Change your search

Beechwood Inn - Bed Breakfast and Wine Cellar

P.O. Box 429 , Clayton, GA 30525 USA (Show map)
4.6
101 Reviews
$169 - $245
per night

Check Dates

BedandBreakfast.com Diamond Collection

Professionally Inspected & Certified

About

Relax- Renew - Restore: Award winning Georgia Mountain hospitality and gourmet dining. Wine Enthusiast Magazine places Beechwood Inn in the Top 5 Destinations "for your next wine and food-focused escape," Dec 28, 2011. Travel writer Becky Lamb says: "The Beechwood Inn is the closest thing to a Napa Valley Bed and Breakfast we have here in Georgia." Romantic guest rooms and cabin have private baths, porches, fireplaces and luxury amenities. The Beechwood Inn restaurant features a Wine Spectator Award of Excellence selection of vintages from its wine cellar. The restaurant offers Saturday Chef's Table dining by advance reservation featuring fresh regional and Mediterranean-style meals using the best of local, organic and sustainable products from Georgia farms, vineyards and orchards. The Inn is listed on the SELECT REGISTRY, Distinguished inns of North America and carries the prestigious AAA Three-Diamond Award. The beautifully landscaped 5 acre property is also perfect for weddings, receptions, and small group functions.

Video

Rooms & Rates

Savannah Suite

A Corner suite filled with light. It has a spectacular view of Black Rock Mountain and the gardens below. The fireplace, queen bed, separate dressing/sitting room, and shower bath ensure a cozy stay. The room is appointed in period pieces and fine reproductions. All our linens are extremely high quality.

  • Maximum Capacity: 2
  • Bathroom Private Bath
  • Beds 1 Queen

Nightly Rate: $159 - $179

Rabun Suite

This is a corner suite with lots of windows and views. This suite has a spectacular view of Black Rock Mountain and the Beechwood Gardens which can also be viewed from your private balcony. The suite’s features include queen bed, shower bath, working fireplace, separate sitting/dressing room, writing desk, and sofa. All our rooms are filled with family momentos harkening back to simpler times.

  • Maximum Capacity: 2
  • Bathroom Private Bath
  • Beds 1 Queen

Nightly Rate: $159 - $179

Lura's Suite

Our largest Suite features a cozy livingroom with a single sleep sofa, writing desk, private screened porch with a glider, separate large bedroom with a king bed. The large private bath has a modern shower. We have recently added a working gas fireplace and a large screen tv with cable. The suite is appointed with period pieces and fine reproductions. Lura Bucholz, the original owner, lived in this suite from 1916 until 1957. Garden view. With the sleep sofa the room can accommodate up to three guests ($25.00 additional charge for the third person).

  • Maximum Capacity: 3
  • Bathroom Private Bath
  • Beds 1 King

Nightly Rate: $179 - $219

Stekoa Suite

An indulgently comfortable two-room suite. It has a separate living room, bedroom and private bath. It features a Queen Sized bed, antique copper bathtub, private entrance with a sitting porch. The living room has a writing table, large queen size sleep sofa, and working fireplace. The copper tub dates from the 1920’s, and once filled with hot water – it stays warm unlike a porcelan tub. With the sleep sofa the room can accommodate up to three guests ($25.00 additional charge for the third person).

  • Maximum Capacity: 3
  • Bathroom Private Bath
  • Beds 1 Queen

Nightly Rate: $159 - $199

Rose Cottage Room

This cozy corner room with windows on two sides is filled with light. It was once a screened-in sleeping porch so you will be entranced by its original heart pine floors sloped to permit rain to drain out. It is now comfortably enclosed for your comfort. It features a large modern shower bath, walk-in closet and queen bed. The five large windows afford guests great views of Black Rock Mountain and the Beechwood secret garden. It will charm and comfort you.

  • Maximum Capacity: 2
  • Bathroom Private Bath
  • Beds 1 Queen

Nightly Rate: $159 - $199

Vineyard Room

The Vineyard room is very private, located at the end of the Inn, and is decorated in grape and vineyard motif, including bedspread, drapes, paintings and decorations. The Vineyard Room has a king-size bed, private bathroom with a shower, working fireplace, sofa, writing desk, air-conditioning and windows on three sides offering wonderful views of Black Rock Mountain and the Beechwood Secret Garden. All our rooms have WIFI.

  • Maximum Capacity: 2
  • Bathroom Private Bath
  • Beds 1 King

Nightly Rate: $179 - $219

Natahala Suite

This large two room suite has a seperate sitting room with working fireplace, writing desk, sofa and overstuffed chair. The bedroom area has a queen bed and entrance that leads to your private covered porch. The porch offers a secluded sitting area to observe our hidden garden. The Victorian bath features an original claw-foot tub. Stone steps lead guests from the secluded covered porch to the Secret Garden.

  • Maximum Capacity: 2
  • Bathroom Private Bath
  • Beds 1 Queen

Nightly Rate: $159 - $199

Blueberry Cabin

This luxuiously restored North Georgia Cabin is down a set of garden steps and overlooks Beechwood Inn's Blueberry Patch. The Cabin has a vaulted ceiling, wood floors, a king bed, fireplace in the bedroom, living room area, large screen Satellite TV with Sirius Music, ceiling fans and air conditioning. It also has a kitchenette with refrigerator, sink, micro-wave, coffee pot, a modern bathroom with a Rainwater shower and Jacuzzi Whirlpool. The cabin has a private deck with two Adirondack chairs overlooking the inn's blueberry patch and Blackrock Mountain. 600 thread count sheets.

  • Maximum Capacity: 2
  • Bathroom Private Bath
  • Beds 1 King

Nightly Rate: $215 - $245

Check Dates Visit Website

Reviews

Overall
4.6

Write A Review

  • Guest room4.6
  • Service4.7
  • Value4.3
  • Cleanliness4.7
  • Dining4.8

Score Breakdown based on
101 Reviews

Write A Review

Great weekend away

4.8 on October 15, 2014

Great weekend away! The location was convenient to hiking, Lake Burton, Lake Rabun, several wineries and downtown Clayton. The rooms are very large and exceptionally clean. The front porch was a great place to hang out for a glass of wine. Breakfast was included and delicious both mornings. Would definitely stay at the Beeachwood Inn again.

Innkeeper Response
I will pass your compliment on to our housekeepers that your room was “exceptionally clean.” We have a rigorous protocol to make sure Beechwood Inn is not just clean – but sanitary. But we are also careful to use environmentally friendly cleaning products. Thanks for including Beechwood Inn on your repeat list and we look forward to your next visit.


An Excellent Four Days at Beechwood Inn

4.8 on October 12, 2014

We went to Beechwood Inn for rest and relaxation, and did exactly that. The inn and innkeepers are excellent, as are the breakfasts and the Saturday dinner at the inn. The inn is quiet and relaxing, and there is enough to do in and around Clayton, Georgia (Tallulah Gorge, wineries, hiking in state parks, etc.) so you won't get bored once you have had enough relaxing!

Innkeeper Response
Our goal is to make sure you relax, feel welcome, pampered and comfortable. Thank you for the compliment to the innkeepers. We are also pleased you enjoyed our wonderful local foods. Respect and care for the ingredients play as important a role as the preparation of them.


Book it

5 on October 01, 2014

The Beechwood is the prefect place to stay in the area. Great hosts, close to town but isolated. It has the old structure charm and the meals were fantastic. This is on our "stay again" list. Put it on yours.

Innkeeper Response
We agree, Beechwood Inn offers a great place to stay while enjoying the exciting North Georgia Mountains. Our chefs are serious about sourcing the best of our local foods. We are glad their efforts show. We look forward to your next visit. David and Gayle Darugh, Innkeepers


Great place BUT--------------------------

3.8 on September 27, 2014

We called ahead to announce our early arrival. The proprietors seemed genuinely annoyed. We have stayed at many B&B establishments but at the Beechwood, we were more than a bit dissappointed in the owner's attitude. No warm welcome, no "Hello, where are you from?" or anything of that sort. To put it mildly, we did not really feel welcome. In fact, that was the only time we saw the proprietors. The breakfast service was outstanding. Food excellent, well prepared. The lady serving us was not one of the two we saw the day before. A change in attitude would not only be welcome but beneficial.

Innkeeper Response
Your early arrival was not unwelcome but it was unanticipated so I know we did not appear very well prepared, and for that we apologize. Check-in starts at 4:00pm and our employee was scheduled to arrive at 3:30pm in order to inspect your room, turn on air-conditioning and lights, make the inn welcoming and to greet you. When you called my cell phone late in the morning to tell us of your early arrival, Gayle and I were heading out of town. You indicated that if we did not check you in early, about 1pm, your schedule would not permit you to arrive back at the inn until 9 – 10pm. Our employee’s plan was to leave the inn at 6:30pm and, as I said, Gayle and I planned to be out of town that evening. In order to accommodate your early arrival Gayle and I headed back to the inn to find you already on the front porch at 12:30pm. So, yes it did take us a few minutes to open the inn, inspect your room, turn on lights and be prepared to greet you. Had we known of your planned early arrival in advance I am confident that everything would have been more welcoming. We are in the hospitality business so our objective is always to provide gracious service. We apologize for letting you down, but glad you enjoyed our wonderful local foods at breakfast. David and Gayle Darugh


Quick getaway

5 on September 23, 2014

I have a home in Clayton which is under renovations and this inn was highly recommended!! I was truly overwhelmed by the dining experience on Saturday evening, a "fresh Herb-rich" farm to table delight for my palate!! Gayle and David our hosts/chefs are so charming and make the whole experience a real delight!

Innkeeper Response
Our chefs (that's us!) are thrilled you enjoyed our Saturday Night "Farm to Table Dinner." We appreciate your compliment about our hospitality. We try hard to make sure every guest has a great visit. David and Gayle Darugh, Innkeepers


Excellent gettaway!

4.6 on August 28, 2014

We had a wonderful time at Beechwood B&B. The food was excellent~ guests were repeat visitors~ room was clean and exactly like the picture. Very relaxing and beautiful scenery. The staff was knowledgeable and very efficient. I highly recommend the Beechwood Inn.

Innkeeper Response
So glad you had a wonderful time and very relaxing visit. Yes, we are fortunate to have many repeat guests for both dining and lodging.


We stayed at Beechwood Inn for July 31- Aug. 3, for our anniversary.

3.0 on August 21, 2014

The Inn was a quaint and interesting accommodation, but our expectations were rather high as we viewed a program on GPB about the Inn. Rather than in a more secluded spot, it was pretty close to the main highway, so was somewhat noisy. The landscaping was very professional and lovely, however,as we sat on the porch for their nice winethirty. Some negatives included the fact that our room was right over the main entrance, so when folks arrived to prepare breakfast, the door made a good deal of noise and woke us up pretty early. The room was nicely decorated and very clean, with nice amenities provided. Breakfasts were wonderful, but the Saturday night meal did not meet our expectations. For such an expensive meal, we expected more unique and flavorful food. Ice cream for dessert, while home made, was disappointing. For the cost of the meal, dessert should have been special. Servers were very friendly and helpful, but it took a long time to be presented with the main course. Organic and farm to table foods are very nice.

Innkeeper Response
Thanks for the nice compliments about Beechwood Inn in your review. Gayle and I operate Beechwood Inn because we love people and we enjoy providing charming hospitality. But we also operate the inn as a business; it is our livelihood. We know that reviews influence potential guests. Our expectation of guests is that they respect our property and provide us honest feedback. Because it was your anniversary I made a special point at check-out to ask if everything was to your satisfaction. You said you had a wonderful time. Had you told us the dinner did not meet your expectations we would have offered you some accommodation. You may have still written a review indicating the dinner did not meet your expectations, but then you could have added that when you told the owners they comped your dinner. I will also tell our morning crew (that’s Gayle and me) to enter the inn a little more stealthily. Sorry for the early wake-up. David and Gayle Darugh Innkeepers


Worth every penny and minute spent there

5 on August 13, 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed here just for a night, what a place. The food is above perfection. The views from the porch were amazing, and the hospitality was unmatched. We never felt like we were being checked up on. Very laid back atmosphere. The house is beautiful as well. Gorgeous in fact. We cannot wait to go back.

Innkeeper Response
We appreciate your kind words about Beechwood Inn. We try to offer wonderful hospitality but also understand that guests need private time away from the pressures of family, work and especially commuting. We look forward to your next visit.


Great Getaway

5 on July 30, 2014

The Saturday night dinner was a great treat. Very weel presented.

Innkeeper Response
At the Beechwood Inn most of our dinner recipes have a number of flavor components; layers of tastes that work nicely together. But our recipes also factor in how foods and garnishes look together. As chefs we take pleasure in food and ‘working the plate’ is a part of that pleasure.


My favorite Inn!

5 on July 02, 2014

I look forward to my stay at the Beechwood Inn every year. David and Gayle and their staff are wonderful, accommodating, interesting, and they take excellent care of their guests. Their food is local and delicious, the rooms are clean and smell so good, the porch and garden are relaxing and beautiful - it is all around a wonderful place for a vacation and to stay for business.

Innkeeper Response
We really enjoy our repeat guests and the friendships we form. We try our best to be not only great hosts but also to improve our friendship with each visit. We look forward to your next stay.


View More Reviews

Location

Location Type

Countryside, Mountains, Small town, Wine country

Airport

Atlanta, GA (ATL-Hartsfield Intl.) 90 miles

Directions to property:

We are located in Clayton, Georgia. Clayton is 90 miles NE of Atlanta and 90 miles SW of Asheville, NC. At the intersection of Highways 441 and 76, turn east on Highway 76 towards South Carolina. Go one tenth of a mile east on 76 and turn left on Beechwood Drive. Follow the signs up Beechwood Hill to the Inn.

Area Attractions

Antique Shopping, Art Galleries, Casino, Concert venue, Gourmet/Fine Dining, Historical interests, Lake, Live Music, Museum, National/State parks, Nature area, Whitewater Rafting, Trout Fishing, Mountain Golfing, Horseback Riding, Hiking to Waterfalls, Art Galleries & Folk Art Craft Shops, Performing Theater, Picnic area, Religious Services, River, Ski area, Vineyard, Winery

Inn Details

Establishment type

Bed and Breakfast, Country Inn, Historic Inn

On-site amenities

Board games, Computer, Conference Rooms, Copier, DVD Player, Fax Machine, Library, Piano, Satellite/Cable TV, TV, Telephone, VCR, Videos, Wedding Facilities , Wine and Appetizers Nightly, Fine Dining by Advance Reservation, Cookie Jar

Room amenities

Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Amenities Basket, Bath robes, CD player, Ceiling fans, Desk, Fireplace, Hairdryer, Internet Service, Ironing Board, Private entrance, Radio, Turndown Service, Wi-Fi

On-site activities

Bicycle rental, Bicycle riding trails, Bicycles, Bird watching, Boating, Canoeing, Fishing, Golfing, Hiking trails, Horseback riding, Hunting, Kayaking, Mountain Bike trails, Wine Tasting, Sailing, Shopping, Sight-seeing, Swimming, Tennis courts, Water sports, Whitewater Rafting

Check Dates Visit Website

Policies

  • Check In:: 4:00pm
  • Check Out:: 11;00am
  • Open All Year Round: Yes
  • Smoking Allowed: No No smoking is allowed in the Inn or on our wooden porches
  • Drinking Allowed: Yes
  • Alcohol Provided Yes
  • Suitable For Children: Limited
  • Childcare Provided: No
  • Guest Pets Allowed: No
  • Disabled Access Limited

Terms and Conditions

  • Minimum Stay: During October weekends and on holidays a two day stay is required
  • Accepted payments S, y, s, t, e, m, ., C, o, l, l, e, c, t, i, o, n, s, ., G, e, n, e, r, i, c, ., L, i, s, t, `, 1, [, S, y, s, t, e, m, ., S, t, r, i, n, g, ]
  • Deposit Amount Required: Receipt of a night's lodging or 50% percent of your stay, whichever is greater, will confirm your reservation. If using cash or checks, reservations will be held for 5 days awaiting your deposit.
  • Cancellations: Deposits will be refunded or applied to a new date if cancellation is received 14 days prior to scheduled arrival. Thirty days’ notice applies to holidays, the month of October, reservations reserving the entire inn, and special events packages. A $25 service fee will apply to each room cancelled. Should you cancel within the period, you will be held financially responsible for the entire reservation unless we can re-rent the room. No refunds will be made for any reason within these dates.

Innkeepers

Name(s)

David and Gayle Darugh

Languages spoken

Japanese

Resident Pets

Dogs

About the innkeepers

Oeno-Spelunkers Extraordinaire! The Hosts offer Wine Appreciation, Humorous After Dinner Talks, Consulting and Culinary Classes nation-wide or at their Bed and Breakfast Inn in Clayton, Georgia. Both are wine education professionals with many years of experience in the food and wine industry. Classes, training and wine tastings can be customized for individuals or groups, always in a relaxed and entertaining format. The pair specialize in matching food to interesting and esoteric wines.

Check Dates Visit Website

Meals

Breakfast

Full

  • Time Served: 8:00am - 9:00am
  • Serving Location: Breakfast Room

Special meal options

Low fat , Restrictive , Vegetarian


Recipes

Details

BedandBreakfast.com Diamond Collection

P.O. Box 429 , Clayton, GA 30525 USA (Show map)

Property highlights


Free $50 gift card with a $250+ gift card purchase
Top