Long Lake Waterfront Bed & Breakfast Reviews

Overall
4.5

View details

  • Guest room4.6
  • Services4.6
  • Value4.3
  • Cleanliness4.7
  • Dining4.3

Score Breakdown based on
34 Reviews

Write A Review

One of the very best B&Bs in Nanaimo

3.6 on August 12, 2012

The three days at Long Lake Waterfront made me proud to prove to my family from South Africa what a wonderful place Vancouver Island is. I came to Vancouver 30 years ago, and wanted to demonstrate to them why I stayed here. Gordie and Janice's beautiful B&B home on the lake, their friendly conversation, helpful tips for sightseeing, scrumptious breakfasts, and everything else showed my family the best of Canadian hospitality. It also ensured that I will return. Marleane


Lovely get-a-way

4.6 on October 23, 2011

Gordie and Janice were extremely gracious hosts, always ready to assist in any way they could. The rooms were spotless and full of every little ammenity one could imagine. The view from the Madrona room was lovely to read by and wake up to. Thank you for a wonderful stay! Tina and Alicia Erickson


our stay at Long Lake

4.8 on October 10, 2011

The room was very spacious and comfortable! It had a gorgeous view of the lake (all the rooms have a fantastic lake view)! The property was amazing and the owners paid a lot of attention to detail, including pretty much anything you could possibly need. It was in a very convenient location to the waterfront area, shopping, restaurants, parks, and bike trails. I have some dietary restrictions and there was no problem at all having them accommodated. We enjoyed talking with the owners and the other guests over breakfast, in the bright & sunny breakfast room with lake view. As part of our orientation to the property, we even got to go for a spin on the lake with the owner on his sea-doo! An unexpected but very fun perk! We will definitely stay here again should we ever be in the area and we recommend it to others! :)


Relaxing!

3.8 on October 08, 2011

We enjoyed 2 nights at Long Lake waterfront The rooms are clean & very well appointed, breakfast was lovely, the lake view is peaceful, Janice & Gordie are wonderful hosts. Would Recommend!


Wonderful stay with friendly people

5 on October 01, 2011

Great hosts, lovely stay - wish it could have been longer.


Beautiful place

3.8 on September 26, 2011

Great place by the lake. Recommandation: Stay at least 2 days to enjoy the lake. Very friendly owners.


Wine and Roses

5 on September 21, 2011

Would have preferred a regular mattress rather than foam. Otherwise everything else was superior. Great home and great family.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for the great review - it is appreciated. We offer king size feather top matresses in Lakeside and Madrona suites. We will also take your suggestion and incorporate a choice in the Arbutus suite.


Long Lake Waterfront Bed & Breakfast, Nanaimo B.C.

4.8 on September 18, 2011

We greatly enjoyed our stay and hope to be back in the future. The hosts, Janice and Gord, truly make you feel welcome and are most accommodating. The site is very picturesque (rock, water, big trees) and we particularly enjoyed swimming in beautiful, clean Long Lake from the sandy private beach. Our suite contained every conceivable aspect of comfort. Breakfast was very good. When we booked our stay, we thought that this would be a nice place based on the info on the web-site. We found that it was even better than we had expected. Five stars.


Keep up the good work

4.4 on September 09, 2011

Marlene was very helpful and friendly; breakfast was great (with view too). Love to come back again if we are in Nanaimo again.


2 day stay

1.8 on September 09, 2011

hot tub filthy breakfast was just ok needed ketchup but they were hesitant to give it to us

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your review. We acknowledge that you experienced our less than normal quality of our B&B lifestyle. Our hot tub is 3 months old with self cleaning as well it is cleaned every morning after guest use at night. We will take your suggestion and make more condiments available for the morning meal. Cheers


By far the best!

5 on September 08, 2011

Long Lake Watefront B&B is by far the best B& B we have stayed at in BC. It is a cut above the rest in all respects.


BEAUTIFUL AND RELAXING

5 on August 21, 2011

Our Hosts Gordie and Janice made us feel very welcome from the moment we met them. Their B & B has beautiful view of the lake from your private living area and room. We couldn't have ask for a more. The breakfast was great!a Gordie and Janice are very helpful on any information you need or ideas to do in the area. We would stay there again and stay longer. We love everything about the B & B. Len and Sandy


A good choice

4.4 on August 19, 2011

We had a very pleasant stay at Long Lake Waterfront. Gordie&Janice let us felt like home from the very beginning and Gordie proved his promise to serve us a different breakfast every morning on our one week stay. He's also an execellent driver on his jet boat on which he took us on a little trip around long lake. Helpful in any way this accomodation is highly recommended. Rainer


The place was just beautiful!!!!! The host are so warm and friendly

5 on August 05, 2011

We were only there one night but wished we could have stayed alot longer. The House is georgeous and Gordie and Janice are very very nice and helpfull.


Great Place

4.0 on August 04, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for a long weekend in July 2011, we have a great time. The setting is perfect right on the lake and Goron and Janice are great hosts. We will definately be going back soon!


An amazing place!

5 on August 04, 2011

We had a wonderful time in this beautiful & clean bed and breakfast this summer. Gordie and Janice are warm and lovely hosts and made us feel right at home. The bed was comfortable, we loved the jacuzzi in the room and also made use of their hot tub outside and kayaks, as well as swimming in the lake that their back stairs lead to. It was a place we'd go back to in a heartbeat.


Coming back for sure!

4.8 on July 20, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay in the Madrona suite. What a beautiful room, beautiful view, and relaxing atmosphere. The hot tub and all the rest of the "extras" really pushed this bed and breakfast over the top. Gordie and Janice are wonderful as well.


How good does it get!

5 on July 20, 2011

Everything about this Bed and Breakfast is fantastic. There cannot be many better places to stay in Canada! Above all, it is the care and friendliness of the proprietors that makes this B and B so successful. Good luck, Gordie and Janice, and thank you for adding an unexpected bonus to our Canadian holiday.


Nanaimo

3.6 on July 18, 2011

I enjoyed my two nights stay and Long Lake Waterfront B&B both Gordie and Janice were very gracious hosts.


Long Lake Birthday getaway

5 on July 13, 2011

Beautiful views, wonderful hosts, extra perks (Complimentary kayaks and peddle boat) a complimentary tour of the lake on a SEADOO, delicious breakfasts, lovely private decks and beatifully lit up hottub. I'll will definately recommend this place to many friends and family.


Long Lake Waterfront B&B

4.8 on June 15, 2011

Very nice room with a view of the Lake; wonderful breakfast (even compared to other B&Bs); and friendly owners. We highly recommend it to others.


stay at long lake

5 on May 26, 2011

great breakfast. nice hosts, very clean. wished smking spot would have been a little more comfy.


Very nice indeed

4.0 on May 25, 2011

It was rainy while we were there but I can see how awesome a place it would be in the sunshine!


Wonderful stay

4.0 on May 16, 2011

What an absolutely wonderful place to get away. Our small room with a huge bathroom was spotless, welcoming and relaxing. Breakfast was fantastic and the view was spectacular. Our hosts were fabulous and friendly and we shared some good stories. We'll definitely make time to go kayaking next time for sure. Such great value, we'll book here for next time for sure. Thanks so much to our hosts!


Amazing B&B on the Lake!

4.8 on May 08, 2011

My fiancee and I recently went on a trip up Vancouver Island, staying at a variety of accommodations along the way. Long Lake B&B was the favourite for the both of us! When we first arrived we were warmly greeted by our hosts Janice and Gordie. Janice took great care in showing us to our suite, and around the house and property. They were wonderfully friendly and gave us great advice on where we could go for dinner. The room its self was great. It exceeded the comfort and cleanliness of any of the other places we stayed during our trip! And what a view! Being right on the water front makes this a perfect location to stay for one night, or for more! Finally, breakfast was fantastic! Gordie cooked up some fantastic experimental french toast for us, and it was excellent! We shared breakfast with another couple, and it was wonderful. Overall, I will definitely be keeping Long Lake B&B in mind for the next time I am in the Nanaimo area!


Must Stay!

4.8 on April 22, 2011

While looking for a city to move to I stayed at the Long Lake B&B.What a beautiful place! Service was perfect. The owners were more than willing to give me the information I needed to experience and enjoy Vancouver island.The breakfast provided was amazing!I couldn't have asked for anything more while staying here. Anyone would enjoy their stay here as well:)


Outstanding Experience!

5 on February 19, 2011

My wife and I stayed the night for our honeymoon on Valentines day and it was incredible. Huge and clean room, great views, great breakfast and Gordie and Janice couldn't be nicer! Will definitely be back!


Winter

3.6 on January 04, 2011

The 360 room view is dated but the static pictures are accurate. Website ensured no surprises. Anyone that has trouble with stairs will have problems getting to the rooms. Mostly quiet (we live in a VERY rural area) those from urban areas will find it very quiet – very distant traffic and one train whistle. Just a minute or two from shopping malls and great restaurants. Nice mountain views as well as the lake. No complaints here...


Simply the best

5 on November 24, 2010

We had the Madrona room and completely enjoyed our stay here. Beautiful view, wonderful breakfast and our hosts did everything to make our stay enjoyable.


Perfect in every way!

5 on November 17, 2010

The room was lovely with a great view over the lake. Every little thing had been thought of by our friendly hosts. The jacuzzi bath and hot tub were the icing on the cake. We could not fault it...the best B&B we stayed in on our 6 week trip.


Great spot - view incredible

4.4 on October 17, 2010

What a wonderful place. Definitely one we will return time and time again when we come to the island. Great place, and great people.


Long Lake B&B

4.6 on October 12, 2010

Beautiful setting and luxurious room. The highlight was the Sea Doo tour of the lake. We highly recommend.


Wonderful Place, Wonderful Hospitality

4.8 on March 21, 2010

We arrived at Long Lake Waterfront unannounced--albeit off-season--but friendly innkeepers Janice and Gordie rose to the occasion and had us settled in in no time. This B&B has tastefully decorated rooms and makes the most of its beautiful location on the water. The food at breakfast is extremely good (we especially liked the egg and vegetables souffle with mild chipotle dressing on the side) and the living room has pretty much everything one could wish for--including, to our immense personal joy, an old but perfectly tuned guitar. Janice and Gordie are very entertaining people and give lots of valuable tips for spending days and evenings. We had a great time.


Home away from home.

5 on November 04, 2009

Our month long stay was so comfy,clean and private. Janice and Gordie were excellent hosts. Great breakfasts and great conversations. We will remain friends after we've moved to Nanaimo. Come experience this great B&B for yourself.


Long Lake Waterfront Bed & Breakfast

Details

  • Nightly Rate CAD 110 - CAD 185
  • Reviews (34) 4.5
  • Rooms 3

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-8777585010

Visit Website »

View details

Top