Shangarry Bed and Breakfast Reviews

Overall
4.9

View details

  • Guest room4.6
  • Service5
  • Value4.9
  • Cleanliness4.9
  • Dining5

Score Breakdown based on
17 Reviews

Write A Review

A Touch of Ireland Hospitality

5 on September 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed 2 nights in the Ha Penny room. We had access to the whole bottom floor, which is very private., but also able to use the up stairs. The house is beautiful and the area if close to the train ( 15 minute walk) which brings you downtown. Also you could drive your car to the mall a few minutes away , then walk 5 minutes to the train station. Josephine also offered to drive us there, but we are walkers , so did not mind the walk. The breakfast Josephine made was delicious and the dining room table setting was very elegant. The extra touches Josephine gives is the best, such as wine or beer she offers, and chocolate and nuts in the evening. Josephine and her husband Raghu are the perfect host ,very helpful and accommodating. They are great people who will make your stay enjoyable. This B and B is close to downtown Calgary and close to the airport. You will feel like family here, not only with the hosts, but with the other guests your will meet. We were able to meet a nice couple from Scotlland and also learn about their country. All and all we had a great stay in a beautiful home. Great fine Joe and Joanne New Jersey B, is the perfect location , to see downtown Calgary and close to the airport. Josephine and Raghu


Genuine Warm-hearted Courteous Irish Hospitality

5 on February 17, 2013

The warmth of Josephine's hospitality is apparent in every aspect of Shangarry B & B. The rooms are exceptionally comfortable, clean & inviting and breakfasts are a delight! We felt as though we were the closet of friends and our comfort was paramount. We highly recommend Shangarry B & B to all types of travellers and can't wait to visit again ourselves


Perfect B&B

5 on September 10, 2012

Josephine takes care of everyone with a very special attention so that everything is perfect during your stay. Very elegant table where we enjoyed a delicious breakfast with guests coming from all over the world. Very nice and comfortable room where we could be quiet and relax. Beautiful, big and very clean bathroom. We would recommend this place for a wonderful vacation in Calgary. Merci!!


A fabulous Calgary Stampede Stay in July 2012

5 on August 27, 2012

My best childhood friend and I had a wonderful time in Calgary for the first time- our destination was the Calgary Stampede - but the best reason to return is the incredible warmth, hospitality and personal attention received from Josephine and Ragh (and Titus!). That's in addition to the comfortable beds, beautiful atmosphere (inside and outside the home), opportunity to meet people from all over the world and the great food. I'm currently talking with my sister about making the trip with me next summer - and hope to book the stay with Josephine.


Love it!

5 on August 14, 2012

There are no words to describe the pleasure of coming back to the Shangarry B&B every year. It is like your own home, but better. This August was the 10th year that I have stayed here, and every time it is a highlight of my year. You want quiet - you've got it. You want a conversation - it's here. Like to laugh? - any time. Josephine and Raghu are exceptional people. They will go the extra mile to help their guests with anything. Yes, I am biased, because they became my and my family's close friends. They also attract wonderful people, and we have met and befriended many of them in this B&B. In short: come, and you will see!


Stampede Stay

5 on July 22, 2012

From the moment you arrive Joesephine and Raghbir make you feel as family. The house is located in a quiet Calgary neighborhood and backs onto a golf course. We returned after being gone most of day and evening to find two glasses of port and a bowl of snacks and chocolates at the bedside, how wonderful ? In the morning we had lemon pancales which were wonderful also. Shgarry B & B made our stay wonderful and we highly recommend to all.


BEST BED & BREAKFAST EVER

5 on July 20, 2012

JOSEPHINE AND RAGUE, Thank you so much for making our stay at your B & B so comfortable and relaxing. You have a beautiful home and garden over looking the golf course. Josephine your breakfast was wonderful and the table was beautiful setting. You made us feel so welcome. You go out of way to do special things to make us feel special in your home. We stayed 2 nights and that wasn't enough. We will come baxk again. Thank you for everthing. Len and Sandy


excellent b & b

5 on September 28, 2011

Wonderful b & b, very convenient to shops, train/bus transport to city. Very clean provides an extremely high quality accomodation with wonderful breakfasts and hospitality, look forward to staying there again. Would recommend it highly. Tony & Caroline Barnes, Ireland.


Stay at Shangarry B&B

4.8 on August 21, 2010

Our third trip to Calgary staying here, we love everything about it; warm welcome, comfortable rooms, delicious breakfast, meeting people from other countries and the lengthy visits while sharing breakfast. Josephine is very helpful with suggestions of places to see, providing directions or maps.


wonderful breakfast

4.4 on August 07, 2010

Josephine is very helpful, we enjoyed our stay during Stampede. Especially her breakfasts were outstanding :-)


Outstanding

4.6 on July 14, 2010

A welcoming home with extra attention to details. Josephine goes out of her way to please and provide a wonderful experience.


perfect home away from home!

4.6 on June 05, 2010

Great experience for a 1st time bed and breakfast! Breakfast was amazing! Hosts couldn't have better! Bed was super comfy and the bathroom was great such an upgrade : ) I really enjoyed it and would love to come back and stay if ever in Calgary again! ESPECIALLY for her shangarry pancakes and tea! AMAZING!


Great B&B on all counts!

5 on June 04, 2010

My partner, Rachel Anderson and I , have stayed at the Shangarry Bed and Breakfast on a number of occassions in connection with our musical activities in Calgary. It is always a very special bonus and pleasure to stay there for both of us as we are always treated so well and made to really feel at home. Josephine and her husband have become real friends . She, herself, is a person with wide ranging interests, a great sense of humour, and perceptions that are always either delightful or stimulating ,or both! Guests are always treated to a sumptuous breakfast and in addition there is always a concern for one's personal needs and a sensitivity to small details that make one's visits especially heart-warming. I ran a B&B in Cape Breton, NS for twelve years with my former wife.....so I appreciate some of the finer points ! The Shangarry combines the best you could wish for , largely because Josephine has a knack for doing things right and instinctively understanding what people need and providing just that. But she also adds a warmth and humour which makes one feel "at home" and comfortable. I can recommend the Shangarry B&B enthusiastically and without reservations of any sort. I always look forward to staying there !


Hospitality and kindness B&B

5 on February 15, 2010

Hospitality and kindness is the way I will describe this B&B. I have been coming in the Sangarry B&B for the past 3 years. I am very please with the good Irish welcoming and the great location. This B&B is located right in front of a golf course and it make you feel very relax and quiet. Josephine friendly maner make you feel you are part of the familly. The breakfast, the snacks are excellent as well the mattress! The best B&B in Calgary! I will be back. Louise Raymond Montreal.


five star treatment

5 on June 21, 2009

Just returned from a 3 night stay with Josephine and Raghbir.I was made so welcome and felt at home straight away.I had a bedroom in the Basement with an en-suite.Plenty of space,lovely bed,slept like a log.Breakfast in the lovely dining room is amazing.Exceptional food,all homemade,presented like a FIVE STAR RESTAURANT,not to be missed. The location of Shangarry was most important as I needed to get to Chinook Care Centre.Josephine had got all the bus details for me and it was easy to go back and forth whilst I was there. Great B & B,you will not regret booking this little bit of IRELAND!!!


best kept secret

4.6 on June 15, 2009

Josephine provided a lovely haven for us in Calgary. My sister and I had separate beds and a bathroom to ourselves. Our breakfast was superb! Hot, fresh and elegant. Home made and delicious and she spoiled us a little. Mutual respect for privacy and no curfew. Close to where we needed to get to and just what we needed for a break. Many thanks.


shangarry b&b must stay

5 on June 07, 2009

beautiful location, exceptional food, most helpful and perfect host and hostess relaxed atmosphere clean bright and restful room will be back in a few weeks shopping and public transport very exceptional and close by.


Shangarry Bed and Breakfast

Details

  • Nightly Rate CAD 95 - CAD 140
  • Reviews (17) 4.9
  • Rooms 3

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-4032715704

Visit Website »

View details

Top