Recent Reviews in Abbeville, Louisiana

Great stay!! at The Caldwell House (Abbeville, Louisiana)

5 reviewed on May 09, 2016

My husband and I stayed at the Caldwell one night with another couple from Austin. We so enjoyed having a drink on your porch and being able to walk to dinner. The rooms were very comfortable and clean. The highlight was breakfast and getting to talk with Caroline. Wonderful person.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful small B&B in the heart of Cajun Country at The Guest Room (Abbeville, LA)

4.8 reviewed on April 17, 2016

From the moment we arrived, the hospitality and care we received from Deborah who owns The Guest Room in Abbeville, LA was exceptional. She and I texted on my way to the home about some of my concerns and I felt an immediate rapport with her. When we arrived she was there with a flashlight. It is a lovely room with everything you could possibly need. The furnishings are comfortable and appropriate. There is a wonderful patio with beautiful plants. The bathroom is well appointed and comes stocked with bath salts Deborah makes herself. There was homemade quiche in the refrigerator with fresh fruit for our breakfast each morning of our stay and coffee, juice and water are provided. We had a lovely time staying at The Guest Room and would highly recommend it to anyone else making their way to this part of the country. Deborah will make sure you have plenty of recommendations on where to go and eat.

View more reviews for this inn


Very awesome and romantic at The Caldwell House (Abbeville, Louisiana)

5 reviewed on February 18, 2016

Stayed in the master suite. Bed was amazing! Hot tub was too. I highly recommend it. Will go again. Food was best I have had from a bed and breakfast

View more reviews for this inn


Couldn't have been better! at The Caldwell House (Abbeville, Louisiana)

5 reviewed on February 10, 2016

The place was very beautiful, quite, and very comfortable! The people that worked there were very helpful and generous offering to help in any way possible. They really made our stay worth while. The food provided along with the service in the morning was great and was punctual with the time frame given. If you are looking for an elegant, comfortable, and quiet place to stay I would totally recomend this place. My bride and I were very pleased with our choice to stay there.

View more reviews for this inn


Great cottage for our family at The Caldwell House (Abbeville, Louisiana)

4.4 reviewed on October 26, 2015

Our family of five stayed in the cottage for a wedding in town. We were very comfortable and found the manager Carolyn to be welcoming and friendly! The cottage was attractive and well furnished especially the kitchen where we prepared our own meals and snacks. We would recommend this for an Abbeville getaway.

View more reviews for this inn


Basic B/B at The Caldwell House (Abbeville, Louisiana)

2.6 reviewed on May 12, 2015

The Caldwell House has an excellent location and is only a short walk from several great restaurants such as Blacks and Dupuis. However, the rooms, while quaint, needed renovations and perhaps a few upgrades. The bathroom had a tub but no shower curtain so the water tended to splash onto the floor. The fixtures needed replacement as did the tiles. Breakfast was a disappointment. The meal consisted of bacon, eggs, and potatoes. Having been in hundreds of B/Bs, I fully expected fruit, toast with jelly, and a variety of teas to accompany the main courses. Such was not the case. Value is also an issue. Though we enjoyed our stay and had a wonderful conversation with the housekeeper, the overall experience was pricey.

View more reviews for this inn


M and M at the Caldwell House at The Caldwell House (Abbeville, Louisiana)

5 reviewed on March 30, 2015

We stayed two nights and had to leave too early in the morning to have our second breakfast We were traveling to Austin. We enjoyed dinner in Abbeville. Felt like we were in a small town especially as we drove around in the area. Went to Avery Island to visit the Tabasco plant and also the Jefferson House. The breakfast that was served was creative and plentiful.

View more reviews for this inn


Great B&B at The Caldwell House (Abbeville, Louisiana)

4.4 reviewed on March 15, 2015

Lovely old home in a beautiful setting. Always enjoyable.

View more reviews for this inn


Great weekend getaway at The Caldwell House (Abbeville, Louisiana)

5 reviewed on January 19, 2015

There was a wedding reception for a local couple scheduled the night of our first night's stay. The family of the bride invited us to join them and we had a great time. Saturday it rained all day and we all sat out on the front porch and read books visited, and just had a very relaxing day. The local restaraunts were amazing.

View more reviews for this inn


Takes you back to another time. at The Caldwell House (Abbeville, Louisiana)

4.4 reviewed on November 27, 2014

This is a like finding a diamond in the rough. The rooms are hugh and our bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was nothing special (there were only 2 of us there), but the hospitality was fantastic. The house was already decorated for Christmas and every room (reception rooms, bedrooms and dining room) had decorations and a tree in it. The furniture, decor, lighting fixtures were all antiques and transported one to another less hectic time. Thoroughly enjoyed our visit.

View more reviews for this inn


Lavish home setting in Abbeville! at The Caldwell House (Abbeville, Louisiana)

4.0 reviewed on November 10, 2014

The review website won't let me enter OUTSTANDING, so I want to be clear that the rooms really are OUTSTANDING. My sisters & I felt that we were being welcomed into a lavish family home. Beds are super comfortable & Gretchen prepared a fantastic breakfast for us. Thank you!

View more reviews for this inn


Anniversary getaway at The Guest Room (Abbeville, LA)

4.2 reviewed on October 04, 2014

So nice, quiet, private, decor cozy, welcoming. Central location for sites and tourism we wanted to see.

View more reviews for this inn


Eloquent B&B in beautiful Louisiana. at The Caldwell House (Abbeville, Louisiana)

5 reviewed on August 25, 2014

My wife and I were in town for a wedding. We were made to feel at home in this beautiful B&B.

View more reviews for this inn


Thank you! at The Caldwell House (Abbeville, Louisiana)

5 reviewed on July 31, 2014

Thank you, Carolyn. It was a joy meeting you. Our breakfast conversations were a highlight of our Southern journey, and learning about the area from your personal stories was so valuable. Thanks for baking the pecan French toast too :)) Tom and Nancy Bash

View more reviews for this inn


Love the Caldwell House at The Caldwell House (Abbeville, Louisiana)

5 reviewed on July 14, 2014

My husband and I recently spent two nights at The Caldwell House in the Fleur de Lies room. We had never stayed at a Bed and Breakfast and were not quite sure what to expect. We absolutely loved it! Carolyn made us feel so welcome. Our room and bath were clean and comfortable, plenty of room. The breakfast both mornings was delicious and the dining room so pretty. When we left we felt like we had spent two days visiting in the home of an old friend! If you are anywhere near Abbeville, La we recommend staying at The Caldwell House.

View more reviews for this inn


A wonderfully unique place at The Caldwell House (Abbeville, Louisiana)

4.2 reviewed on April 08, 2014

The Caldwell House is delightful, and Carolyn is a great hostess, whose knowledge of the area ensures an entertaining and educational time in this neck of the woods. And breakfast was more than excellent.

View more reviews for this inn


excellent staff at The Caldwell House (Abbeville, Louisiana)

4.0 reviewed on April 08, 2014

Stayed April 4, booked one night, should have stayed at least 2 nights. Room was great, staff was absolutely outstanding. Loved the town, food, atmosphere, will return.

View more reviews for this inn


Very Nice at The Caldwell House (Abbeville, Louisiana)

4.6 reviewed on March 07, 2014

We had a great time - stayed 3 nights. Very comfortable.

View more reviews for this inn


John Hoogland at The Caldwell House (Abbeville, Louisiana)

5 reviewed on February 18, 2014

Everything was spot on. The rooms were great. Everything was very clean and very nice. It was a beautiful home. I enjoyed everything about it.

View more reviews for this inn


Peaceful and quiet. at The Caldwell House (Abbeville, Louisiana)

5 reviewed on January 21, 2014

My husband and I celebrated our anniversary at The Caldwell. The experience was absolutely wonderful! The staff was so cordial and accomodating. I can definitely see us making this an annual event!

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Caldwell House at The Caldwell House (Abbeville, Louisiana)

5 reviewed on November 05, 2013

This was the shining star of our B&B trip. The hostess made it so enjoyable .

View more reviews for this inn


Like staying in your own fabulous family home at The Caldwell House (Abbeville, Louisiana)

4.0 reviewed on September 28, 2013

Comfortable rooms, and my family felt very much at home at The Caldwell. Breakfast was good, and we enjoyed relaxing on the front porch and wandering around the grounds.

View more reviews for this inn


Our first trip to upstate New York at The Caldwell House (Abbeville, Louisiana)

4.8 reviewed on July 02, 2013

My wife and I, along with some friends, stayed at the Caldwell House for our first visit in this area, and we couldn't have been happier with our selection. John and Dena were wonderful hosts, and we enjoyed out time together during the wonderful breakfasts. We enjoyed the other guests, too! Our room, the Moodna, was perfect for us. We had a small issue with the billing, but John took care of it quickly with no complaints. I cannot recommend highly enough the location, room, and hosts of the Caldwell House.

View more reviews for this inn


Will be back at The Caldwell House (Abbeville, Louisiana)

3.4 reviewed on May 06, 2013

The Caldwell is situated in the neat town of Abbeville, La. It is a very pretty B&B and the staff was most accommodating. A few things could stand some updating, but considering the structure is 100+ years old, it is delightful. I would definitely plan to stay there again when I am in the area.

View more reviews for this inn


Four Generations at The Caldwell House (Abbeville, Louisiana)

5 reviewed on April 20, 2013

Four generations of our family, ranging in age from 2 to 83, had a great stay at The Caldwell House. Everything was wonderful, including breakfasts, hospitality and wonderful nearby restaurants. We highly recommend The Caldwell House!

View more reviews for this inn


AMAZING Experience! at The Caldwell House (Abbeville, Louisiana)

5 reviewed on April 17, 2013

This was our first time at a bed and breakfast. What an amazing experience it was! Caroline the inn keeper was absolutely amazing. The house was breath taking and immaculate.....Which is a biggie for me! It really felt like you were at home while there! The breakfast was top notch too. When we left the next morning we were sent away with warm hugs. We will definitely be making plans to stay at The Caldwell House again. Perfect B&B experience!

View more reviews for this inn


A Wonderful Experience at The Caldwell House (Abbeville, Louisiana)

4.6 reviewed on April 07, 2013

Our stay at The Caldwell was wonderful; the staff was very accommodating (Carolyn, etc.), the room was excellent, great location in town, food by Don's catering was most enjoyable. We highly recommend!

View more reviews for this inn


Caldwell House Stay at The Caldwell House (Abbeville, Louisiana)

5 reviewed on March 23, 2013

The Caldwell is a fun place to stay. Nice wood floors, bay windows and tall ceilings. Good food and good service. I recommend it.

View more reviews for this inn


Caldwell at The Caldwell House (Abbeville, Louisiana)

5 reviewed on February 12, 2013

Really enjoyed the visit. Hope to stay there again soon. Very polite and friendly hosts.

View more reviews for this inn


More than Happy at The Caldwell House (Abbeville, Louisiana)

5 reviewed on November 07, 2012

We stayed here for a century cycle race and their rooms are spacious, clean and charming in a delightful way! We started looking for other reasons to come back! The service was friendly and we truely felt like we were a guest in someone's home.

View more reviews for this inn


Top-ranked B&Bs

  1. The Caldwell House (4.70)
  2. The Guest Room (4.50)
Top
}