5 on January 02, 2011

The Maloneys are a very nice couple, and when you stay with them, they treat you like a part of their home. The accomodations are top notch, as is the breakfast that they serve. My wife and I very much enjoyed our recent two night stay, and plan on coming back again.


Time away...

5 on November 17, 2010

My husband & I were in need of time away from home! What a wonderful spot we found at Longing for Home!!!! We like reading and they had so many different cozy spots to sit outside and enjoy being together reading our books or in his case his new Kindle. They had Adirondack chairs, lounge chairs, and some cool hammock type swings that I just loved!!! Also we have special dietary needs & Betty took care of them without any problems!!! Best host & hostess in the world...you will love Bill's crazy stories!!!


Longing for home is an EXCELLENT B&B!

5 on November 14, 2010

The Longing for Home B&B left us longing for it to be our home! Betty and Bill are gracious hosts and fantastic cooks! This wonderful place is tucked away in a small town that has a great steak house and isn't far from bigger cities with things to do. I would recommend it to anyone!


Great Place!!

4.6 on November 06, 2010

Great place. Very nice hosts. They took our picture before we left and emailed us a nice photo. They were also flexible with breakfast and brought it to our room.


By far the best B&B ever.

5 on October 29, 2010

Great food, intellectual conversation and an assortment of surprise amenities. The rooms are rich with history and extremely relaxing. Like sleeping at home; if not better.


A Perfect Stopover

5 on October 21, 2010

We were travelling from Indiana to Pensacola, FL and Longing for Home Bed and Breakfast was a wonderful stop about halfway to our destination. The setting is beautiful and quiet. The home was immaculate and Bill and Betty were the perfect hosts!! We enjoyed our conversation with them. They were interesting, funny, and very genuine. It was like talking with old friends! Breakfast was delicious...it was hard to leave! We would highly recommend a stay!!


Relaxing Home

5 on October 06, 2010

My husband and I have been to many B & B's and I do not hesitate in ranking this as one of the top. The innkeepers, Jim and Betty, are wonderful! Jim is a "hoot" telling his stories which are humorous and informative. The rooms are so nicely appointed and super duper clean. Breakfast was hearty and delicious. We loved the northwestern Alabama area. There is a lot to see and do. Definitely go and stay for longer than two days! Thanks for a wonderful time!


B&B Done Right

5 on September 29, 2010

This is by far the best B&B we have ever stayed in. Bill and Betty feel like family (the good side of the family). The breakfast was out of this world! We look forward to coming back soon.


Comfy, relaxing get away

4.6 on September 27, 2010

Bill and Betty made every effort to make sure we were comfortable during our stay. We enjoyed lounging on the porch and walking through the woods by the creek. Bill and Betty also have a great knowledge of the history of Rogersville and North Alabama and are a pleasure to stay with.


Delightful Innkeepers - Perfect Retreat!

5 on September 25, 2010

Lovely setting for this beautifully kept inn. Quiet and peaceful, yet plenty of laughs and companionable conversation with the innkeepers. Would certainly recommend it!


45th wedding celebration

4.4 on September 07, 2010

Upon arrival and not knowing what to expect we were immediately welcomed and within a few minutes we felt that Bill and Betty were old friends. They not only met our expectations but exceeded them. If we were longing for home, we sure felt like we were home and that is difficult to put a price on.


Wonderful Getaway in a Perfect Setting

4.6 on August 25, 2010

We were very impressed with the Longing for Home Bed and Breakfast. Betty and Bill were wonderful hosts and gave us the perfect balance of service and attention. The house was spotless in every room, even those that were not occupied for the night. The breakfast was both unique and filling. The only downside was the bathroom setup in some rooms. Our room had its own bathroom, but it was separated from the living area by a curtain. This would be fine for a couple, but might be a little too personal for friends staying together. I would definitely not let this stop us from returning. I would also recommend staying two nights as we just barely scratched the surface of both the grounds and the nearby town in one night.


A very enjoyable stay with a generous couple

4.0 on August 17, 2010

Mr. and Mrs. Maloney were kind and generous. The home afforded lots of privacy when walking the grounds for us to relax and enjoy the scenery. The room was absolutely beautiful and sleep number bed with those high count sheets were really comfortable. I think it is the first time we have ever been served breakfast in bed. The potato cheese grits were delicious!


Wonderful, relaxing B&B!

5 on August 11, 2010

My husband and I visited Longing for Home Bed and Breakfast to celebrate our first anniversary. We didn't really know what to expect, but the Maloneys were very welcoming and showed us around with humor and good will. The grounds are beautiful - we went on some short walking trails. There is also a pool and gift shop, which we didn't visit. Our room was lovely, very clean, and well-stocked. Breakfast was FANTASTIC. Betty really knows her stuff! :-)


Longing for home july 2010

4.6 on July 29, 2010

Bill and Betty were the perfect hosts. Our weekend was perfect, the food excellent, the accommodations unique. The dip in the pool made a hot July day bearable. We've already booked a return visit for Oct.


for all those seeking `The Olde South´

5 on July 07, 2010

One of the reasons for our trip was to experience the beauty of the `Old South´as captured in movies such as Forrest Gump. Our trip took us through various cities, but staying in Rogersville really made it for us. When ur only staying in run-of-the-mill motels, you miss a lot of what the South really is about: sitting on your porch in a swing or a rocking chair, watching fireflies descent into the sweet Alabama air whilst being taught lessons in Southern drawl and learning about the mindset of the lovely people here. This place has so much character, and Betty and Bill are the prefect hosts who spoil you with a great breakfast and - if you're lucky - homemade ice cream. Thanks for letting us experience the `Real South´ - highly recommended!!!!!


Fourth of July Weekend

5 on July 07, 2010

Could not have had better hosts in the Maloney's. Our stay was outstanding and exceeded all expectations. We will be back.


Longing for Home is Great

5 on July 02, 2010

We stayed at Longing for Home for our anniversary weekend. Betty and Bill are great hosts and go out of there way to make sure your needs are met. It was our second visit and we will be back again!!


A Great Place to Stay

4.6 on July 01, 2010

Stopped by for the weekend for a little getaway. The room was great, the place was beautiful, and the breakfast was amazing. The pool is quite large, and there are neat little gazebos and sitting areas outside. The massage package is definitely worth it. If you're feeling adventurous, you can even get your massage outside on the screened in porch listening to the wind blow or the rain fall. Bill and Betty are wonderful hosts, and this is definitely a place we'll visit again.


Just like home

5 on June 25, 2010

This is an outstanding place. Bill and Betty really play close attention to detail and make sure that you really do fell at home. There advice on shopping and places to eat was great and Bill's great stories started the morning off right. The breakfast was outstanding both mornings and the room was better than imagined. The property was very well kept and the swimming pool was outstanding. We will definitely be back and well tell others that for a very relaxing and enjoyable weekend to visit Bill and Betty at the Longing for Home Bed and Breakfast.


Two Thumbs Up!

4.0 on May 25, 2010

Longing for Home is a beautiful farm house style home with lovely landscaping and grounds. It is very peaceful and tranquil. A perfect place for relaxing. Pleasant homeowners - wonderful hospitality. A most delicious breakfast every morning - special requests are welcomed. Rooms were white glove approved - sleep number beds and luxury linens used. Highly recommend Longing for Home and looking forward to our next visit.


Simply the best!!!

5 on April 04, 2010

We stayed here on our second night in the US and assumed every night would be as good, but nothing came up to our evening at Longing for Home. Bill and Betty have made their home a perfect peaceful retreat. The whole setting is wonderful and the food is delicious. The attention to detail was second to none - it was simpy the best place ever. And the icing on the cake was Bill and Betty themselves - a delightful couple we would happily have as neighbours and friends. If we're ever in the US again, Longing for Home will be top of our list.


A Long Way from Home

4.4 on March 22, 2010

My wife and I are visiting from Australia and consider this B & B equal to the best we have stayed at in the US, and there have been many. Bill and Betty were perfect hosts, and Bill even has a sence of humour! We have no hesitation in recommending the innkeepers and this facility as a great place to relax and put on weight.


Weekend getaway

4.6 on December 15, 2009

My wife and I did a 3-day weekend getaway and stayed at the Longing For Home B&B. Our stay was for only one night, but Bill & Betty were excellent hosts. The bed was quite comfortable and all the accommodations were excellent. The service and atmosphere were first rate. I would recommend the Longing For Home B&B to anyone.


From Washington, DC, to Feeling Right at Home in Alabama

5 on December 04, 2009

Last month, I left Washington DC to spend four restful nights at the Longing for Home Bed and Breakfast in Rogersville, Alabama. While there, I enjoyed quite a few lazy wakeups and mornings spent sauntering down to the dining area, where I was greeted by Bill, Betty and a variety of unique breakfasts. As a native Alabamian, I was especially delighted on one of those days to find my childhood favorite, buttermilk biscuits with chocolate gravy waiting on the table. Waking up to the comforting smell of bacon sizzling brought back many a memory. I also discovered new favorites, such as Betty's warm, irresistible French Toast baked into a tasty casserole and the sheer bliss of muscadine jelly on fresh buttery croissants. (If you’re not familiar, Muscadine is a variety of grapes cultivated in the southern U.S.) When I arrived, I was halfway to my goal weight on the Weight Watchers plan, but I happily put that on hold for the few days I was there. I could barely make a dent in any of the hearty meals set before me, but I can surely attest that I left nothing untouched. During some of those mornings, I followed breakfast with a leisurely stroll down the wooded trail on the Maloney's grounds and enjoyed lounging in the nearby gazebo. The Maloneys are friendly, down-to-earth hosts whose kindness and grace made me feel less like a paying customer and more like a guest in a family home. This truly is the place to get away from your cares, and one of the best places to stay in Northern Alabama. As a member of the military, I also greatly appreciated the military discount I was given. If there were any regrets at all about my stay, it was only that I didn't stay longer and take the time to book a massage on the premises. I will always have fond memories of the Longing For Home bed and breakfast and would recommend it to anyone looking for quality accommodations in the area. Jennifer Sardam


A place of refuge

5 on November 08, 2009

Our weekend stay could not have been better. Bill & Betty were gracious hosts. We stayed in Sunshine Daydreams and found a wonderful, quiet place where we were able to escape for a couple of days. The bed was better than our bed at home and the breakfasts were delicious. Enjoyed walking through a quaint little town and driving through a beautiful state park. A Great Escape!


Loved It!

4.0 on November 03, 2009

we stay here on 10-31-09.it was so peaceful and relaxing.bill and betty are wonderful innkeepers.we stayed in the sunshine daydreams room.it was cozy and i enjoyed the fireplce.this was a great get away for us. mike & nancy


A Great Find

5 on June 04, 2009

We have been looking for a quite place about an hour out of Huntsville, Alabama for a much needed weekend getaway. Boy did we find the place. With a large pool, great decks and walking trails on its 15 acers, Longing For Home is absolutly beautiful. The rooms are great, the bed (Select Compfort) was wonderful and the breakfast the best we have had in a long, long time. We'll be back!!


Longing For Home Bed and Breakfast

Details

  • Nightly Rate $95 - $160
  • Reviews (85) 4.8
  • Rooms 3
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-2562470261
  • Mobile 1-2562743006
Top