Big Bear Bed & Breakfast Reviews

Overall
4.5

View details

  • Guest room4.2
  • Services4.6
  • Value4.5
  • Cleanliness4.7
  • Dining4.7

Score Breakdown based on
98 Reviews

Write A Review

Delicious Breakfast

4.8 on July 17, 2014

This Bed and Breakfast was a little far out of the city in a not so great part of town, couldn't really walk anywhere and the rooms were quite hot the nights we were there, however Carol was a wonderful host, she had very interesting stories, the B&B was very Alaskan and the breakfast was really really good, she even made gluten free waffles and muffins for me that were some of the best I ever had. Wonderful home made preserves and she was very helpful with all kinds of information about the area. Beds were comfortable but the bathrooms had a bit of an odd configuration.


big bear

5 on July 14, 2014

Awesome Breakfast, fantastic cook! Awesome rooms!


unique b&b in Anchorage

4.4 on June 03, 2014

Carol has a wealth of knowledge about Alaska and Anchorage in particular.Her breakfasts were absolutely delicious,and her B&B is filled with fabulous books and unique artifacts.


The bear facts

3.4 on May 31, 2014

Carol Ross is an interesting and gracious hostess. She is full of stories and information, as she has a right to be, coming from a long-time Alaskan family. Her waffle breakfast with various berry and other toppings is worth the stay in itself. But we do have a few constructive criticisms: 1. If guests are required to take their shoes off, house shoes should be provided. Socks on carpeted staircases are a slip and fall hazard, as we experienced at the cost of some badly bruised toes. Shoes are more than fashion items; they are protective devices. 2. There is too much interaction between guest and household members' comings and goings. We often felt we were intruding. 3. The clothes closet bathrooms are ingenious but not very user friendly. We would also suggest that Carol needs more paid assistance.


Big Bear B&B

4.2 on March 07, 2014

We stayed 3 nights at Big Bear and Carol was super nice and shared a lot of her knowledge about what to do/not to do while in Anchorage. The house is FULL of trinkets, dolls, etc. that give you a taste of Alaskan culture. The only complaint I have is the "bathroom" that each room has is indeed just a closet so there is no privacy whatsoever. Breakfast was soooooooooooo good! She is an amazing cook. :)


Big Bear Bed and Breakfast

4.6 on November 30, 2013

The salmon quiche was delicious, the house was spotless, and the host was fantastic. I recommend this place to anyone who wants to experience real Alaskan hospitality.


Couldn't have asked for a better first night!

4.8 on October 14, 2013

My daughters first visit to Alaska and decided to stay at a more "homey" place our first night instead of the same old same hotel. Carol and her family have one of the BEST B&B's I've ever been to. What a perfect first glimpse into the lifestyles and history of Alaska. I wish we could have stayed longer and will make sure I stay when I come back.


Quaint B&B

4.0 on September 29, 2013

Lovely B&B but not located in a very good area. We were not comfortable wandering around near B&B but access to downtown Anchorage easy with bus stop very close. Good value for money.


The comfiest bed in Alaska!

4.4 on September 21, 2013

We were greeted and followed the house rules - we took off our shoes : ) Carol was welcoming and the Denali room was big with sofas to relax after a full day of walking - and a wonderfully comfortable bed. Tea and hot cocoa available upstairs. We loved the jacuzzi tub - we slept very well! Breakfast was waffles with birch syrup, homemade berry jam, freshly-gathered wild blueberries and whipped topping - delicious. On a quiet street, away from downtown. Carol made sure we got a discount at the Heritage Center which was a wonderful experience - all about Alaska's native people. She was glad to hold our suitcases while we finished touristing around town. A welcoming home away-from-home!


Wonderful place to stay. Carol is a treasure.

5 on September 21, 2013

Breakfast was delicious. The rooms were outstanding. Carol even prepared a box breakfast when we left at 2.30am. Yes she got up to do that!


True Alaskan Experience

4.4 on September 12, 2013

Surround yourself in Alaskan decor and memorabilia. Highly knowledgeable host.


Great welcome to Anchorage!

4.6 on September 05, 2013

Stayed at Big Bear for three days prior to joining a tour group. Comfortable bed/room, interesting hosts, delicious food would all be in my description. Thanks fr a great welcome to Anchorage.


A Great Place in Anchorage

5 on August 31, 2013

We stay at Big Bear every time we are in Anchorage. Food is great, rooms are clean & comfortable, and Carol is a wonderful hostess. Love the homemade jams and the berries picked in her back yard.


Unforgettable experience in Alaska

4.8 on August 25, 2013

We are so happy to choose Big Bear Bed & Breakfast when we were in Anchorage. We love their garden, their breakfast, and their stories. We will stay at their house again if we visit Alaska next time.


Great stay at Big Bear B&B

4.8 on August 21, 2013

Carol was a delightful host and we were very happy with our 2-night stay, overall


Big Bear Bed & Breakfast

4.6 on August 13, 2013

Spent 4 nights in the Denali Room the last week of July with my wife and daughter.Loved it.I did get a little warm the 1st night but not bad at all.I have already recommended this place to 4 of my friends planning a vacation in Alaska next summer.Ms Ross was fantastic.Great food.Excellent information.Hope to go back soon.Will stay here again.


July 2013 Big Bear B & B Stay

5 on August 08, 2013

Stayed in Grizzly room 2 nights. Water tempurature in shower was difficult to adjust. When faucet was turned on hot, hot water came out of showr head right away and took longer than it should have to adjust water to a comfortable tempurature. Other than that it was a very comfortable stay. Very homey atmosphere. Breakfasts were excellent, hostess Carol was very welcoming and friendly. Knew a lot about Alaska and could answer any question you might have about the state and it's attractions. Knows the Anchorage area well and could help with directions. Guest living room upstairs was well stocked with many videos and books for a person to read and or just kick back and relax. Teas, coffee and hot chocolate were available to make at guest's convience.


July in Anchorage

4.2 on August 03, 2013

We were able to stay with Carol and her family for two days. It was a great - centrally located. It was fun just to sit down and talk with them and gave a yummy recommendation to the Moose's Tooth Pizza restaurant and several other places to visit. Keeping in mind that July was the hottest month on record, and the normal thought of Alaska is cool, it is not like a hotel that has air conditioning.


A STEP THRU TIME

3.4 on August 02, 2013

This B&B is loaded with history. The art in the house is amazing-her family has been in Alaska for a long time. It's a little clutterred but loved it. The room was very clean and how the bathroom was put in the room was incredible. Great ingenuity. The breakfast was wonderful with Alaskian fare. The place was lovely.


Comfortable First Night in Alaska

4.4 on July 29, 2013

I have to admit that I was intrigued by the previous reviews (good and not-so-good) and was anxious to visit this B&B to see all the Alaska decor and sample the breakfast offerings. We were greeted by Carol's granddaughter upon arrival. She was very friendly and got us set up in the Denali room. The room was clean and comfortable. The bath was spotless and we had a restful first night in Alaska. Breakfast was delicious and we enjoyed Carol's stories of Alaska. The various toppings for our sourdough waffles were wonderful. I agree with previous comments that it would be nice to get more than 1/4 of a waffle at a time, but Carol worked hard to keep them coming until we had our fill. The neighborhood did not feel unsafe, although road construction may have been a deterrant. The grounds were in full bloom and lovely. The house is a couple blocks from the Glenn Highway on the way out of town, so it was very easy to start our car trip to Denali NP the next morning. It was also an easy drive back into Downtown for dinner the night before. I would stay here again if given the opportunity.


Good stay at the Big Bear!

4.4 on July 28, 2013

Nice place--Carol was really sweet, and worked SO hard to make us all happy! Location does seem a bit sketchy, but it was really fine--we had no issues at all. Good stories, interesting and classical antique decor. A great time!


Big Bear B&B

4.4 on July 28, 2013

Great place to stay while in Anchorage. Easy to get to and close to many attractions. Super parking at the B&B. The breakfasts are fantastic! Carol will keep you entertained with her many stories about Alaska.


A great stay at Big Bear

5 on July 23, 2013

Carol Ross was an outstanding hostess. She was eager to share her heritage and knowledge of the area. She also had info on how to get around the Anchorage area. She really knows what she is talking about. All her breakfasts were home made. And she served them up with the pride they deserved. Thanks Carol


Wonderful B&B

5 on July 15, 2013

The house was located in a suburb just out of the noise of downtown, very nice, quiet area. Lovely bedroom with private shower. The breakfast was wonderful and the host very friendly and knowledgeable about the area.


Delightful and informative owner

4.0 on July 14, 2013

In the Glacier room, the door to the bathroom did not fit completely; therefore, there was not 100% privacy. Other than that, the accommodations were first class.


Good room, excellent food

4.8 on July 14, 2013

The room was nice. The breakfast was really good.


BIG BEAR B AND B

5 on July 10, 2013

Wonderful stay with women very familiar to history of area. Delicious food and great accommodations!


Nice B&B

4.2 on July 05, 2013

Carol had a variety of yummy homemade fruit sauces with breakfast The breakfasts were so good. Our mattress was the most comfortable we've ever slept on! We slept straight through every night. We don't even do that at home! If you don't have a car, the bus is only one block away. Very convenient to get around the city. Enjoyed our stay. Diane & Bill R., Jacksonville, FL


Excellent B&B in Anchorage

4.8 on July 01, 2013

Carol is a great host, her house and garden are beautifull and the breakast is just amazing. He had a great time here listening to some of Carol's family stories.


Welcoming and wondefrful place to stay

4.8 on June 12, 2013

Carol the owner and operator of the Big Bear B&B is a welcoming and delightful lady. The breakfasts are outstanding and Carol is a very good cook. The beds were comfortable and all amenities were excellent. We were made to feel as though we were one of the family. We heartily recommend the Big Bear as a great pleace to stay.


Big (Bear) B&B

4.2 on June 09, 2013

It's a very nice B&B close to Glenn-Highway.


Great start to Alaskan hospitality

4.4 on June 06, 2013

Carol was very understanding when our flight was delayed 3 hrs. she stayed up to greet us after midnight! We could have spent an entire day browsing all her Alaskan memorabilia. She was very informative and made the best (homemade) fruit topping for our morning sourdough waffles.


Positive experience

3.6 on May 29, 2013

Very 'Alaskan' decorated home but cozy. The rooms were a little old fashioned (think wall paper and yellow-ish toilet and bath) but in VERY good condition. Breakfast was amazing as well. Be prepared for stories by the owner :) Easy to find, good location and plenty of parking space.


A great place to stay, we will stay again.

5 on December 15, 2012

Big Bear is a great place to stay in Anchorage, and close to downtown.


Amazing Alaska

3.8 on September 23, 2012

Carol was extremely knowledgeable about the area, the people and the history of Alaska and Anchorage. She generously spent time answering our questions, filling in the blanks on history and natives to Alaska and the area and never once made us feel that she had something else to do ... VERY welcoming! The food was marvelous and she made a concerted effort to meet the dietary needs for my mother. The only reason i gave 3 stars for rooms, value and cleanliness is it is exactly as she advertised and my expectations were met. Well priced, no surprises except for for the warm friendly family feeling and service you receive from Carol and her family!


Home away from home in Alaska, the Best place to stay a night or a week.

5 on September 18, 2012

Me and my wife stayed two nights here before a 7-nights cruise to Vancouver. The location near the Heritage center and the rail station are the reasons we choose it. The breakfast we had are worth every pennies we paid for, especially the last day we had to leave before 6:00 am to catch the train, Carol got up early around 5:00 am to prepare two to-die-for breakfast boxes with the fresh cooked and baked food and fruits. On the train, we can say, everyone were looking at us enjoying mom-made breakfast. We felt loved staying here. Hope to visit Carol and her museum-like home again and again.


Pleasant Experience at Big Bear & Breakfast

4.4 on September 14, 2012

Carol was very courteous. Breakfast was very good. Rooms were clean.


Great experience

5 on August 29, 2012

We stayed at Big Bear for several nights. It was our first experience staying at a B & B and it was wonderful. The staff were all very pleasant. Carol was especially helpful with advice on things to see and places to eat. The breakfast was super. Something different every day. Overall a wonderful experience.


Real Alaska B&B In Anchorage

4.2 on August 29, 2012

If you want to stay with real Alaska folks in Anchorage, this is the place for you. Carol has a house full of Alaska artifacts. The rooms are decorated in old Alaskan style. There is also a wealth of Alaska information and a variety of publications available in the upstairs guest parlor. Another great thing about this place is the quality of the breakfasts. Carol is a fabulous cook. She provides several different menus based on Alaska specialties. They are all great. Big Bear is also quite a bargain compared to other accomodations in Alaska. It is also very convenient to Anchorage attractions. All of this being said there are a few things to be aware of. This is a converted house, not a hotel. There are steep stairs to be climbed, and a no shoes rule to be obeyed. The upstairs bathrooms are a bit quirky and require some getting used to. These are minor inconveniences that are more than compensated for by staying in a clean, quiet, convenient place in real Alaskan style.


Nice place to stay

4.4 on August 23, 2012

It was a good choice, we love the hostess, the house was very interesting, the garden absolutely fabulous, the breakfast was very very good. It could be perfect if the improvized shower/toilet spaces would be really isolated with real doors. The idea might be good, but it was not finalized properly.


Our stay at Big Bear B&B in July & August 2012

5 on August 21, 2012

One of the highlights of our adventure in Alaska was the Big Bear Bed & Breakfast. Carol Ross was a great hostess, delighting us with culinary foods from her gardens. Carol's knowledge of Alaska was interesting and fit right in with our plans each day. Jack & Shirley Morgan


Great place to stay before or after trekking around Alaska

4.4 on August 13, 2012

Carol and her family are superb hosts and the house is full of memorbilia and antiques. Comfortable and clean room with a large private bath downstairs and even has a sitting area with TV. Parking is easy too. The waffles with native berries will get you off to a great start in the morning. Location is convenient to airport and highway.


A culinary delight!

5 on August 11, 2012

We stayed at the Big Bear Bed & Breakfast for a total of 4 nights over a two week period. Each time was an event in itself; the breakfasts were unique and different every morning. Fresh fruits from the garden. Carol and Shelley were gracious, lively and full of interesting travel hints for our visit to Alaska.


Nice place to stay. Will stay again in the future.

4.2 on August 08, 2012

A lot of area information from the owner, who was raised in Alaska. A good scource of info. This was our second time to stay at this bed & breakfast, and will stay again.


Alaskan vacation

4.4 on August 06, 2012

My husband and I stayed in the Grizzly room for two nights. Comfortable room. Carol is an outstanding host. Breakfast was delicious. Also, she is very helpful with information in the area. We stayed at another B&B in Seward that made us appreciate Carol even more. They said hello. In the morning handed us our breakfast and had no other conversation. Keep up the good work Big Bear.


Great

5 on August 05, 2012

Great place, would stay there again if ever in Anchorage again.


Good first place to stay on Alaska vacation

4.8 on August 03, 2012

Charming host, great stories about her life in Alaska. Delicious breakfast. Could spend hours looking over many antiques and hunting momentous". Everything very clean.


Great Place!!

5 on July 22, 2012

Will stay here again if we get to Anchorage in the future!


Perfect place to lay our heads after traveling from the East Coast

4.2 on July 19, 2012

We got up at 1:30 am to travel to the airport and it took over 18 hrs (with delays, a missed connection, and rerouting through Dallas from Chicago) to get from Vermont to Anchorage and the Big Bear B&B was a welcome sight. A huge king-sized bed for us to stretch out in, a day-bed for our 5 yr old grandson, and a hearty breakfast the next morning were just what we needed to rejunvinate us.


An Oasis

4.4 on July 09, 2012

I was in Anchorage to attend the marathon on June 23, 2012. I found the Big Bear B&B to be exactly what I needed for my first trip to Alaska. I was there several days. It provided: 1, A quiet place to stay 2. A chance to talk to someone (Carol) about life in Alaska and the best things to see and do on a visit of any length. 3. Ideas from other guests at breakfast about things they've just done that they would recommend. 4. Terrific breakfasts, homemade, and ready when you are. Just talk to Carol the day before about when breakfast would best suit your plans. 5. Since I didn't have a car while in Anchorage, I found the People Mover bus stop convenient, even for a two-car owner from California.Those with cars visiting Big Bear appreciated the free parking. 6. My room, the Grizzly Room, was spacious, quiet, dark enough for those days of 20-hours functional daylight the summer brings. 7. For some, most importantly, the price was right. While I was in Anchorage, I visited friends who had a room for two at the Captain Cook hotel. They paid twice as much for the room, and paid plenty for breakfasts at the hotel cafe. Each day they walked through the lobby and into the world of downtown with only vague "brochure knowledge" (marketing) of the city and state they were visiting. I would recommend this B&B for the visitor who really wants to make the most of their Alaskan adventure. It seems ideal for those with rental cars who need a base for day trips out of Anchorage or to start their excursion inland to Denali and beyond.


Awesome place to stay in Anchorage, AK!

5 on July 07, 2012

Lovely homey atmosphere. Enjoyed meeting and talking with other guests. Delicious breakfasts, something different every day. Even had "Box Breakfast" for our early morning fishing trip. Highly recommend this B&B!


Nice finish for our trip

4.6 on July 05, 2012

We stayed our last night in Alaska here. Carol's home was filled with brochures and she had a sitting room upstairs outside our room equipped with microwave, cups and assorted hot cocoa mixes and teas as well as Alaskan videos and DVDs. Nice breakfast visiting with another couple and sampling her homemade fruit sauces over sourdough waffle quarters. Glad we had time to enjoy the meal as we didn't have to hurry off that day.


Welcoming B & B

4.6 on June 27, 2012

Big Bear B & B is an inviting, very interesting, and reasonable place to lodge while in the Anchorage area. Lovely flowers grace the front entrance and the interior is an antique lovers paradise! Breakfast was superb! The Glacier Room in which we stayed, located on the front of the B & B, was a bit too warm, as there is no AC and the sun shone on that room all afternoon and evening. Outside of that, it was very comfortable!


Great Place to Stay

5 on June 24, 2012

My wife and I stayed there the night before our Cruisetour started and it was one of the highlights of our trip. Carol and her family were extremely friendly, the beds were comfortable, and the breakfast was delicious. We enjoyed the stories of the sourdough starters. If we go to Anchorage again, we will definitely try to stay there.


nice stay in Anchorage

4.2 on June 12, 2012

convenient location, 10mins to shopping areas which have Olive Garden etc resterants, and 10-15 mins to downtown. host is very nice, and very good breakfast, next time in Anchorage will stay here again.


Best breakfast in Anchorage

4.8 on June 08, 2012

I've stayed here three times and it's always a good experience. The breakfasts are hot, unique and always tasty. I'm usually on business travel, but this time I brought my family. My husband is gluten free and Carol did a fantastic job accommodating his diet. In fact the gluten free banana bread was the best banana bread I've ever eaten. The rooms are what I expected, because I've been there before. As a family, we stayed in the Grizzly room one night, which is a great room for a couple or a single because the bathroom setup is unique. It's a room that was retrofitted to have a private bath. So when our daughter needed to take a shower, we just left the room and went went into the guest family room, which was actually a very nice setup. After the first night we moved to the Denali room. It was spacious, had a divider between beds and a large bathroom. We were very comfortable. Overall, this B&B is great, the food is excellent, fresh (often from the garden), and much has been done to make the accommodations it comfortable and convenient for the guests. I'll stay there again.


very enjoyable

4.6 on May 22, 2012

great gourmet breakfast. Carol is extremely knowledgeable about Alaska. enjoyed our stay and Carol's descriptions


Excellence all around.

5 on April 07, 2012

Carol Can Cook!! If you are into a rushed breakfast and out the door person, then this may not be for you. Her meals involve preparation time and she takes it seriously. Beside the breakfast, the place is a quiet, convenient get away. Rooms are comfortable and the home is a little museum. I visited before the warm weather came. That means I missed the pleasure of her garden. The garden may be as good as her cooking.


Thank your for your hospitality!

5 on March 21, 2012

Great stay! Friendly atmosphere! Good food! Thanks so much!


AMAZING breakfast

4.6 on March 03, 2012

We felt very at home at Big Bear Bed and Breakfast and it was, by far, the best breakfast we have ever had at a bed and breakfast! YUM!


Big Bear Review

5 on December 14, 2011

Carol does an outstanding job at making travelers feel at home. She has a wealth of knowledge about early Alaska and is eager to share it. The room was spacious, the bed comfortable, and the separate living room much appreciated. Her breakfasts are outstanding! I stayed in the winter, but would love to come back and see the garden in full bloom.


big bear review

4.4 on October 28, 2011

The owner has lived in Alaska all her life and has many interesting stories to tell. The food was outstanding and I had no complaints.


Our Trip to see our First Grandsons

5 on October 25, 2011

Our visit was great at Big Bear B&B. It was a special trip to Alaska and get to see our first two grandsons. We were treated like one of the family and would recommend Big Bear B&B to anyone who enjoys a family atmosphere.


A wonderful place to learn about Alaska

5 on September 28, 2011

Carol is a wonderful host and she is a wealth of alaska history. Her breakfast are fantastic, and almost all her waffle toppings are from her yard. She is a great cook and a pleasant lady to be around. I doubt I will ever stay in a hotel again. I can't wait for spring so I can see her beautiful yard in bloom!


Stewardship

5 on September 18, 2011

Carol’s flowers and garden frame Big Bear. Her master gardener skills and knowledge come into the kitchen to blend with her master culinary arts. Carol is a superb baker as well as a cook. Her presentation of her food captures the visual beauty of Alaska. Big Bear is a living tribute to the state of Alaska. Her many display’s of Alaskan art, native crafts, big bear skin and various ivory pieces blend with her antiques to show her creativity. Carol is truly a steward for the state of Alaska. I encourage everyone visiting the state to treat themselves to Big Bear hospitality.


What a visit!

5 on September 10, 2011

Everything was amazing! Right down to every detail. We needed to leave early -6 am, on our last day, and Carol was up before us, making a "box breakfast" for our train ride. Her garden, used for our meals, was very tasty. This may sound corny, but it reminded me of the days when I went to "grandma's house". Attention was given to whatever she could do to help you, and she went "all out" in preparation of her meals. Even dessert after breakfast!!! I highly reccommend staying here. It beats a name brand hotel anyday.


Big Bear Bed & Breakfast

4.2 on September 04, 2011

My husband and I were impressed by Carol's knowledge about Alaska and her extensive collection of native art. The house itself is very comfortable and we were warmly welcomed. Carol herself cooked our delicious breakfast. It was my husband's first B&B experience and I couldn't have chosen a better place for it.


A great place to stay

4.0 on August 31, 2011

This B&B is not just a house but a home away from home. A warm welcome, great breakfasts and a lot to see and to discuss.


Ozzies loved Big Bear ......

4.8 on August 29, 2011

"Museum", True Alaskan Cuisine and more, engaging commentary, wonderfull location, friendly and informative hosts - what more can one ask for?


Real Alaskan B&B

5 on August 29, 2011

I live in Seward, Alaska and stayed in this B&B while visiting Anchorage with my friends from Texas. The Big Bear B&B is run by a long time Alaskan family - ready to share stories with their guests! Breakfasts are cooked with goodies from their luscious garden and the family sourdough (with a story, of course). From now on, whenever we have guests from the Lower 48 coming to visit us in Seward, I am going to highly recommend the Big Bear B&B so that they can experience real Alaskans in an interesting and very deluxe lodging.


Our favorite B&B!

5 on August 28, 2011

This was our 5th time staying at Big Bear. Carol & her family are very nice & eager to share Alaska with visitors. The rooms are clean & nice & the beds are comfortable. The best part, though, are the breakfasts! Carol is a fantastic cook & we look forward to her fabulous meals every time we are in Anchorage!


Alaska positives

4.0 on August 26, 2011

Carol was extremely hospitable. The house was a bit of living history, and both it and her knowledge of the area serve as a great introduction to Alaska.


Big Bear B&B

4.0 on August 24, 2011

Best breakfast in Alaska...especially the sour dough waffles and fresh fruit.


Wonderful Anchorage B & B

5 on August 19, 2011

Enjoyed lovely living room, snacks, extra bathroom, antiques, privacy, history behind the owner's Alaskan life and delicious breakfast.


A must do in Anchorage

5 on August 15, 2011

It was totally amazing and unexpected. From the quality of the rooms to hospitality to delicious breakfast everything was purrfect. Antique furnitures, modern bathroom fixtures, beautiful garden and native artifacts made it all worth the money. Carol is very sweet.


Our Alaskan Home Away From Home

5 on August 11, 2011

We enjoyed our stay at Big Bear B & B. Carol and Shelley made us feel at home. We had an early morning departure to go to Katmai National Park, and Carol got up early so we had a box breakfast to take with us. The breakfast was wonderful, and the other people on our trip were jealous of our tasty feast. We will definitely stay here again if we are in Anchorage.


Ok, but weird

3.0 on August 04, 2011

Staying at Big Bear Bed & Breakfast is like visiting someone you don't know, while they are still living there - which is really weird. The people are nice, but their living space intersects with your room. People are nice, the food is good, but the our stay was weird.


Unique Taste of Alaska

4.2 on August 02, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Big Bear Bed and Breakfast. The owner was very generous with her time in sharing the unique history of Anchorage and early Alaskan life. And her waffle breakfast with all the local condiments (jams, syrups, and jellies) was outstanding and a wonderful "taste" of real Alaska.


Well worth the visit!

4.6 on July 25, 2011

Carol's home is like an Alaskan museum of natural history. Her breakfast is unsurpassed. Her monolog of Alaskan and local history, while serving sourdough waffles, topped with a variety of backyard grown fruit highlighted with spiced reindeer sausage created a memory that cannot be matched in a commercial hotel or restaurant. Highly recommend this Bed and Breakfast!!


A Taste of the Real Alaska

4.4 on July 23, 2011

We spent three nights here at the end of our Alaskan trip and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. In addition to serving us three fabulous breakfasts (with completely different menu selections), Carol entertained us with stories of her life in Alaska. She has great suggestions for things to do and places to eat. The two restaurants she recommended (Glacier Brewhouse and Orso) were excellent. Big Bear B&B is almost like a museum with Carol's impressive collection of native Alaska art and vintage knick-knacks. This is something to keep in mind if you have small children, because there are so many interesting objects that little fingers will want to touch! Complimentary soft drinks and hot cocoa are available all day in the common area, which has a TV, VCR and large collection of videos.


Big Bear B&B Anchorage

4.6 on July 22, 2011

We stayed one night at Big Bear B&B on our last night as we traveled through Alaska. The host Carol Ross was wonderful- she showed us around, gave us information about local restaurants and hikes, and driving directions. The breakfast she made was delectable with homemade jams and waffles, and authentic reindeer sausage. I would highly recommend this. We had the Grizzly room ,where the closet was converted to a bathroom so we had a private bath. Very nice! The whole house is decorated with Alaskan goods, for me it was interesting, for others it may seem cluttered...


Big Bear Bed and Breakfast Anchorage AK

5 on July 15, 2011

Carol Ross provides a delicious home-cooked breakfast for her guests in a warm-family friendly B&B. We felt pampered and enjoyed our stay!


Gourmet Breakfast with Alaska Hospitality

4.6 on July 12, 2011

I stayed only one night at Big Bear and found the accommodations to be commendable. Carol is a very welcoming hostess, and is very knowledgeable and proud of Alaska. Since I arrived late and did not have my rental car yet, I was reluctant to go out to find a bite to eat. I was very surprised and gladly accepted Carol’s offer of home- made rhubarb pie (with whipped topping) and she even included a small snack! The breakfast was truly delicious, and I enjoyed Carol’s stories of the history of her sourdough starter, and stories of previous generations of her Alaskan family – It was my best breakfast in Alaska! I wish I could have stayed there more than one night, and if I visit Anchorage again, I will definitely try to stay here again! Karin B. - California


Alaska Journey

4.0 on July 09, 2011

There is so much history in this house.The Innkeeper was very knowledgeable about the are area and most any questions we asked. It was an excellent find.


Great place in Anchorage

5 on July 08, 2011

We spent three nights in the Big Bear B&B and had a wonderful time. The home is full of Alaskian artifacts and breakfasts were outstanding.


Night in Anchorage

5 on July 08, 2011

Very clean and comfortable, and great hospitality and extemely helpful.


Stay at the Big Bear B&B was great.

4.2 on July 06, 2011

Our host, Carol, was very accomodating. She let us use her washer and dryer and let me store my 37 pounds of Halibut, box and all, in her freezer for the night. Her breakfast quality was world class and she makes it a point not to serve the same dish to you everyday. Her sour dough waffles are great. She offers a 7, 8, or 9 am breakfast and will even provide a box breakfast for those early flights.


Wonderful B & B

5 on July 06, 2011

We stayed three nights & were totally pleased. Breakfast was outstanding. Our room was immaculate. We recommend Big Bear B & B.


Wonderful experience!

5 on July 05, 2011

This was our first stay in a Bed & Breakfast and we thoroughly enjoyed it. Carol, our hostess, was the best. We arrived late and she and her daughter, Shelley, were there to great us and make us feel at home. The breakfast was delicious and the background information and interesting stories were an added plus. We liked it so much we went back for another night and enjoyed relaxing in the beautiful garden area. Had to leave very early the next morning, but Carol got up early and prepared another delicious breakfast to take with us. We would highly recommend this B&B.


ok place

3.0 on June 28, 2011

At breakfast, we kinda felt uncomfortable because the host would only bring a quarter of a waffle (four times) so we could try the different sauces. Also felt the host was more interested in telling her own stories rather than giving us any insight on our vacation in Alaska since this was our first night in alaska and wanted some information about areas to visit. The food and stay was very good otherwise.


Our stay at the Big Bear Bed & Breakfast

4.0 on June 20, 2011

We stayed at the Big Bear & Breakfast in May and really enjoyed it very much. Innkeeper Carol was very friendly & accomodating to our needs. The breakfast were outstanding and she even graciously gave me some recipies and showed me step by step how to make one of them. You will not be disappointed in your stay at this bed & breakfast & if we are ever in Anchorage again we will definitely stay there. The Aleman's & Simon's


Alaska Stories

3.4 on June 13, 2011

Our stay at the Big Bear was like a living history experience. The home is filled with historical artifacts and tales of homesteading and adventure. The hostess has lived in Alaska all her life and works her tales into all aspects of your stay. The breakfast, pure Alaska, was really good and consisted of "the tastes of Alaska". I did find the room a bit crowded for my personal taste. If you want to experience Alaska then this is a great stay and you will definitely know more about life in Alaska then when you arrived.


Anchorage May 2011

4.0 on May 31, 2011

We both began and ended our Alaskan adventure at Big Bear Bed & Breakfast. We highly recommend the personal attention of the co-owners Carol and Shelley. Breakfast was a feast and our request for vegetarian slections were accomodated wonderfully. While all rooms have bathrooms some bathroms could be described as 'pullman' type so be sure to ask the set-up if this is important to you. We would certainly visit again.


Clean. Recommend it.

4.2 on May 31, 2011

This is a nice place to stay, and very clean. You have to remove your shoes before entering, but it's worth it to keep the place clean! The breakfast was excellent too. Perhaps I could have rated the value higher, but I don't have anything to compare with it. There are a lot of knickknacks so be careful if you have small children. Also, there are a few furs which may offend some animal rights activists. Our room was lovely and clean though. The people were friendly, knowledgeable, and helpful. My only disappointment was that the Internet wasn't working. (But she did offer to let me use her own computer with phone card.) That was a little inconvenient which also caused me to rate the value as I did. The garden in back is a sweet spot to relax and enjoy. Overall, it was great, and I would definitely stay there again. I definitle recommend it.


NY meets Anchorage, Alaska

4.6 on April 18, 2011

My husband and I had a wonderful stay at Big Bear. The breakfast were different each and every day and just so delightful and simply yummy. Her cooking was incredible and was satisying and sooooo filling. We literally barely had room for dinner ( we'd have to skip lunch most days) ! We stayed for 7 whole nights and absolutley enjoyed the accomodations and we highly recommend this bed and breakfast as it was so friendly, clean and worth every penny. You can't buy hospitality like this for sure. Carol was alaos so knowledgable and gave awesome insights and recommedations on things to see and do. We booked September to come back again!!!!! We can't begin to say enough, except to say that if your considering any bed and breakfast, be sure to stay here....you won't regret it! Till we meet again Alaska....The West's


Amazing Stay-Cation

4.0 on October 27, 2010

We went to the Big Bear Bed and Breakfast as a get away from every day life in Anchorage. For the price it was the best experience. For as much as we would have payed at a hotel we were more comfortable and got the most amazing breakfasts'. Carol is so much fun to talk with. And the stories and knowledge she has of Anchorage is incredible. I would highly recommend anyone here.


Wonderful host, accomodations & food

4.6 on January 23, 2010

We stayed at the Big Bear B&B for a week last Sept. Couldn't have chosen better! The Denali Room was very comfortable and perfect for the two of us and our adult daughter. The accomodations were outstanding. Their living room contained bear skins, a mammoth head and tusks, and many other Alaska artifacts. Our friendly hostesses, Carol, Ross & Shelly Houston, totallly spoiled us with hearty breakfasts of freshly picked blue berries, frittatas, reindeer sausages, waffles, and much, much more. As life-long residents of Anchorage they described the wild life, and local and distant points of interest, and entertained us with stories of their experiences in beautiful Alaska. We highly recommend Big Bear Bed & Breakfast. Roy & Lesey Van Riper, Whidbey Island, Wa.


B & B rich with Alaskan history

4.8 on August 02, 2009

Carol and Shelley, Thanks for a wonderful stay. We enjoyed the 3 nights we spent in your Glacier Room. The breakfasts were outstanding (especially all the fresh produce from your own garden and salmon caught by your own family). The gardens were extraordinarily beautiful and peaceful. I loved all the Alaskan art and history that you shared during our stay. Thanks to the resident artist for the lovely ivory gift he fashioned for my mother. Thanks for making our stay something that we will remember forever.


Big Bear Bed & Breakfast

Details

  • Nightly Rate $85 - $125
  • Reviews (98) 4.5
  • Rooms 4

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-9072778189

Visit Website »

View details

Top