Fort Conde Inn Reviews

Overall
4.7

View details

  • Guest room4.8
  • Services4.7
  • Value4.6
  • Cleanliness4.9
  • Dining4.8

Score Breakdown based on
131 Reviews

Write A Review

First bed and breakfast stay.

5 on July 05, 2014

The hosts where friendly, quick to answer questions. The experience make me want to stay at more bed and breakfast locations. I enjoyed this stay in Mobile, it was near some good attractions.


A definite recommend and return!

5 on June 12, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The entire staff was very friendly and helpful. Robbie is a wonderful chef and created a scrumptious breakfast. The Inn is beautiful and we highly recommend it.


Fort Conde is 5 star

5 on May 30, 2014

The room was excellent the inn is beautiful and the breakfast is Deliscious


a great visit

4.8 on May 30, 2014

Our first time in Mobile and we loved it despite the rain! Our stay at the Inn was short but sweet. We liked the attention we received before and at our arrival. Rooms were decorated nicely and had everything we needed. We especially liked the umbrellas by the front door- very handy!. Breakfast the next morning was amazing! So many choices and all very tasty. We felt like we had our own private chef. we would love to come back and enjoy more of the city and the Fort Conde Inn


short visit

3.8 on May 27, 2014

The breakfast was outstanding. Food and sevice were the best.


Heavenly

5 on May 12, 2014

Conde Inn is beautiful, with luxurious linens and bath - but more importantly, the staff was simply the most pleasant, bright and acccommodating I've met in years. I was there for business, came in quite late with no luggage, and somehow they made the trip a pleasant experience. Breakfast is superb - written up in Southern Living and you'll see why once the Executive Chef serves you - if you're ever in Mobile, I highly recommend this Inn, it truly is lovely


One night stay treated like long time friends

5 on May 07, 2014

Mike Thomas Amarillo TX


Amazing Breakfast!

4.8 on March 31, 2014

First off we were upgraded without having to pay extra. Within walking distance to downtown. Great breakfast in the morning. Service and Housekeeping is personal. I would recommend the Fort Conde Inn to anyone wishing to stay in the Mobile area.


Lovely Experience

5 on March 06, 2014

A beautiful historic home as we expected; charming details intact and sitting among a group of restored & in progress houses and gardens next to Ft. Conde'--so interesting; the assistant manager was very helpful with information, though she was a recent Savannah transplant, and was cheerful when we roused her out of the shower to help us with the front door lock after returning from a late dinner! The breakfast chef was not only a charmer but excellent at his craft! We enjoyed coffee on the wide front porch AND the upper balcony.


stay at Fort Conde Inn

5 on March 01, 2014

We loved everything about our stay at the Inn


Fort Conde Inn

4.8 on February 19, 2014

Great southern flair. Service was excellent


Beautiful B and B

5 on January 12, 2014

Fort Conde Inn was the perfect get away for me and my husband. Top of the line products, food, and service. We cannot wait to come back.


Great stay

4.2 on January 07, 2014

Lovely, historic inn in Mobile! Robbie's breakfast was exceptional! So much better than the average hotel/motel stay.


The Best Place to Stay in Mobile

5 on January 06, 2014

My wife and I booked through this site as a stop over on a Christmas road trip along the gulf. We were really impressed upon arrival. This place was beyond our expectations. We wished that we stayed in town even longer. The staff is super friendly. It's within walking distance to all the downtown shops and restaurants. The rooms are exquisite. And the chef whipped us up a fantastic breakfast. It was a steal for the price - I actually would have paid more out of guilt.


One Night Stay

4.4 on December 17, 2013

Great room done to period. Beautifully redone home on a unique street. Would return again when we are in Mobil.


Spotless, accommodating and most charming.

4.4 on November 28, 2013

We loved our spacious, comfortable and attractive room. we arrived late and although our host was not at the Inn he was accessible by telephone and helped us plan an evening of dining etc. We must say that breakfast was great and our chef/ server (David from Maine, I believe) was new to his position that morning ........was très charment and we hope to see him next visit.


Nov 2013

4.6 on November 24, 2013

Floor was dirty left dirt on feet and socks, otherwise outstanding


Lovely restoration but hands off ... And loud

3.2 on November 16, 2013

We booked far in advance with the intent of staying in the main house. We were informed just before arrival that a wedding would be held that evening and, though not directly mentioned after speaking with other guests the next morning at breakfast we learned that wedding guests were in the main house so we had been moved (and upgraded) to another building and suite. In the confusion of the wedding setup, an event manager gave us our room key but we never did meet the inn keeper the entire time of our stay. The room was lovely. However one of the things we enjoy most about B&B stays is bumping into other guests and swapping info about places to eat and things to see. We missed this aspect being in another building. The entire property is located very close to the highway and train tracks. While the highway noise is not as much a factor during the night, trains blowing the whistle every 30 minutes are a bother. So we were very comfortable laying in the bed full of luxury linens but exhausted after two nights of sparse sleep. Bottom line if you don't mind trains this is a really nice place to stay but if you want sleep consider something much farther away from the tracks and highway.


Beautiful and gorgeous B&B

5 on October 27, 2013

We loved staying at Forte Conde Inn. Everything was great!!! We will be back soon and have told all our friends and family. The service and food were excellent.


B & B perfection

5 on October 15, 2013

Ft. Conde Inn is a beautifully appointed, upscale, historic B & B. It was full of Southern charm and in walking distance of downtown Mobile's restaurants and boutiques. Everything was perfect.


Business Trip

4.4 on October 08, 2013

Excellent property. Such a great experience. Alan was great!! I would definitely stay here again AND recommend it to anyone looking for a great experience in a historic home.


A wonderful experience!

4.8 on September 23, 2013

Breakfast was delicious!


relaxing and beautiful b&b with fabulous breakfasts

4.4 on September 15, 2013

beautiful b&b and fabulous breakfast by chef robbie!! only negative was loud airconditioning unit and train traffic-yikes, but overall a delightful experience, great location and the staff was very helpful and friendly!


Very enjoyable stay!

4.0 on September 01, 2013

We stayed at this B&B from Thursday till Saturday. We enjoyed the location and the room very much. The bathroom and the breakfast we fabulous! The chef was professional and created your choice of several delicious breakfast meals that kept us full until well after lunch! We will stop their again for sure. Les & Susan Brown, Tomball, Texas


Magnificent

5 on August 31, 2013

Enjoyed the wonderful restoration of homes from a bygone era! On our 50th wedding anniversary this was the place to be.


Excellent bed and breakfast

5 on August 28, 2013

One of the best bed and breakfast I have ever stayed. Chef Robbie makes absolutely the best and most amazing breakfast.


Will be back for more visits!!!

5 on August 27, 2013

Found this site on Google and decided to try it. Great choice. Will be back again.


Saturday in mobile

4.4 on August 15, 2013

One night stay enroute to the. Beach


An Excellent get away right in the heart of Mobile

4.8 on August 09, 2013

We live in Gulf Breeze about an hour away. Even though we were right around the interstate, it did not feel like we were in the heart of Mobile. It was nice and quiet. Everyone was friendly and inviting. Rich history can be found.


MEGA Group

5 on August 03, 2013

Everything was stellar. We had a fabulous stay. I have purchased some verbena soap because I fell in love with the scent after my stay.


Absolutely loved this charming B&B!

5 on July 30, 2013

We spent three nights here for our anniversary and absolutely loved it! The property is every bit as beautiful as pictured online, and it's conveniently located to downtown and I-10. The breakfast was everything we hoped for, with gourmet offerings from Chef Robbie including Seafood Eggs Benedict, Bananas Foster French Toast, made-to-order omelets and fresh fruit/pastries. (Everything we tried was amazing!) We stayed in one of the Carriage House rooms on the 2nd floor, and although the Carriage House rooms are a little smaller than the rooms in the main house, they do have a kitchenette and offer a great value for the price. Next time we will probably go with a king size room in the main house just to have a bit more room, but we were very happy with our experience. We will definitely be back to visit again!


A wonderful place to stay in Mobile!

5 on July 30, 2013

This was a fabulous find! The rooms are very elegant, comfortable and have very nice amenities. The bed was amazingly comfortable and welcoming! I enjoyed relaxing in the courtyard with a glass of wine in the evening and it was a great place to experience the great breakfast served as part of the stay. The location was nice as well...quiet and within a very short walk of some of Mobile's most alluring attractions. Oh, did I mention how fabulous the breakfast was?


Sublime

5 on July 30, 2013

I made a last minute reservation for business travel. The rates here were less than my usual downtown hotel so I thought I'd give them a try. I am so glad I did! The inn is beautiful and the staff went out of their way to make sure I felt very welcomed. The breakfast was unbelievable and the chef was extremely accommodating. I can't think of a single thing that could have been improved. I'm trying to plan another business trip just so I can stay there again!


Revisit my boyhood hometown

4.6 on July 30, 2013

Fort Conde Inn was warm, welcoming and professional. Grew up in Mobile and knew the neiborhood as one where I was out of place in the 50's and 60's. No hint of past resentment and only smart, energetic people present. Even the other guests were friendly and open at breakfast. Our own personal chef by the way. Our stay was comfortable, carefree and tranquil. Fort Conde Inn will be my first choice when visiting Mobile in the future. Only small area of concern, pillows were a little flat.


Wonderful breakfast

4.8 on July 25, 2013

We had a wonderful time here; the suite was lovely and the breakfast absolutely superb. We will definitely return!


Wow, the food (in a good way)

5 on July 24, 2013

We got a nice room (Margaret), and it was pricey for us but totally worth it. It had the tub in the pictures, and it was as good as (or better than) it looked. Beds were comfortable, and everything was clean and professional. Loved the guy who showed us to our rooms, and the chef was amazing. We are definitely hoping to come here again soon.


My kind of place!

5 on July 22, 2013

Karen from Headland, AL


Exceptional

5 on July 14, 2013

Exceptional details in everything! Certainly not the run of the mill industrialized hotel system. My room was an oasis away from home. Guests staying here will receive VIP service. Pricing is reasonable for the accommodations provided for the quest. Everything spotless! Dining: Well, let me tell you that Chef Robbie will serve breakfast to your liking with gourmet results-- no extra cost to your stay. SJBailey


what a nice place to stay!

4.8 on July 04, 2013

Fort Conde Inn was a pleaseant surprise in Mobile! It was an extremely cute southern bed and breakfast with the nicest staff! Breakfast was amazing and I felt right at home! I hope to come back!!


Excellent Bed&Breakfast

4.4 on June 30, 2013

We stayed for 3 days to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. It was lovely. All the staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was everything promised. We will definitely return.


Hidden Gem

5 on June 22, 2013

This is a jewel of an inn, tucked away in a small historic area of Mobile that is being renovated in prime style. My bathroom was a big as the bedroom and astonishing. The breakfasts are gourmet quality with choices ranging from eggs benedict to bananas foster french toast. I was most pleased and would go back.


An unexpected gem!

5 on June 04, 2013

I wish we weren't just passing through to another destination. I could have stayed here for quite awhile. It was a pleasure from start to finish in the dining room, where we had a delicious made to order southern breakfast.. Also very affordable. Including our delicious breakfast, it came out less expensive than a big name hotel...and so much more enjoyable. Stay here. You won't be sorry.


Awesome stay!

5 on May 31, 2013

We stayed in one of the King bed suites on the second floor. The hotel was absolutely beauitful! We liked the furniture, chandeliers, wood floors, all the really nice trim, attention to luxurious details, relaxed atmosphere in the private neighborhood, it being directly adjacent to downtown and easily accessible, the incredible breakfast, our very nice and helpful hosts, I could go on and on. Highly recommended!


A Treasure

4.0 on May 31, 2013

We have stayed in many bed and breakfast homes. This was one of the best. Very helpful and friendly staff. Loved the restoration of the area. It was so "tucked away" that we had difficulty finding it, but it was worth the treasure hunt. Thanks for a memorable stay!


Well done

4.8 on May 24, 2013

After reading in Southern Living, we decided to give Fort Conde Inn in Mobile a try on our way to Texas. It was an experience in itself. We shared a cottage (a house actually) with our daughter and son-in-law. Well worth the stay and were entertained by the chef at breakfast the next morning. Now my girlfriends are anxious to have a girls trip next spring.


Looking Forward to Visiting Again

4.6 on May 17, 2013

Wonderful relaxing stay! Great attention to detail from the staff! Highly recommend!


Fort Conde Inn, Mobile, Alabama

3.6 on May 06, 2013

My one night stay at the Fort Conde Inn was very pleasant. The room was quite comfortable, and the breakfast was very good, with creative entrees. I like being able to choose among several options offered by the chef.


Excellent accommodations in a great location

5 on May 04, 2013

We found the Fort Conde Inn on line and made a reservation for the next evening. Almost immediately the manager called us, greeted us warmly and asked if we had any special requests. When we arrived we felt very welcome and the atmosphere was so relaxing...you can leave all your stress outside on the porch. The accommodations were great (walls very sound proof), jetted tub heavenly, and the breakfasts were divine. The location was a bonus, right next to the Visitors Center and easy access to all the local sea food places on the causeway. The manager joined us for wine and a chat in the evening. It was so good we stayed another night!


2 Thumbs up for Stay at Fort Conde Inn

5 on May 03, 2013

Great stay. Delightful. recommend highly. Jack and Julia Wickes


Great Place for Extended Family!

5 on May 01, 2013

My son was recenty married in Mobile, Alabama. As our family is not from there, my future daughter-in-law told me as soon as the date was set that she would love for our family to stay at Fort Conde Inn. On my next visit to the Gulf Coast I made a special trip to Mobile to look at it and was sufficiently impressed to book all of the rooms for Friday and Saturday of the wedding weekend and I am so glad I did. We have family from both the east and west coasts as well as North Alabama and Tennessee. We are only able to get together every other year for a beach trip to Gulf Shores, Alabama, and now for weddings and funerals. It was wonderful to have the parlors, dining room and courtyard all to ourselves Saturday and Sunday morning to be able to gather, sit and talk, and have a birthday party for our youngest family member, a one year old, on the morning of the wedding. Everything was spotlessly clean and well maintained, the suites, the common areas, and the grounds. The beds were so comfortable, the bath products so luxurious, and breakfast was fabulous! There are individual Keurig coffee makers in every room but also a larger one in the dining room which makes the best coffee! The inn is conveniently located to many of Mobile's biggest attractions but unfortunately most of us didn't have enough time to appreciate them. We could see the Carnival Triumph where it is moored in the bay being repaired. At least we saw something we could write home about! Alan, Robbie the che, f and the housekeeping staff were all so nice and accomodating, even when we needed an extra key to one of the rooms around midnight Saturday night! Some family members arrived Thursday night and so we shared breakfast Friday morning with other guests and it was fun to chat with people from other parts of the country. I highly recommend Fort Conde Inn for business travelers, couples, families and extended families.


Mobile luxury

5 on May 01, 2013

Uniquely beautiful location; the proprietors' own or operate all of the historic buildings within the street. Fully equipped, delightful rooms in a quiet location just a stone's throw from central Mobile. Breakfasts are excellent with each individually prepared to order.


Lovely B&B tucked away

4.4 on April 17, 2013

Great service, Good food, Beautiful presentation of house and rooms. Felt safe staying as a single woman. Will definitely stay again next time I am in Mobile.


Alabama History In Mobile Alabama

5 on April 11, 2013

we had a wonderful stay in the Blakely cottage the staff was beyond wonderful and accommodating . The place was so clean and peaceful . My son had a wonderful time and we all felt right at home.Robbie makes the most wonderful breakfast you have ever ate. Alan was wonderful bless his heart he had a tooth ake and still went out of his way for us he even had to be our night and shinning armor one late afternoon because we missed the moda . Matt was also wonderful his flowers were so pretty and he was so full of history and he really helped us out . we even got to meet Larry who was also wonderful to meet Ohh I almost forgot my sons fav employee was Lizzie he had to go see her every morn and evening. We will def be going back sometime. The inn just makes you forget all your outside worries .It is very relaxing. we just had a ball.


Great R & R Place

4.8 on April 10, 2013

Great Central Location with so much nostalgia. Extremely friendly staff. Everyone staying there was friendly and helpful. We also enjoyed breakfast and meeting people from other areas. You can walk to a couple of nice restaurants. We also enjoyed just sitting on the front porch at night in the peaceful neighborhood sipping wine and listening to soft music. Would definitely recommend for anyone looking for a bit of history, somewhere close to Bellingrath, and if you need some relaxation.


Simply the best b & b ever.

5 on April 08, 2013

Welcoming service. Room beyond wonderful. Fabulous breakfast.


Historic Mobile, AL boutique B&B

5 on April 08, 2013

This is a beautifully restored circa 1834 home in the historic district of Mobile, Al. Our room had top of the line period correct furnishings with modern amenities like a jacuzzi tub, flat screen TV and wifi. The staff was very helpful and the breakfast was always prepared to order by one of Mobile's top chefs. The inn is on a side street a block away from Fort Conde and the Mobile visitors center. For about the same price you'd pay to stay in a chain hotel you can stay in this historic inn.


Very disappointing stay

1.8 on April 07, 2013

After waiting 15 minutes for someone to come to the main area and greet us, we finally called the Inn telephone...after a very quick greeting and a trip to our room, we were left with a very cold, unwanted welcome. As in the room disc riptide, there were 2 fireplaces - however they were non working which was not stated. There were several non working and missing items in the room. There was to be a private balcony off the bathroom - however it did not state you had to state that you had to open a 10foot old window and climb out of it to the patio. No way to open than to out your hands under the window and slide it up. Quite difficult for 2 people that are 65 and 70 yrs of age! The bright spot of the Inn is the Chef who prepare a lovely filling breakfast. The Inn keepers did not appear and did not express their thanks for you spending the evening and your money at Fort Conde Inn. Needless to say we won't return nor will we send anyone to stay at the Inn. All in all, extremely disappointing. P.S. Please let them know the duvet desperately needed cleaning from a previous guest. That is not acceptable!


Mobile, AL

5 on April 06, 2013

The inn has been restored beautifully. Staff were efficient and very pleasant. Accommodation was clean and had excellent amenities. Bath towels very luxurious! Breakfast was excellent prepared by the chef. Wide range of choice and he was willing to make every accommodation for special diets etc. An enjoyable and memorable stay. We will be back!


Great Stary

5 on April 03, 2013

Would recommend staying at your B&B to anyone visiting Mobile


So good!

4.8 on March 22, 2013

Absolutely LOVED the place.


Treat Yourself to Luxury

5 on March 10, 2013

I saw a brochure for the inn at the Fort Conde Welcome Center. The person at the Welcome Center called the inn to arrange for us to check it out. We were looking for a place to stay and were tired of hotels. We toured several rooms and the owner shared the history and restoration with us. This inn has history and charm, including luxurious bath robes, comfortable surroundings, and awesome breakfast. We stayed in the Carriage House, relaxed in the parlor, and enjoyed walking around the neighborhood. Chef Robbie prepares a delicious made to order breakfast. This was definitely a treat. We hope to return some day.


Wonderful stay

5 on March 07, 2013

Beautiful room -- fantastic breakfast - the cleanest inn, we have ever stayed at!!!! Easy walk to downtown - engaging owner!!!


Pleasant Inn in Mobile

4.8 on March 05, 2013

Had a pleasant stay in Mobile that was made very enjoyable due to the Fort Conde Inn. We stayed in Sara's Room and found the bed very comfortable. It was an extra nice bonus to have a jacuzzi bathtub and it was put to use each day after exploring Mobile. The breakfasts were to die for and would like to go back to Mobile just to have a chance to have another breakfast at the Fort Conde Inn.


Weekend with the parents....

5 on March 04, 2013

Fantastic home, exceptionally clean, food was awesome and the people could not have been more accommodating! We had a great weekend with our parents. Would recommend and are planning to return for another get away weekend!!....this time without the parents!!!


great B&B

4.0 on February 20, 2013

Everything was great. The service was excellent.


Good B&B

3.8 on February 18, 2013

The B&B is in a cute little part of Mobile. Our room was really nice and all that was promised from the website. The manager was there when we checked in but we didn't see much of him after that. The brightest part of the spot was the breakfast. The chef, Robbie, was incredibly engaging, made great breakfast and made the B&B experience worth it. 5 Star breakfast, 4 star B&B.


Wonderful place to visit

4.6 on February 11, 2013

Had a wonderful stay at the Inn. Robby the chef is AMAZING. Every morning we were more than delighted with his cooking skills. Although the house, room was very comfortable and good location the price is hefty for a weekend getaway.


Stayed there for a Mardi Gras Ball

5 on February 10, 2013

Wonderful place to stay!!! We liked it so much we are already booked again for the same night next year!! Just an all around great experience!! - Gale


Mobile 2013

5 on February 08, 2013

Excellent location for downtown events. The rooms are nicely decorated and clean. Staff was very helpful, friendly and wanted to make sure each guest had a good time. Breakfast was excellent, compliments to the chef! Breakfast consisted on fresh fruit, tasty spoon biscuits, lemon poppy seed muffins and your choice of 4 different entrees. Plenty of free parking on the streets adjacent to the inn. Definitely plan to revisit in the future.


Weekend in Mobile

5 on February 07, 2013

We stayed in the Spear-Barter Executive Suite, which was really nice. We basically had the whole building to ourselves. So it was quiet and we had great views of downtown area, including the Mardis Gras parade that was on that weekend. We had a short walk to Dauphin St. to grab a bite to eat and walk around! Breakfast was great! Had to leave early the next day and we were able to get some muffins "to go!" Really recommend this place and we will definitely be back!!! Thank you to the team at Fort Conde Inn!


Great place to stay

4.8 on February 07, 2013

Wonderful place


Best decision I made...

5 on February 04, 2013

My husband is in a mardi gras organization and we like to stay downtown on the night he parades. I waited too late to start looking for a room and found most places were sold out or the rooms were way overpriced for the property. I saw a post on Facebook announcing that the Fort Conde Inn had some rooms available for the night I needed. I called, booked right then and it was the best decision I could have made. After booking, I went online to check out the inn and instantly fell in love with what I saw. The owners of the Fort Conde Inn did an excellent job restoring this home back to the gem it was many years ago. Our room was absolutely gorgeous, the bed was very comfortable and I loved having a whirlpool tub. I only wish we cold have stayed longer. This was our first time staying at a bed and breakfast so we were a little lost when we went down to breakfast but quickly adapted and our breakfast was absolutely delicious. This inn is the real deal and I am telling everyone I know how much we enjoyed our stay. We will definitely return again next year for mardi gras. Thank you so much to everyone that made our stay an absolute delight!


We'll be back

5 on January 28, 2013

I've been coming to Mobile for 14 years and this is by far and away the nicest place I have stayed in. We rented a 3 bedroom cottage that was ample space for 3 adults and gave us room to host meetings. The beds were extremely comfortable and the furnishings were first class. The two bathrooms had spacious showers and had excellent supplies. Breakfast was outstanding each day and all service was impeccable. It is also conveniently located to downtown and we were able to walk to everywhere we needed to be. We will definitely be back!


A great getaway!

4.6 on January 11, 2013

My gf and I live about 7 minutes away from the bed and breakfast, and we wanted to do something a little different on Christmas Eve. We decided to find something locally and so glad we stayed at Fort Conde Inn! Great staff, room, everything!!! We will definitely be back!


Southern Hospitality at its best

5 on January 01, 2013

My husband and I stayed overnight on our way back home to South Carolina. We felt so pampered and cared for. The complimentary gourmet breakfast in the morning was lovingly prepared and delicious! The Inn is walking distance to many local attractions and is conveniently situated near the highway. When we are back in Mobile, this will be the place we stay.


One Word-AMAZING!

5 on December 27, 2012

I wanted to take my parents somewhere nice for their 27th wedding anniversary and I could not have picked a better place! From the moment we walked in the door it was nothing but the best. Great service, great room, and an amazing breakfast! I cannot wait to stay again and will recommend this place to everyone! Literally, the best experience I have ever had with any hotel/ bed and breakfast. I cannot say enough good things or describe it to its potential. You must see for yourself!


All outstanding.

5 on December 22, 2012

Impeccably well-kept (while being completely comfortable and homey) and gorgeous inn. We were on an eleven-day roadtrip across country, and this was by far our best night's stay. In fact, we regretted that we only had one night--and plan to return. Five stars across the board, handily.


Wonderful Stay

5 on November 30, 2012

Our stay at Fort Conde Inn was absolutely great! The Antunez House is gorgeous. We had the house to ourselves because we traveled during the week. Very good restaurants and museums within walking distance. I can't say enough about how accommodating Alan and the staff were. I wasn't feeling well one day and Alan checked on me and asked if he could get me anything. Hats off to the chef too because breakfast was awesome! We will definitely be going back.


Birthday and Thanksgiving Celebration 2012

5 on November 28, 2012

In looking for a get-away for Thanksgiving 2012, I chased links to find Ft. Conde Inn in Mobile, AL. I booked nearly 2 months in advance. Upon arriving we were delighted to find this totally restored circa 1836 antebellum home as our destination. It is beautifully decorated and the rooms are so tastefully adorned. The staff was gracious in caring for us, and breakfast chef offered several suggestions for our morning sustenance, all of which was very yummy! I highly recommend this bed and breakfast. - The location is great for downtown Mobile eating and sight-seeing, and the George C. Wallace Tunnel will have you across Mobile Bay in no time for more vacation fun.


One of the best surprises I've had in a long time!!!

5 on November 15, 2012

My husband and I stumbled across this amazing place by accident while looking for a quick overnight stay in Mobile. What a surprise!!! The accomodations were outstanding! We were passing through after our honeymoon and they even upgraded us to a King Room! My husband and I have many food allergies yet they were quick to say that's no problem. This is going to be one of those places we return to over and over again!


Weekend Trip

5 on November 15, 2012

Absolutely wonderful place, it was a charming and gorgeous setting. Staff was helpful and friendly. Food was plentiful and outstanding. A real delight! Would visit again!!!


Great B&B

5 on November 14, 2012

Great location to see downtown Mobil or head across the bay. The place itself is beautiful, nicely outfitted, and very well staffed. The views around the property, though, are amazing. Mobile is a cool town to bum around in for a weekend and this is the place to launch from.


Always exceeds expectations!!

5 on November 12, 2012

We have made fort Conde a birthday tradition for my husband. This year, we stayed in the Antunez House such a beautiful piece of this luxury property. Alan helped me make our stay even more special, there was a dozen red roses and a bottle of wine waiting in the room when we arrived. We took a very romantic, evenning horse drawn carriage ride around downtown Mobile. The inn also provided passes to see some of Mobile's local attractions. Chef Jeramey always wows our taste buds and satisfies our appetite. Fort Conde Inn is a jewel in the heart of downtown Mobile that won't be outshined. See you next year!!!


Wish I had stayed longer

5 on November 10, 2012

A fabulous B&B jewel in the south. Don't go to Mobile and stay anywhere else.


What a wonderful place!

5 on October 30, 2012

I had the most wonderful weekend at the Fort Conde Inn. The staff could not have been nicer or more accommodating. You will never sleep in a more comfortable bed!


highly recommended

5 on October 30, 2012

beautiful properties; very clean; extremely friendly and helpful staff; great breakfast; we had a really fantastic stay at the fort conde and other guests we spoke to had the same great experience


First Class

5 on October 27, 2012

Our experience at the Ft Conde Inn surpassed every expectation we could've had in spending a romantic getaway with each other. As soon as I pulled up to the property I was amazed at it's beauty and charm. So quiet and peaceful, one would never guess you were nestled in the heart of the city. Matthew checked us into our room, he is a wonderful gentleman who was extremely knowledgeable about area and gave us a very interesting history of the property and suggestions of what to do for the evening in Mobile. I had reserved the Spears Barter suite, it was huge with a sitting room, large bedroom and bathroom that had doors opening up to a balcony. Elegantly decorated with crisp fresh linens on the bed and their own complimentary wine along with glasses to enjoy. I felt like it could not get any better than this! We actually had an entire home to ourselves, we were in total heaven with all the privacy in the world. We couldn't believe how amazing this place was, a true hidden gem! When we woke up we headed down to the main house for breakfast. There was a large wedding party that was gathered in the main house, Chef Jeremy came to us and and asked if we'd feel more comfortable dining in private. He asked us what we'd like for him to cook us and he said he'd be right over with our breakfast. We grabbed some coffee and headed back to where we were staying, pulled two chairs out onto the balcony and enjoyed the beautiful morning together. Jeremy then came with our delicious meal. My boyfriend and I were so pleased with everything about this magical place and we cannot wait to experience it again!


Best End to a Wedding Day

5 on October 22, 2012

The staff was so friendly. The room was amazing. The breakfast was excellent!


Great stay, wonderful atmosphere!

5 on October 22, 2012

The Fort Conde Inn exceeded my expectations! Wonderful, helpful staff; delicious breakfast each morning; luxurious accommodations; and peaceful village area. My husband and I plan on visiting again as soon as possible! Highly recommend for anyone wanting a weekend getaway or just a night stay passing through town.


Nice

4.8 on October 20, 2012

Very nice, unique place to stay. My wife and I spent a day here on our way through. Would highly recommend it to anyone wanting a nice B&B feel with the professionalism of a place that caters to a business traveler too.


Best B/B Ever !!

5 on October 18, 2012

You will not find a nicer place to stay anywhere hands down. We stayed in a king room upstairs in the Inn and our rm. was superb in everyway. Chef Jeromy fixed us a wonderful breakfast. I had the southern omlett and it was the best I ever had. What a great value in everyway, I would drive out of my way to stay here again.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for such a nice review. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We try to go above and beyond to meet each and every one of our guests expectations. Thank you again for staying at Fort Conde Inn.


Unexpected gem!

4.8 on October 15, 2012

The inn is located in a small village kinda under the interstates. It was a tremendous find. There was an internet special and we got upgraded to a room with a whirlpool tub once we got there. The owner is in the process of restoring other properties in the "village". It is within walking distance of Fort Conde and eating places downtown. Although this is an old house, it has been glutted and there is no "old house smell" that is a hindrance if you have allergies. Ours had a queen bed and hardwood floors. There were robes and toiletries provided, thermostat heating and air in our room, and a garden area. Alan, the manager, was above and beyond in his hostessing. A tasty breakfast was made to order by a very pleasant, accommodating chef. There were parlors for sitting and a wonderful marble tiled front porch. Would stay here again.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for this wonderful review. It is travelers like you that really help to show the rest of the world how nice a B&B can really be. We strive for excellence with each and every guest that stays with us. Please tell your friends and family about Fort Conde Inn and invite them to stay with us if ever in the area. Thank you again.


Exceptional stay

5 on October 14, 2012

It was a great experience and we highly recommend it. The stayed in one of the carriage house rooms which was nicely appointed with all of the amenities one would expect. The staff was knowledgeable of the area and offered to help with dinner reservations and took great care of us. The breakfast was superb and made to order. We highly recommend it and will stay again.

Innkeeper Response
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. The breakfast is one of our many guests favorite thing about Fort Conde Inn. Our staff goes above and beyond to make sure each guest is taken care of. It looks like you got that treatment. Thank you again for staying at Fort Conde Inn.


October

4.4 on October 12, 2012

Room and service were great. Manager waited late for us to arrive and checked us in. Breakfast was awesome.


Great find in downtown Mobile!

4.2 on October 08, 2012

The Fort Conde Inn is tucked away in the Fort Conde Village, which is a historic "island" in downtown Mobile. The house is gorgeous and if you are trying to just get away, it is a lovely place. Breakfast was delicious and made to order. The rooms were beautiful. Only two minor issues diminished from the service. First, the manager is often no where to be found. The only way I seemed to be able to get a hold of him was by cell phone. He was very attentive when I did call him that way, but I guess I am used to having someone in the house most of the time. Perhaps this is a trend with the advent of technology. Second, the Inn is located right next to the siren that warns the county about tornados or hurricanes. It went off on Sunday and none of the guests knew what to do and again the manager was no where to be found, even by phone. Luckily it was only a test. But a warning in the materials in the room would have been nice. Overall, though, a great stay!


Hospitable and very charming B&B experience.

5 on September 12, 2012

Casual elegance and Mr. Waugh's personal attention to hospitality made for a relaxing, weloming experience.


A truly delightful and charming place - quite perfect!

5 on September 04, 2012

We initially booked one night at Fort Conde Inn but, following our warm greeting upon arrival and seeing the exquisite, beautifully presented room, we immediately booked a second night. Fort Conde Inn is unlike any hotel we have stayed in before. From the L'Occitane toiletries to the royal breakfasts to the luxurious white robes, the attention to detail went above and beyond expectations. I would highly recommend Forte Conde Inn for a spectacular stay.


Excellent bed and breakfast!!

4.8 on August 28, 2012

The Conde Inn is amazing. It was very clean and the service was excellent. Alan and David are terrific hosts and we plan on staying here again if we are in the area!


Must Stay

5 on August 24, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this wonderful B&B. The rooms were well appointed, the breakfast was wonderful and it was well located near downtown all within walking distance. I would highly recommend this location for a good nights sleep.


Fabulous!

5 on August 23, 2012

If I could give the Inn 6 stars I would. The rooms are beautiful and extremely charming. The bath had whirlpool jets and L'Occitane En Provence bath salts (all of the bath products are the same brand, one of my faves!). No detail was overlooked, the staff was incredibly friendly and helpful, and the breakfast was delicious! They also have wonderful plush robes in the rooms. If we are ever in Mobile again we will not hesitate to book another stay here.


Fort Conde Inn...A Must Stay

5 on August 11, 2012

I am an admitted hotel-snob. I spend a lot of time researching where I am going to stay before setting plans. I couldn't find a hotel near South Alabama that looked appealing so I opted to look farther away. I stumbled upon the Fort Conde Inn. I was impressed by the photo gallery and later impressed by the accommodating service offered to me by the manager, Alan. When I finally arrived to the Inn it took my breath away. The history, the decor, the fine details...all stunning. My room was quaint but luxurious. The bed was more comfortable than my own. The L'Occitaine toiletries added a a sort of aroma therapy that sent me over the top. The Southern hospitality of the staff of the Inn were the crown jewels. Alan and Matt and the Inn owner, Larry Posner, made me instantly feel like a welcomed part of the family. The chef, Jeremy, gives a royal breakfast service. Every breakfast was spectacular. From the pastries to the biscuits to the locally hand made jams and jellies. Jeremy even came in a little early in order to serve me to accommodate my business time schedule. I enjoyed his breakfast conversations. My only complaint about my stay at the Fort Conde Inn is that it was longer. I will go out of my way to visit again. Thank you. Alexandra F.


Amazing

4.6 on August 07, 2012

Alan the manager is amazing and fun! Went here for a girls weekend trip. We all had a blast thanks to the accommodations and staff. The chef is amazing and so helpful with local information. The rooms are beautiful and the atmosphere is peaceful. Just what we needed.


Wonderful Experience

4.4 on August 01, 2012

I took my wife to Fort Condi Inn for her birthday on a discount coupon from LivingSocial, boy were we surprised at what we received for the price we paid. This place was amazing and it is so centrally located you can get to plenty of area attractions with no problem. Alan was an excellent host and the chef that prepared breakfast exceeded our expectations. Will definitely recommend to friends and even go back at full price (lol) because it is well worth it.


Great Place to Stay

5 on July 31, 2012

Had a wonderful stay at the Inn. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was great! The chef was very freindly and the food was great. Enjoyed talking to the other guest at beakfast. Room was very clean and comfortable. Felt like you were at home. With in walking distant's to anything that you wanted to do in downtown. Felt safe. We will definetely stay again when we have the oppurtunity.


Amazing Accommodations

5 on July 30, 2012

We spent three nights at the Fort Conde Inn and I wish we could've spent a lifetime. We fell in love with the manager and enjoyed all of his Mobile recommendations. The rooms were exquisite. Comfy beds, luxurious amenities, and such a historic experience! Nestled away from the hustle and bustle of the city, the inn felt like an island transported back in time. With breakfast every morning that consisted of fresh biscuits, coffee cakes or apple turnovers, and dishes like banana foster french toast and creole eggs benedict, we left for the days adventure with complete satisfaction! Cannot wait to return, we just left and already miss it dearly! It's not everyday that you find a place to stay that feels like home. -Brianna Austin, TX


Truly enjoyed it

5 on July 24, 2012

So glad I decided to take a chance on Fort Conde Inn. Absolutely enjoyed my stay thoroughly. Immaculate, beautifully decorated room. The staff was awesome - enjoyed getting to know them. The breakfasts were incredible - only problem was that I could not eat it all. Spent several evenings on the balcony catching up on work, drinking coffee from my in-room Keurig machine. I especially enjoyed how close (and yet how removed) Fort Conde was from downtown Mobile. It was a five minute walk each day to the conference center and to restaurants. My favorite was the Royal Scam. I was amazed by the Inn's renovation and attention to detail. The house itself is truly a work of art and beautiful tribute to the original time in which it was built. I will definitely stay again.


Fort Conde Inn

4.0 on July 19, 2012

Great stay. I will definitely book again if I need to stay overnight in Mobile. The service was excellent and the atmosphere was very comfortable and laid back. The breakfast was a bit heavy but still ok. I wish they served Fair Trade Certified Coffee. Overall, I recommend the Fort Conde Inn.


We WILL be back!!

4.4 on July 17, 2012

We truly ENJOYED our stay at the Fort Conde Inn.


Wonderful

5 on July 10, 2012

I stayed at the Fort Conde Inn this past weekend and it was an absolutely amazing experience. This establishment is absolutely breath taking and the staff are very personable and accommodating. The general manager, Alan, is extremely helpful and has a vast knowledge of Mobile. His suggestions for where to eat and go were all that he said they were. I didn't think there was going to be much to do in Mobile, but Alan was able to show us what a great place it truly is. Jeremy, the cook for breakfast, was also very pleasant. His breakfasts were delicious and timely. If he offers to make an omelette, I suggest the mushroom and cheddar one! My room in the carriage house section of the inn was nothing short of perfection. The bed was very comfortable, I almost didn't want to leave to explore the city. The bathroom was very nice and clean as well. My over all experience at the Fort Conde Inn was surprising and breathtaking. It was surprising because I found out that there is much more to Mobile than being the ninth biggest oil port in the country. It is a city rich with history, friendly people, and southern hospitality. I was so glad to have met Alan and the rest of the Fort Conde staff. They made my experience unforgettable.


Just a beautiful place and well worth the stay!

5 on July 09, 2012

We stayed at Fort Conde on our way to New Orleans from Tampa. We only stayed 1 night but would have loved to stayed more. The guys were great and very hospitable. The Royal Scam is a great resturant in walking distance too. We had our motorcycles out front and felt very comfortable about the area. This is a must if your in that area.


Outstanding

5 on June 28, 2012

I recently stayed at the Fort Conde Inn during a research trip to Mobile. Alan and David were fabulous hosts and attended to every detail. The rooms are spacious and clean and the beds comfortable. Breakfast was delicious and prepared in a timely manner each morning. The Inn is within walking distance of downtown, so it is a convenient location. I highly recommend staying here, as I know I will again.


Highly Recommend!!!!!!

5 on June 11, 2012

We stayed over the weekend and it was the best B&B we've stayed at. Alan, Jeremy, and Vanessa were amazing, and made us feel like family. The rooms were full of character, and very comfortable. The food created by Chef Jeremy was worth the stay on it's own. The staff went out of their way to make us feel comfortable and accomodate all of our needs. There aren't many B&B's that I would go back to, but this one is a 100% return spot. We will always stay at Fort Conde Inn when we are in Mobile or the area. It made the weekend a memorable one!


Stopover in Mobile

4.8 on May 31, 2012

We had a couple of days to fill while driving between Savannah and new Orleans and decided to stop and check out Mobile . After researching on line we decided on the Fort Conde Inn for two nights . Good decision ! We arrived on a Sunday and had the house to ourselves as the guests from a weekend wedding had already left . The house has been beautifully restored and our room was small but comfortable . We had a problem with the reception on our tv but the manager who lives on sight came straight to our room and solved the problem in no time . The highlights of our stay were the wonderful breakfasts we had prepared each morning . The Inn chef Jeremy, let us know what food he had on hand and then gave us suggestions on what he could whip up . The food was awesome and the suggestions of where to go for our days in Mobile were dead on . Since we were in the seafood business he suggested a drive to Pensacola to Joe Patti's Seafood . After a stop at Aligator Alley we continued down to the Alabama coast and it's beautiful beach and along to Pensacola and Joe Patti's . One of the best days of a two week holiday . Great service and a beautiful home made the Fort Conde Inn an easy place to recommend !


Best historical home B&B ever

5 on May 31, 2012

My daughter and I stayed at the Fort Conde Inn for one night and wish we could have stayed longer. The location is perfect and the home is beautiful and extremely comfortable. The breakfast was delicious the next wmorning, but Allen and Matt were the best. Matt showed us around all the homes on the block and even showed us the most historicallly significant parts of old Mobile. I will not stay anywhere else when I go to Mobile. Thanks so much for a wonderful and amazing time!


Great B&B tucked hidden away

4.6 on May 26, 2012

This place was great. The rooms were spotless, beautifully furnished, and incredibly comfortable. The mattresses were good, nothing exceptional as I've slept on better but still very comfy - the bedding was lovely. We were only there for a night, less than 24 hours as we were just stopping on the way to Nola. But if I ever make plans to visit Mobile this is exactly where I'm staying. Breakfast was great. I was a tad disappointed only because their website leads you to believe that the chef will always prepare something fancy and special. We ordered the Benedict's and while very good they were just your typical run of the mill eggs Benedict. Oh well. Everyone was incredibly friendly though and this place was a great value for what we paid!


A Little Piece of Southern Charm

4.8 on May 10, 2012

A very hospitable Inn. The staff was caring and gracious. Our stay in April 2012 was for a special weekend, and we enjoyed our time at Fort Conde and the Cities of Mobile and Fairhope. Fellow guest were cordial and informative. A great experience.


Wonderful!

5 on May 09, 2012

My husband and I stayed a night here (in the carriage house) on our way from Texas to Florida. It was an immaculately manicured hotel! We thoroughly enjoyed Fort Conde and would recommend staying here!! The manager was helpful and pleasant. The food was excellent, thanks to the chef :) Definitely will stay here again sometime in the future if we are driving through town or happen to be going to Mobile. Thank you for a great night and wonderful service!!!!!


Fort Conde 2012

4.2 on May 07, 2012

Great place, we would definitely stay at the Fort Conde Inn again!


Very nice stay in historical home.

3.4 on May 02, 2012

Warm greeting. Carriage house room was very comfortable, but strong odor of cleaning products However, the room (and inn) was immaculately clean. I highly recommend the inn for a relaxing visit to Mobile. Afternoon tea or snacks were not offered and would have been a nice touch


Lovely B and B

3.6 on May 01, 2012

Fort Conde Inn is in a great location - just a quick stroll to major restaurants and attractions. The main building is furnished w/ lovely period antiques. We stayed in one of the carriage house rooms, which is actually a separate addition, consisting of two floors w/ guest rooms. The rooms were decorated in a "Pottery Barn" style, which was tasteful. It would have been nice to have more than just one chair in the room. The breakfast was okay - I expected more since the chef was a graduate of a well know culinary institute. We would definitely visit the inn again!


Very Beautiful Inn

4.2 on May 01, 2012

In a very quiet area but walking distance to downtown. Loved the breakfast and the firm mattress. We would recommend the inn to our friends! The Chef gave us a lot of info about the Gulf Shores etc.!


Southern Charm and Hospitality at its finest!

5 on April 25, 2012

I recently stayed at the Fort Conde Inn, and it met and exceeded all expectations. If you're looking for charm, beauty, personal service and comfort look no futher. I stayed in the Meredith and Rachel rooms, and they were even more beautiful than in the pictures. The beds are heavenly and the breakfast was decadent. The best part was the friendly service and southern hospitality of Alan and the Fort Conde family. If you're staying in the Mobile Bay/Gulf Coast area look no further; you've found the only place to stay!


Nice little respite from the outside world

4.4 on April 25, 2012

Really enjoyed out stay. The house is absolutely lovely. Breakfast was outstanding both mornings we were there. Very accomodating with checking in late & the little neighborhood was just wonderful. Hard to believe you're in the middle of the hustle & bustle. Quiet little refuge.


For my son's wedding reception

5 on April 16, 2012

Alan and event coordinator, Virginia, were just so excellent in helping us make the arrangements for my friends to stay overnight after my son's wedding reception. My friends have had nothing but nice things to say about the stay.


An outstanding value! Highly recommend Forte Conde Inn.

4.8 on March 14, 2012

Immaculate and friendly! The personal service is outstanding. Allen even booked our anniversary dinner for us--a wonderful, unpublicized wine makers dinner. The bed was oh-so-comfy! Breakfast was very nice, custom made omelettes and heavenly french toast. We highly recommend Fort Conde Inn and will definitely stay there again. This really is an outstanding value, priced comparably with a four-star hotel room in Mobile and much nicer!


Elegance at it's best !!!

5 on January 05, 2012

From the time that we arrived at Fort Conde Inn, Alan and Matt welcomed us with southern hospitality at it's best. The beautiful decor of the house was exquisit. Alan and staff were knowlegable in the period and decorations inside as well as surrounding areas. We were giving a personal tour of the home and intiment details of the history surrounding the village upon arrival. We were giving a chose of when breakfast was served which was nice touch. Chef Jeremy cooked us a 5 star breakfast- including eggs benidict, fresh fruit, crisp bacon and potatoes. The rooms are beautifully decorated with top of the line matress and linens. One night, we enjoyed a cocktail downstairs in the parlor which was a perfect end of our stay. I recommend Fort Conde Inn over any downtown accommodations for that special weekend get away. Lee Rains- Biloxi, Ms


Fort Conde Inn

4.2 on December 18, 2011

Charming room in a beautifully restored and beautifully furnished mansion. Breakfast was excellent. Staff friendly and attentive, but not overbearing.


Wonderful!

5 on November 19, 2011

My sister and I recently visited Fort Conde Inn for a one-night stay - it far exceeded our expectations. Absolutely everything about Fort Conde Inn was superb - from the minute we walked in the front door until the time we left the next morning. Service: When we first arrived, we were greeted and shown around the Inn. Once we had our bags placed in our adorable room (Courtyard 6), we asked for dinner suggestions and were directed to a cute little restaurant/bar only a short walk away. The service at the Inn continued to be exceptional our entire stay. Room: Not only was the room adorably decorated, but the bed was insanely comfortable! Breakfast: Jeremy was awesome and our breakfast in the morning was amazingly good. We had muffins, biscuits, a fruit cup, eggs benedict, bacon, sausage, and hashbrowns. Jeremy definitely knows what he is doing! His company was as good as his food and he took the time to tell about Mobile and what residential neighborhoods would be good to look at in case of a future move! We WILL return! I can't say enough about Fort Conde Inn. I have stayed in some of the nations best hotels and this rivals any of them! The service was on par with the service I was provided at the Plaza, the accommodations were on par with a small inn in Virginia that I have claimed was my favorite hotel since staying in it, the dining was better than any B&B I have stayed in! We will definitely return and I have already suggested it to friends, family, and strangers I met in Mobile!


Fort Conde Inn

4.8 on November 01, 2011

Found this B&B on line after talking with Alan I decided to go for it worth the trip the house and rooms are wonderful everyone is very friendly Jeremy is the greatest chef in the world he made the trip for us complete once the downtown area gets completely remodeled it will be the greatest if you dont mind going into quant little bars for drinks and sandwiches you will be good eating places was the only draw back that we had that was close and within walking distance. I say go for it!!!!!! Diana and Steve


Great getaway!

4.6 on October 26, 2011

I booked this b&b for my wife and I to have a date night out. What a wonderful decision! This place was incredible. The staff were super friendly and helpful. The house and room were beautiful. The furnishings in the room were very high end and comfortable. The best part was the breakfast! One of the best meals I have had in a long time. My wife had bananas foster french toast and I had an omelet with tasso ham and shrimp, both were incredible! We will be looking to visit here again! Josh Shirley


Wonderful Option to the Big Box

4.6 on August 11, 2011

Even though I was the very first guest at this new B & B, I found their property attractive, service attentive, and breakfast delicious. I'm not going to fault them here for the little kinks that I know they'll work out, just know that this is a fine place in an interesting neighborhood within walking distance of the convention center and its big box hotels.


Fort Conde Inn

Details

  • Nightly Rate $99 - $399
  • Reviews (131) 4.7
  • Rooms 13
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-2514055040

Visit Website »

View details

Top