Change your search

Fireweed Manor Bed and Breakfast

1013 E.28th Ave , Anchorage, AK 99508 USA (Show map)
4.7
6 Reviews
$100 - $135
per night

Visit Website

About

Fireweed Manor is a family owned and operated bed and breakfast serving travelers from around the world. We are conveniently located in mid-town Anchorage, close to shopping, the University of Alaska, and all major hospitals. We are a short 10 minute drive from the Anchorage International Airport. The People Mover bus system is easily accessed one block from our home. Bicycles are also available for guests if they chose to take advantage of the city's world class bike trail system. Either way, guests find it easy to navigate around the city from our location.

Reviews

Overall
4.7

Write A Review

  • Guest room4.7
  • Service4.7
  • Value4.5
  • Cleanliness5
  • Dining4.5

Score Breakdown based on
6 Reviews

Write A Review

A home far away from home.

5 on August 10, 2014

Nice and clean room. Complete kitchen. Tasty breakfast. We enjoyed our stay with the McKinnon family. Perfect hosts.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your kind review! It was a pleasure hosting you.


Super clean, modern, nice rooms, ordinary breakfast

3.4 on August 04, 2014

We did enjoy our stay at Fireweed Manor. The bed was very comfortable. We shared a bath which was no problem for us. The rooms are in the basement with a separate side entrance. There was another couple in the room on the other side of the bath but the room with separate bath was vacant. When we arrived there was a freshly made plate of brownies and lots of other munchies available. They had a lot of tourist information and maps which were very handy. We wanted to ride bikes one day and they offered the use of their bikes but unfortunately one had a flat. The house is located very near a bike path that connects with the waterfront bike path. So my only nits to pick are the breakfast and the sinks! The owners said that breakfast was at 7:00 (that's a guess, I can't remember exactly) but other than (very good) fresh berries was just store bought items, granola, yogurt, muffins, bread, etc. There was plenty but we are used to a cooked meal and more interaction with the hosts. They were very nice and like I said this is a nit-picky item. The sinks were a funny thing. They look beautiful but are not as functional as a plain old sink. They were a quartz or some other material with glass inlays and were very well done. Unfortunately they have no depth so you can hardly wash your hands without touching the faucet or the bottom of the sink. Maybe this is a modern trend and I am just too old school. If I were just giving a rating on my own criteria this would be 4 stars but this site's guidelines are pretty tough so it looks like 3-1/2. I would stay here again without hesitation.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your review. We remember you well and are truly sorry that our bike had a flat the morning you requested to borrow them and ride. We were happy you were able to sightsee our city's beautiful trails with rental bikes downtown. You are correct, our breakfasts are at 7am to accommodate the variety of guests' travel plans. We pride ourselves in our healthy breakfasts and John personally makes his own granola. I try to make a fresh baked item each morning, whether muffins, biscuits or sweet breads. We do, however, buy fresh croissants since I haven't mastered them yet! Our sinks are unique and custom made from an artist in Big Lake, Alaska. We are very proud of our remodel and decor but are sorry they didn't meet your needs. We were happy to host you and glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your comments.


Clean, comfy, & quiet

5 on July 20, 2014

Nice place, recently updated with new paint, carpet and furnishings. Breakfast is set out for you at 7 am but you can eat whatever time you get up. Nice deck to enjoy with a fire in the evenings. Easy access to the bus line to get around. Next time I'm in anchorage I will stay here.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your kind review! It's been a gorgeous summer to enjoy the deck! We look forward to hosting you in the future.


Perfect for our needs

4.6 on July 20, 2014

We really appreciated the full kitchen with snacks, comfortable living room, office area, and our private room and bath. The fountain outside the living room was a delightful surprise, and the deck was perfect for enjoying the sunshine. The location was ideal for shopping and doctor visits. We will definitely recommend Fireweed Manor to our friends and relatives.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you so much for your review! We appreciate your comments. It's been a lovely summer on the deck!


Couldn't have had a better experience!!!

5 on July 14, 2014

We will definitely be staying here again, and telling friends and family about it when they visit Anchorage. We were blown away by the entire experience - thank you so much Fireweed Manor!!!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your gracious review! It was our pleasure hosting you. Glad you enjoyed your B and B experience.


Fantastic in Anchorage

5 on June 26, 2014

The property is absolutely immaculate and recently remodeled. A convenient location, with easy access to the Anchorage bike trail system. The owners John and Jennifer are very gracious and accommodating and sincerely care about your comfort. Highly recommend a stay at Fireweed Manor while in Anchorage. Bret & Beverly - Mammoth Lakes, Ca.

Innkeeper Response
Thanks so much Bret and Beverly! It was great getting to know you while soaking up the June "midnight sun" on the deck. Thank you also for your personal referral. We are happy to have met such a great couple!


View More Reviews

Rooms & Rates

Glacier

This room features a comfortable queen size bed with high-quality linens and a private 3/4 bath (shower, sink, toilet). Free Wifi is available.

  • Maximum Capacity: 2
  • Bathroom Private Bath
  • Beds 1 Queen

Nightly Rate: $100 - $135

Nightly Rate: $100 - $135

Katmai

This room features a comfortable queen size bed with high-quality linens. There is a private shower and sink vanity in the room and shares a lavatory in the hallway just outside the door.

  • Maximum Capacity: 2
  • Bathroom Private Bath
  • Beds 1 Queen

Nightly Rate: $100 - $125

Nightly Rate: $100 - $125

Wrangell

This room features a comfortable queen size bed with high-quality linens. There is a private shower and sink vanity in the room and shares a lavatory in the hallway just outside the door.

  • Maximum Capacity: 2
  • Bathroom Private Bath
  • Beds 1 Queen

Nightly Rate: $100 - $125

Nightly Rate: $100 - $125

Visit Website

Location

Location Type

Mid-town

Airport

Anchorage, AK (ANC) 7 miles

Area Attractions

Gourmet/Fine Dining, Movie Theater, Museum, National/State parks, Nature area, Ocean, Ski area, Zoo

Inn Details

Establishment type

Bed and Breakfast

On-site amenities

BBQ grill, DVD Player, Desk, Fireplace, Private entrance, Satellite/Cable TV, TV, Telephone, Washer/dryer

Room amenities

Alarm clock, In-room internet, Internet Service, Wi-Fi

Visit Website

Policies

  • Check In:: 4pm
  • Check Out:: 11am
  • Open All Year Round: Yes
  • Smoking Allowed: No
  • Drinking Allowed: Yes
  • Alcohol Provided No
  • Suitable For Children: No
  • Childcare Provided: No
  • Guest Pets Allowed: No
  • Disabled Access No

Terms and Conditions

  • Accepted payments AMEX, VISA, Discover, Mastercard, Cash
  • Deposit Amount Required: A credit card is required to make a reservation.
  • Cancellations: Reservations cancelled with less than 24 hrs notice prior to arrival will incur a $50.00 cancellation fee.

Innkeepers

Name(s)

John and Jennifer McKinnon

Languages spoken

English

Resident Pets

Dogs

Visit Website

Meals

Breakfast

Continental Plus

  • Time Served: 7am
  • Serving Location: Breakfast/dining area

Details

1013 E.28th Ave , Anchorage, AK 99508 USA (Show map)

Property highlights


Free $60 gift card!
Top