Jewel Lake Bed and Breakfast Reviews

Overall
4.7

View details

  • Guest room4.6
  • Service4.8
  • Value4.7
  • Cleanliness4.8
  • Dining4.7

Score Breakdown based on
46 Reviews

Write A Review

Wonderful accommodation!

4.2 on June 24, 2013

Enjoyed our stay at the Jewel Lake B and B. Owners were very accommodating and friendly. The entire place was immaculate which is an important criteria for us.


Jewel of a retreat in the city

4.6 on June 20, 2013

We arrived very late and found a welcome note and key taped on the front door. The beds and room were clean and cozy. a central kitchen area with a fridge to place the food from our cooler overnight was convenient. Continental breakfast included freshly prepared eggs on the front porch. Price was less than nearby hotels. If we pass through Anchorage again, this is where we will stay.


An Alaskan Visitors Best Introduction to the Great Land

4.8 on October 21, 2012

My husband and I brought our good friends and their two teen daughters to Alaska from Pennsylvania, and our first night was at JLB&B. What a perfect introduction to AK! Paul was an accomodating and gracious host. The common area is quintessential Alaskan. The rooms throughout the the property were very clean, quiet, had LOTS of down-filled pillows on well-covered beds, and were shielded from the summer's midnight sun's light so all were able to a good night's sleep! The downstairs rooms have elevated floors to accomodate plumbing...the ONLY (and minor) drawback to the whole experience! Be sure to get up early enough to enjoy a fresh warm lemon-almond muffin! And Paul's strawberry (in season?) waffels and breakfast egg-cheese-canadian bacon muffins are to die for! Certainly one of the best B&B experiences in AK!


What a great choice!

5 on August 23, 2012

Cozy place to stay. We were lucky to find it, nice, clean, the breakfast was perfect, and the host was very friendly. We would recommend withconfidence to others.


Perfect and Peaceful and Friendly

5 on August 03, 2012

Host definitely has a gift of hospitality! Jewel Lake B&B is comfortable, clean, private, Alaska-style decor, with excellent food. I highly recommend!


Jewel Lake: An Anchorage Gem

5 on August 02, 2012

Cozy, clean, tastefully decorated rooms with delicious breakfast. Owner is friendly, hospitable and goes extra mile to make your stay great!


2 day getaway

4.8 on July 27, 2012

This is a gorgeous little cabin-like B&B. Not too far from town and very close to the airport. the service was excellent, and my room was clean and comfortable. I would recommend this to everyone!


Wonderful Place to Stay in Anchorage

4.8 on June 19, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at Jewel Lake B&B! Paul was absolutely fantastic and really thought of everything. We started the day with yummy muffins from scratch and several options for breakfast. While at breakfast, Paul was very helpful in giving us local insight and directed us to some places we should visit while in Anchorage. After spending a long day in Anchorage we came back to Jewel Lake to find our beds made. The bathroom was also stocked with shampoo, conditioner and bath wash. Downstairs has a kitchen for the guests to use as well as beverages and snacks for purchase. Our only complaint is that Jewel Lake is off a main road, when we wanted to sleep with our windows open, we had some traffic noise.


best overnight ever!

5 on May 20, 2012

my husband and I spent one night here on our way to cruising out of Seward the next day. Incredibly gracious, homey appointments, felt completely at ease. when we come back to Anchorage on our next trip, it will be to see sights on land, and we will most definitely stay here for the entirety of our trip! Very highly recommend staying here - you will feel very at home!


Refreshing -- Peaceful

5 on October 31, 2011

I enjoyed both stays at Jewel Lake B&B so much, the rooms were very nice, breakfast, incredible. We will definitely be return guests!


Wow -- great place

5 on October 23, 2011

Loved easy self-check in, great breakfast. Wish I found this place before, makes hotels seem cold & corporate.


I will tell everyone.

5 on October 23, 2011

Great place!


Wonderful

5 on October 02, 2011

Best breakfast ever. Very quiet, rooms comfortable.


Thanks for a great introduction

4.0 on August 28, 2011

My favorite muffin is blueberry, and these were fresh-made & delicious. The host helped me into town with advice on public bus service & making it easy for me to coordinate my flight out the next day. The flowers were gorgeous, as I found they are all over Alaska in the summer! Thanks for a great introduction to Alaska hospitality


Best B&B in the WORLD!!!!!!!!

5 on August 23, 2011

Alright, I dont actually know if this is the best B&B in the world as this was my first B&B experience. I was nervous about feeling like an unwanted guest in someones spare bedroom filled with awkward mornings and minimal privacy. Honestly nothing could be further from the truth when my boyfriend, Lee visited for a few days in August. The check in is done all by yourself and each room has a locking door and comfortable beds. Our room "The Denali Room" has it's own bathroom as did the suite next to ours. I did not expect TV with cable or a ceiling fan but our room was equipped with both. The decor of the whole place was very clean yet very cozy! Paul took care of us each morning with what in no way would be considered a "continental" breakfast. Eggs however you like them along with reindeer sausage in addition to english muffins, pastries, fruit and yogurt. Did I mention he made FRESH blueberry muffins each morning we were there?? They were incredible and Paul was very sweet. My only request would be that breakfast were extended an hour later for those of us who are not morning people in the slightest. (10am may be late enough for most, but that's what time I like to wake up on vacation :) It was overall a perfect stay, I will recommend Jewel Lake B&B to everyone I know visiting Alaska Thanks again Paul!


Anchorage Retreat

3.8 on August 10, 2011

Nice friendly staff, clean rooms and convenient location. Would stay again.


Clean but no host until breakfast

4.0 on August 06, 2011

Place is clean. Specifically stay at B&B's to meet the local folk but there is no one around except for breakfast and to clean the rooms.


Worth finding

4.6 on June 23, 2011

Very courteous folks. Gave plenty of ideas of things to do in area. Very comfy beds.


Worked out Perfect!

5 on August 25, 2010

I truly enjoyed my stay at Jewel Lake. The breakfast was wonderful, fresh and served with a smile. The staff was friendly and very helpful with directions and offered advise when asked about sighteeing. It is close to airport for easy rental car dropoff, right on the bus line and close to many attractions. Check out was 10:30 but they allowed me to leave my luggage at the B&B all day as my flight wasn't until late in the day. I would love to come and stay at this B&B again. You will not be disapointed if you stay at this B&B.


Recommendation

4.6 on November 18, 2009

We were totally impressed by every aspect of the above B&B, especially the cleanliness and friendly, helpful service. When my husband became ill, the owner was available late at night to recommend a hospital and to allow us to use his kitchen in the days to follow.


Highly Recommended

5 on August 19, 2009

we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The Denali Room was perfect for us. Troy's breakfast was awesome. We were very impressed with the cleanliness of the entire facility.


Love to stay here

5 on August 14, 2009

We stayed here and were excited to return. hospitality, accommodations, and food were excellent. Make your reservation at the Jewel Lake B&B. Way better than a hotel!


Wonderful Stay

5 on July 27, 2009

This place is so warm friendly and clean that I felt like I was in my own home. A wonderful charming place to stay.


deserving of its rewards and great reviews

5 on July 04, 2009

Most of the reviews mention its cleanliness, and I saw firsthand how very hard Troy works to keep it clean, including the grounds. The personally-prepared meals are mentioned but not the fact that Troy actually asks what you would like to have. He then cooks it on the spot, and it is truly a delightful breakfast, but he also provides everything for a "grab and run" for those in a hurry. If Troy has the time to talk, you will find him a delightful conversationalist, one person said "a hoot", which he is!, but also very knowledgeable and informative. This is a must stay!


Service poor.

1.8 on March 16, 2009

The inn smelled like urine, and the manager was never seen. After my money was collected, I never saw the management. I think the beds had bugs because I had multiple red bumps after sleeping there.

Innkeeper Response
I rent rooms by the month during the off season (winter). Room only. No service of any kind is paid for. Rates are about 20.00 per night. This person stayed for a month. This person works for a local hotel but stayed here. I think the other reviews speak for our B&B.


A Jewel of an Inn!

4.2 on July 24, 2008

Comfortable, relaxed atmosphere. Troy was friendly & accommodating - a good host. Inn is close to the airport in a quiet area.


Our Stayover in Anchorage

4.8 on July 24, 2008

Our stay was very enjoyable. The bed was very comfortable & the room was very clean. The breakfasts were first rate. Troy makes every effort to make your stay the best it can be.


The last night of our Alaska vacation

4.0 on July 20, 2008

This house was set up nicely -- a nice, not cramped, bathroom in our room, a lovely sitting room blocked off from the busy street out front with pine trees and many lovely pots of flowers. It is on Jewel Lake Road, not Jewel Lake, which makes the 9 minute to the airport claim very accurate. Troy cooked us a great breakfast, and the coffee pot was on a timer for us early risers. There was a (stinky) plumbing problem the night we arrived, but Troy had it completely taken care of withing an hour of being called. Nice to know the 'emergency number' really works. I have nothing but good things to say about our stay there.


Jewel Lake

5 on July 15, 2008

What a wonderful place to stay. Got to see eagles fly by at breakfast. The food was home cooked & great. The host had all kinds of knowledge about the area. Would stay again.


Jewel Lake

5 on July 15, 2008

The B&B was beautiful - very peaceful and clean. The breakfast was wonderful and cooked fresh. The host made the stay very nice. Full of information about the area and a very sincere individual.


Great place and people!

4.6 on July 06, 2008

Usually B&B's are not my first choice. May have to change my mind after staying at the Jewel Lake B&B. Spotlessly clean, staff was very friendly, flexible and helpful! Comfortable and quiet, easy access to a great stay!!!


Jewel Lake

4.8 on July 02, 2008

A warm, cozy stop along the way with a bright cheery start over a wonderful breakfast! Most important was the cleanliness factor. A real pleasure to stay in such a nice B&B.


Home sweet "away from home"

4.4 on July 01, 2008

After busy, fun days of touring the Anchorage area, trying to "see it all", I would sya, "let's go home", meaning Jewel Lake B&B. Troy's B&B is a great hub and respite after activities.


outstanding

5 on June 20, 2008

this is just an outstanding b&b


Warm and Cozy

4.8 on June 18, 2008

A warm, cozy stop along the way with a bright cheery start over. A wonderful Breakfast! Most important was the cleanliness factor. VERY CLEAN! A real pleasure to stay in such a nice B&B


A jewel in Alaska

5 on June 16, 2008

We found the inn and Troy to be wonderful and very glad to have us stay here. Rooms are very comfy and tastefully decorated. Troy was a great chef and was always cleaning and tidying up.


nice

5 on June 11, 2008

this was a very nice and outstanding place to stay


thanks

5 on June 09, 2008

thanks for the excellent stay- this place is so quiet,clean, and cozy alaskan experience


great

5 on June 09, 2008

this was a great place to be at after recently getting out of the hospital!


Comfortable, relaxing place

4.8 on June 05, 2008

Great location, easy to find and easy access to other areas. We found our room very clean and loved the decor. Troy makes wonderful breakfasts and made us feel at home. He is a very accomodating host. Do yourself a favor and skip the hotels and relax at Jewel Lake. We will definately return on our next trip to Anchorage.


Great place to start

5 on May 31, 2008

We got into the airport late and the self check in at the b & B made it so convient, and it was really close to the airport and simple to get to.


Alaskan Comfort

5 on May 30, 2008

I enjoyed my stay at the Jewel Lake Bed and Breakfast. The rooms were really clean and comfortable. Breakfast was fabulous and Troy was a hoot! He was very informative about the area and was a great help to my relocation efforts. Great location in a quiet area of town and very convienient to everything.I would highly recommend his bed and breakfast to anyone.


4th year returning!

5 on May 29, 2008

It feels like coming home... I have to go out on business each year to Anchorage. And Jewel Lake B & B is clean and comfortable with plenty to eat in the morning. Thanks Troy for making my trips no hassle.


Very Charming

5 on May 22, 2008

We walked in and found our selves feeling at home. The decor was so charming and cabin feeling my husband and I just loved it. Great breakfast in the morning, we sat outside on the deck and enjoyed the wonderful flower gardens. If we ever get back to Alaska.. we would be happy to stay again.


Wonderful location

5 on May 22, 2008

We arrived very late at night and we were happy to have the B&B so easy to find. Everything was ready for us when we arrived. Great coffee and food the next morning, would stay again.


Great Stay

5 on May 15, 2008

Our stay was more than we expected. Rooms were VERY clean. The house was close to the airport. Would stay again, and would bring others back.


Jewel Lake Bed and Breakfast

Details

  • Nightly Rate $160 - $260
  • Reviews (46) 4.7
  • Rooms 5

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-9072457321
  • Fax 1-9072452313
  • Toll free 1-8772457321

Visit Website »

View details

Top